American Catholic priest admits fathering child

American priest Thomas Williams

Wed May 16, 2012 7:29AM GMT

Share | Email | r[);">Print

The Legion of Christ religious order of Catholicism is faced with its second sexual scandal in weeks after a prominent American priest admits to having fathered a child against his religious vows.

Father Thomas Williams, a famous American moral theologian and lecturer, made the acknowledgement on Tuesday, saying he was “deeply sorry for this grave transgression” against the vows of celibacy and that he would take a year off "to reflect on my commitments as a priest."

It comes after the Associated Press presented the Legion with the accusation against Williams, made by a Spanish group of Legion victims. The allegations were sent to the Legion and Vatican several weeks ago, also naming other priests from the Legion over sexual abuse of minors.

Williams said in a statement that “a number of years ago” he had a relationship with a woman and fathered her child, failing to identify the mother and the child’s gender and did not stress whether the controversial relationship is over.

Meanwhile, the Legion admitted on Wednesday that it was aware of Williams’ relationship, but did not remove him from teaching ethics and morality.

The Catholic order was founded in 1941 by Mexican priest Marcial Maciel, who turned the Legion into a powerful international order with 70,000 followers and many wealthy supporters.

Maciel, however, was accused of drug and sexual abuses. In 2006 the Vatican sentenced Maciel to a lifetime of penance and prayer for his crimes.

In 2009, one year after his death, the Legion admitted he had fathered three children with two different women and had abused his seminarians.

Last week, the Vatican launched an investigation into sexual allegations committed by the Legion’s priests, which is considered as the Vatican’s first known serious action against the order.

Originally Posted by asj:

SECOND SEXUAL SCANDALS IN WEEKS:

YEILD TO TEMPTATIONS:

Wah wrang wid man waan lil punany.  Try goa witout am fuh waan hole week and see wha yuh do.  Dem fullah man priest dozz gatt homan still dem screwin lil bais.  Dem Pandit gatt dem wife an' dem a try screw adda peeple wife and daatazz.  Soa, ah who civilize and who ah di jackass.

tHAT IS WHY i TRY TO DO GOOD AND pRAY AT hOME. i DONT GIVE MYSELF TO OTHER hUMANS, DONT BELIEVE EVERYTHING SOMEONE TELLS ME. a lIL COMMON SENSE GOES A LONG WAY.

Contemplation of ETERNITY should not be up to priests, pandits and immams.

Originally Posted by Wendy Holmes:

Pandit Nehru, you don't give yourself to other humans?   Then why do you occasionally boast of the sweet woman?? 

Pandit  Nehru don't  give .  He  does  only  tek  when  the  sweet  woman give. 

Pandit Nehru, you don't give yourself to other humans?   Then why do you occasionally boast of the sweet woman?? 

Cause dat is deh kind of giving that gives.

Originally Posted by asj:

SECOND SEXUAL SCANDALS IN WEEKS:

YEILD TO TEMPTATIONS:

The  urge  to merge  and procreate is undoubtedly the  strongest call in  all of  nature and  celibacy is  an  unnatural demand and  expectation.

Dah wah mi wzz bout to seh.  If he nah gi heself up to adda humans, den wah e' gi to, wan bulldagg or gyal sheep.

Originally Posted by Sledgehammer:

Dah wah mi wzz bout to seh.  If he nah gi heself up to adda humans, den wah e' gi to, wan bulldagg or gyal sheep.

Bhai, Bulldaag or Bullpup?

I only see a priest in bad light when they bugger little boys. If a priest fathered a child or admit to marriage in secrecy against his pledge to God, that alright with me. The Pope can't make the final judgement unless he is God himself. I am sure that the Pope must have jerked off a few times when temptation stirred. All priests should get marry and have sex. God said to man, go forth and multiply. I understand that in the broadest sense to indulged in sexual intercourse and bring forth children and fill the earth. God never discriminate against priest when he made that declaration. So, what all you waiting for? Go and lift up a skirt or something!