SARU conducting inventory of high-rise buildings in Guyana

Jan 08, 2017 News, http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....buildings-in-guyana/

โ€œThe reality is that we have an underground economy and we need to ascertain who are the people involved,โ€-Professor Thomas

โ€œWe want to know who own these buildings; how they got the money to finance them and if they are paying their taxes.โ€
This statement was made by Head of the State Asset Recovery Unit (SARU), Dr. Clive Thomas. He said that the Unit is currently mapping all the high rise buildings in Guyana. It has commenced works in and around Georgetown.
The Chairman said that this will be part of SARUโ€™s work when it becomes the nationโ€™s anti-corruption agency after its legislation is passed in the National Assembly.
Minister of State, Joseph Harmon recently told the media that the draft legislation for SARU is finished and is before Cabinet for consideration before making its way to the National Assembly.
Professor Thomas said that the reason behind doing an inventory of all the high rise buildings in Guyana is to ensure that โ€œthey are legitโ€.
โ€œWe want to ensure that the money used to construct them was clean, that the building is not a shell company, that the owners are paying their taxes , that the building is not being used as a conduit for corrupt activities; and that even the land was lawfully obtained.โ€
He added, โ€œWe arenโ€™t aware if this initiative is something that other agencies are also pursuing but as far as we are aware, it is a key focus. A lot of the revenues of the state, or a lot of the underground economy sees capital being invested in these buildings; money laundering so to speak.
โ€œThe reality is that we have an underground economy and we need to ascertain who are the people involved.โ€
Chief Executive Officer of SARU, Aubrey Heath-Retemyer, said that already, the department of the Ministry of the Presidency has been able to do an inventory of over 100 buildings in Guyana. He said the work of Guyanaโ€™s anti-corruption unit will be comprehensive and it will be far reaching.
He said that as an anti-corruption entity, it is going to be their responsibility to know the legal businesses in Guyana, and to ensure that those businesses obtained assets of the state, such as land, in a lawful manner.
โ€œHow do you justify building a complex several stories high and you are only using the ground floor and there is no other activity going on in the upper floors? If you are paying a mortgage, you canโ€™t afford to just use the ground floor of a four or six storey buildingโ€ฆ
โ€œI lived in America for 23 years and anything of that nature would raise eyebrows. This is really a bizarre society that we are living in,โ€ expressed the CEO.
Heath-Retemyer said that this is just one of the many things SARU is doing while it awaits the passage of its legislation.
He said, โ€œWe are not sitting back, arms down and counting the time. We are working and doing a lot of research so that when we become an agency, we can hit the ground running.โ€
Additionally, Dr. Thomas said that what has been posing a difficulty is that during the mapping of some of the high rise businesses, agencies such as the Deeds Registry are unable to provide the relevant documentation to say whose name the land or business is registered in.
Heath-Retemyer said, โ€œWe repeatedly went to the Deeds Registry regarding a particularly mysterious high rise building in the city of Georgetown and they were pathetic, they just couldnโ€™t tell us anything much. We had to end up using a different approach.โ€

UNDERGROUND ECONOMY
Based on a study he conducted over the period 2001 to 2008, Dr. Clive Thomas has found that the underground economy yields a size of approximately $188B or US$940 million.

He said that the government really needs to concentrate a lot of its efforts towards this worrying area, so as to demonstrate its commitment towards reducing corruption.
He explained that Guyanaโ€™s underground economy refers to corrupt transactions that are prohibited by law and/or are undertaken by unauthorized providers. It has two main drivers: tax evasion and regulatory non-compliance.
The economist said that operators, ranging from individuals to highly organized criminal enterprises such as those trafficking narcotics, persons, arms and gold.
Professor Thomas said too that government needs to also place special attention on two other areas of significant illegality and corruption in Guyana, which generate massive economic hemorrhaging; namely, illicit capital flight and the criminal underground economy.
Dr. Thomas explained that in Guyana, illicit capital flight refers to assets, whether legally obtained or otherwise by residents, which are intentionally transferred, smuggled, or sent abroad without the knowledge of the Guyana Revenue Authority and other oversight authorities.
These, he said, are not generally intended to yield proceeds that will be returned to the country. Because these transactions are illegal, they are kept secret. โ€œTherefore, when capital flight occurs, the capital disappears from Guyanaโ€™s financial/asset records, even though it might turn up in records elsewhere.โ€
He told Kaieteur News that he firmly believes that this has occurred by the billions under the PPP/C and stressed that as the new government pursues all its forensic audits, this aspect should also be given attention.
โ€œDuring the 1980s and 1990s, capital flight was widely acknowledged as a major problem confronting Guyana. During the 2000s however, it has been barely referenced by the Authorities. During that time, capital flight resumed with a vengeance.
โ€œThis took place because the previous ruling political elites promoted collusion, through mutually-supporting networks, with criminal endeavours seeking to evade the regulatory and oversight functions of the state,โ€ Dr. Thomas said.
He added, โ€œAs I have argued elsewhere, this constitutes the starkest reminder of the ongoing criminalization of the stateโ€ฆโ€
While the drivers of the collusion between state officials and criminal operators were too many for him to mention, Dr. Thomas cited some of the key ones: the realization of the gains from crime, ranging from individual raiding of state coffers to the transfer of organized crime proceeds, the evasion of political and economic uncertainty and most importantly, fears caused by bad governance.
The economist said that these drivers reveal that illicit capital flight is deeply intertwined with other criminalities such as procurement fraud, money laundering and the criminal underground economy.
He then made reference to data accumulated from two international sources responsible for annual tracking and reporting on aspects of global capital flight, including Guyana. One is the United Nations, and the other is the Global Financial Integrity (GFI) founded in 2006.
Dr. Thomas said that for the years 2010-2012, Guyanaโ€™s illicit financial flows had averaged US$443million or about $90billion. Although these flows do not fully account for total capital flight, he said that they provide an order of magnitude for that sum.
He said that by any standard, this is a humongous amount that has risen rapidly during the 2000s. โ€œRetrospectively, the2010-2012 average compares to US$83 million back in 2003.This had doubled to US$173million by 2006, and doubled yet again by 2010 to US$575million. The recorded growth in capital flight therefore, has been explosive during the 2000s,โ€ he added.
The new government, he said, if committed to good governance, should carefully milk this potential windfall for the benefit of Guyanaโ€™s poor and hither to powerless.

Django if a man don't know the responsibilities that come with making payroll. Then he should not be telling business people what they should or should not do. Clive Thomas never had to risk capital for anything. He just drank from the tax payers pot.

It's more like how the wealth was obtained,probably the Lending Agencies and DEA pressuring the administration to investigate.

Money laundering is serious crime,remember the money found on the private jet.

"Based on a study he conducted over the period 2001 to 2008, Dr. Clive Thomas has found that the underground economy yields a size of approximately $188B or US$940 million.

He said that the government really needs to concentrate a lot of its efforts towards this worrying area, so as to demonstrate its commitment towards reducing corruption.
He explained that Guyanaโ€™s underground economy refers to corrupt transactions that are prohibited by law and/or are undertaken by unauthorized providers. It has two main drivers: tax evasion and regulatory non-compliance.
The economist said that operators, ranging from individuals to highly organized criminal enterprises such as those trafficking narcotics, persons, arms and gold."

Seems most of you fellas missed the above during your read.

Since the APNU/AFC got into office we heard screams of how so many audits and no one charged yet.The govt is finally going ahead with their promise and now dem boys screaming again, hehehehe. Iman gonna sit back an laugh as they cry the blues "should" some fellas be caught. I hope they start with the big boys.

My one hope, they do not get carried away and pull illegal moves on decent law abiding citizens. That's where me an dem coco nah boil.

What is there to hide fool, looks like you condone illegal activities.

if you are legit no fear,

do you prefer the country to stay backwards.

Did the PNC ever done this pre 1992 when the blacks were exploiting the coolies and getting rich, building lavish houses? I bet those houses in question now are the ones owned by the coolies. They drained the treasury already, now they are looking for their next meal.

"Based on a study he conducted over the period 2001 to 2008, Dr. Clive Thomas has found that the underground economy yields a size of approximately $188B or US$940 million.

The economist said that operators, ranging from individuals to highly organized criminal enterprises such as those trafficking narcotics, persons, arms and gold."

Seems most of you fellas missed the above during your read.

Since the APNU/AFC got into office we heard screams of how so many audits and no one charged yet.The govt is finally going ahead with their promise and now dem boys screaming again, hehehehe. Iman gonna sit back an laugh as they cry the blues "should" some fellas be caught. I hope they start with the big boys.

My one hope, they do not get carried away and pull illegal moves on decent law abiding citizens. That's where me an dem coco nah boil.

So far zero PPP jailed, but you still hold out hope. We will see if you continue to sing the same song a year from now. 

Did the PNC ever done this pre 1992 when theblacks were exploiting the coolies and getting rich, building lavish houses? I bet those houses in question now are the ones owned by the coolies. They drained the treasury already, now they are looking for their next meal.

Wha r@ss you talking Indos who didn't cut and run were getting rich pre 1992.

I didn't see blacks getting wealthy.

I speak of my region,and some people in Berbice that i know.

This government is creating problems instead of solving problems. The PPP goverment of 1992 forgave them for all the wrongs they did in government including wrecking the economy and rigging elections.  The PNC is now behaving as if they have an untarnished reputation that God will smile at.  These people are bunch of Hypocrites.  Indict the PPP and you will have to indict those two punks in the coalition that we have come to loathe so much.

Did the PNC ever done this pre 1992 when theblacks were exploiting the coolies and getting rich, building lavish houses? I bet those houses in question now are the ones owned by the coolies. They drained the treasury already, now they are looking for their next meal.

I ain't talkin rass. In Corriverton, the niggro mayor(pre 1992) stole so much that he was able to build a mansion. Did any one dare question his finances?

We had Indo Regional Chairman,one was from Berbice named Chowritmottoo

He was a PNC card carrying member. With a name like ChowritMOTTOO, he had to be a Judas and neemakharam...a sell out.

The Govt should know of these buildings, their purpose and who owns them.  They also need to reconcile this material wealth with the owners' declared income.  If people do not pay their fair share of taxes, then VAT and other taxes will continue on the backs of the middle-class with no end in sight!

As long as the Govt goes about in a fair and judicious manner, the average person should not be too concerned!

Is there legislation to allow this type of investigation? Also who will ensure that it is not a witch hunt? How can people be assured that Clive Thomas will not pick and choose who to investigate? Sounds fishy to me, Clive got he hands stretched out for bribe money to bypass any investigations. Look how they shake down the business community to fund the Durban Park fiasco. 

Quote from Django:

"In my neck of the woods,property owners can be found on the township website,

click on any property all info are there seller,buyer,purchasing price,year built,land acreage... etc."

What are you questioning here? What is posted is the truth...you got a problem with the truth dontcha?

Seems as though SARU messin up yo plans deh banna.

Quote from Django:

"In my neck of the woods,property owners can be found on the township website,

click on any property all info are there seller,buyer,purchasing price,year built,land acreage... etc."

What are you questioning here? What is posted is the truth...you got a problem with the truth dontcha?

Seems as though SARU messin up yo plans deh banna.

Wait until SARU start shaking down the putagee mafia in Guyana.

Is there legislation to allow this type of investigation? Also who will ensure that it is not a witch hunt? How can people be assured that Clive Thomas will not pick and choose who to investigate? Sounds fishy to me, Clive got he hands stretched out for bribe money to bypass any investigations. Look how they shake down the business community to fund the Durban Park fiasco. 

Since I lived there, the GRA (IRD) had the power to investigate unsubstantiated assets and impute income and tax the individual!  I knew a few people who were questioned by the IRD.  This is standard procedure in almost any country.

However, I do agree with you that the process must be transparent and judicious!  A court ruling must sanction any final decision!