Sean Hinds denies conducting surveillance at PM Nagamootoo’s home
Abena Rockcliffe, July 26, 2015 | By KNews | Filed Under News, Source
In the face of revelations from Prime Minister, Moses Nagamootoo, that self-confessed death squad member, Sean Hinds, staked-out his private home, Hinds is maintaining that he did no such thing.
Hinds featured prominently in the news recently as a result of his revelations that he was part of the death squad that reigned during the early 2000’s. He also said that he had knowledge of numerous killings but did not actually confess to any.
Hinds made these revelations when he feared that he was wanted by the police for the murder of political activist, Courtney Crum-Ewing.
It appears now that the real reason the police wanted Hinds was to question him on this supposed surveillance.
According to Nagamootoo, two weeks ago, Tuesday, July 14, the security detail attached to his home noticed a strange car parked close by. Hinds was identified as the occupant of the car. As the security approached, the car sped away.
A check of the car’s license plate number revealed that the particular number belonged to a car with a different colour.
Nagamootoo confirmed yesterday that a report was filed at the Sparendaam Police Station over the incident.
Earlier this week, Crime Chief Wendell Blanhum confirmed that Sean Hinds was wanted by the police for investigations into a “serious offence”.
Nagamootoo is convinced that the surveillance was for a possible hit. “We have information that some days ago Sean Hinds had been parked in a car in the vicinity of my residence and neighbours were alerted, the police were summoned and the vehicle drove away very fast,” he told reporters.
The Prime Minister believes that based on the information provided, Hinds was allegedly on “some kind of recky.”
Nagamootoo added, “If I was an asset or I was a target, I believe that Sean Hinds would have to come and explain,”
Nagamootoo said he was informed that another vehicle, a black automobile believed to the property of Anil Nandlall, arrived from the opposite direction. “We have alerted the police and apparently since then they have been trying to contact Sean Hinds,” he said.
He said that he previously confronted Hinds at City Hall and told him “I understand he has interest in me and he laughed and he didn’t say much on that occasion.”
When contacted yesterday, Hinds expressed total shock at the new development.
He said, “Wha? What, is wha I hearing here man? Me and these people don’t have a problem and I ain’t deh pon dem thing. Nobody, from no side of de fence can’t get me to do dem things no more.”
He stressed, “I ain’t deh pon dem thing.”
Hinds acknowledged that he is a popular figure and “If I want to do something I won’t mek me presence known like that. I know that a man must know that is me lie down by the house. Come on, pick sense out of nonsense.”
He said that he cannot understand “what they really want with me.”
“If they wanted to find out the truth they could a send a man to me house to seh well look yo wanted fuh questioning.”
Hinds continued, “I am not like that… nobody cannot put me up to anything like that. I done been down that road, not me again.”
(Abena Rockcliffe)