Sattaur should pack his bags and go

OCTOBER 8, 2014 | BY  | FILED UNDER LETTERS 

Dear Editor
The constant revelations of a proposed plot by former President (a private citizen) and the Commissioner General of the Guyana Revenue Authority, Mr. Khurshid Sattaur, to “bring down” the Kaieteur News and its Publisher Mr.Glenn Lall, is and should be a matter of grave concern to all political parties, the private sector commission, chambers of commerce across this country, trade unions, NGO”s, the diplomatic community and all Guyanese home and abroad.
The commissioner-general, and tax chief of GRA has, by virtue of his alleged actions, betrayed and violated the confidence of all Guyanese tax payers of their most private and confidential financial information.
By all indications, his action is in breach of the oath of secrecy he swore to keep and respect as an officer of the highest office of the revenue authority. He has failed to honour his obligations to all Guyanese to “truly, faithfully, impartially and honestly execute the powers vested in him.
This intended plot should not in any way be brushed aside or taken for granted. This issue is very serious and diabolical in nature. It borders on the line of denying the citizens of Guyana their constitutional right to access of information. It also points to curtailing and restricting the media/press. This is infringing on the freedom of expression that our constitution provides.
The free press is the essence of what democracy represents and embodies. It is the voice of the voiceless, the weapon and shield against injustice and lawlessness. The free press is the ever vigilant watch dog against capriciousness, falsehood and rapacious corruption. It is the defender against potential rise of dictators and it is the safeguard against tyranny in countries that profess to be democratic.
If the press is not free, if it is controlled or curtailed by whatever means, then the tenants of democracy and freedom are at risk.
The tax boss’s actions very pellucid, indicate that he has used the taxpayers personal, private and confidential information as a weapon to satisfy his and others personal grievances and vendettas. What is equally more frightening is the perceived connection with individuals of high ranking in government willing to assist him in his wicked, malicious and evil endeavour.
This, as they say in proverbial language, has broken the camel’s back indeed.
Mr. Sattaur’s abuse of power is coupled with a high level of arrogance and his recent press release in the Kaieteur News and Stabroek News on October 5, 2014 is tantamount to this. His breach of the oath of secrecy is criminal and the police should investigate his illegal action and deal with this issue condignly.
By his actions and his pernicious attempts, he has deceived the President, the parliament, the people of this country, the diaspora and every Guyanese. I am suggesting that there has to be in the clearest language and apology from Mr. Sattaur to all tax paying Guyanese and businesses.
His actions are unprofessional, unethical and Mr. Sattaur should do the professional and ethical thing. PACK HIS BAGS AND GO.
Jermaine Figueira

HELL NO HE AINT GOING ANYWHERE!!!

The opposition will remove Sattaur make no mistake about that he has to go.

He is not going to get away with threatening Harmon.

Again you root for evilness. PHOOEY!

Cain, Tell me what EVIL Sattaur did, please.

1. He took private tax payer financial and personal information and gave it to the country's top thief man.
  2. He hired all his children to work at GRA and his nieces and nephews and a whole phalanx of katahars from his mosque. (Using GRA as his personal bank account).
  3. He has threatened an MP for exposing his nepotism and corruption within GRA.
  4. He has conspired with Drug Trafficking organizations to stymie the RCMP probe into luxury vehicles stolen in Canada and shipped to Guyana. He ducked this entire investigation and lied to the canadian government.

Oh nothing sir we jus doan like the way he combs his hair, how about that you nincomp-oop.

Nehru, who this mad man want to go this time? 

Bhai, Leh DEm Bhias feel nice. DEm reminds me of Al Sharpton and Tawana Brawley.

Al sharpton is a criminal like lumumba and bynoe he would fit in nicely with the PPP. Amazing how you have such razor sharp wit. DUMMY.

Oh nothing sir we jus doan like the way he combs his hair, how about that you nincomp-oop.

I am NOT surprise at your answer. Is the DOPE!!!

Bhai, Leh DEm Bhias feel nice. DEm reminds me of Al Sharpton and Tawana Brawley.

Al sharpton is a criminal like lumumba and bynoe he would fit in nicely with the PPP. Amazing how you have such razor sharp wit. DUMMY.

YOu so DUMB you try shitting with your mouth.

Seems like he failed but you on de other han, passed wit flyin colours.

HEHE And that is suppose to do what???

go and call kwame pun yuh magic jack, come on run along hag luvah.

YOu come yasuh and bend over, yuh nah gun only see Barley but also how Big Man does Buss lil boy Batty.