Minister halts seizure of Bai Shan Lin vehicles

April 1, 2016 | By | Filed Under News 

BaiShanLin has been at the centre of controversies over the years it has been in Guyana. The company failed to fulfill agreements signed with the previous administration even as it enjoyed billions of dollars in concessions.

Recently, with the change in Government, the Guyana Revenue Authority (GRA) has been trying to clampdown on all those who have been trying to evade paying taxes, including BaiShanLin. c r
The State Assets Recovery Unit (SARU) is also involved in investigating the tax dodgers.

Towards this end, GRA, in collaboration with other relevant agencies, launched a special operation to seize a number of luxury vehicles imported by the Chinese logging company, BaiShanLin Forest Development Inc.

Kaieteur News understands that these vehicles were being seized due to the fact that the Chinese company failed to pay the required duties within the legally stipulated timeframe.

But before officials from the GRA’s Customs Department and the Special Organized Crime Unit (SOCU) could carry out the seizures, they received a call from a Government official who gave strict instructions that the vehicles must not be removed, to leave the company alone, and to walk away from the premises.

Kaieteur News understands that it was Minister of State, Joseph Harmon, who gave the orders to the GRA and SOCU officers. Several attempts were made by this newspaper to contact Harmon on the matter, but all proved futile.

Several Government Ministers confirmed that they were aware of the issue. They, however, declined to give an on-the-record comment.
The details of the matter were also confirmed with the State Asset Recovery Unit (SARU). The Unit is currently looking into the issue.
Chairman of the Guyana Revenue Authority, Rawle Lucas, when contacted yesterday, said that he became aware of the issue on Wednesday.

Asked if GRA would still pursue the matter despite the intervention of the senior Government official, he said, “I expect that this matter would be dealt with accordingly. At this stage I really can’t give any further comment. But at least we have a Minister (who could conduct an investigation).

“You have to remember that I am not an Executive Chairman of GRA, so I can only begin to seriously enquire as to whether that really represents acceptable policy from an entity like GRA, and if that is part of their modus operandi.”

Asked if he would be informing Minister of Finance, Winston Jordan, on the matter, he said, “Oh, I think my minister is very much aware about this issue already”

Is Harmon now heading GRA? How the hell can he intercede in the business of managing  this entity and not cross the line into the land of the corrupt?

I guess the pay increase that is supposed to keep everyone in their lane and on the straight and narrow was a farce. It is becoming for this fellow directly proportional to how much he can assume authority over all government business.

If he did this thing it is pure undistilled bullshit and now puts him in the rank of past rent seeking leeches who took money from the Chinese under the table. This is directly taking money from the nations till to in an exchange of favors with banshanlin. Yes...you do not give away the nations money if you are not taking it elsewhere.

Here he is reaching again.....

I personally rescinded Mr Tiwarie’s appointment – President Granger

April 1, 2016 | By | Filed Under News 

President David Granger says he personally rescinded the appointment of Brian Tiwarie as a Ministerial

President David Granger

Advisor, as the process was not blessed by the Government.
Speaking during a taped interview of his television programme, Public Interest, which is set to air this weekend, the President was clear that the administration may not have been in the loop when it came to Tiwarie’s appointment.

On Monday, Kaieteur News broke a story on the businessman’s appointment. The appointment was never officially announced.
According to a copy of the Instrument of Appointment, Minister of State Joseph Harmon, on January 19th 2016, appointed Tiwarie as Ministerial Advisor on Business Development.

The news immediately sparked condemnation, especially from supporters of the coalition Government. It quickly became viral online.
Tiwarie is one of the country’s biggest businessmen. He was awarded several major contracts, including parts of the East Bank Demerara four-lane extension, the West Coast Demerara road improvement project and a number of others.

He also clashed with Government over management of the Haags Bosch dumpsite, at Eccles, East Bank Demerara.

Shortly after the May 11th general elections, which the coalition Government won, Tiwarie started collaborating with the new administration in the Brickdam clean-up project.

The Ministerial Advisor appointment caught many by surprise, as Tiwarie was known to be close to the

Manager of BK International, Brian Tiwarie

previous administration.
During yesterday’s taping of the television programme, President Granger, when questioned, said that Tiwarie is not an appointee of the Government.

“He is not performing any functions and that is why the position is rescinded. He is not required to perform any business function.”
The President explained further. “We have a Minister of Business, and as far as I am concerned, the Minister is quite capable and competent, and he has not asked me for any assistance, and I personally rescinded Mr Tiwarie’s appointment.”

Granger was unable to say if Tiwarie accompanied Minister Harmon on a trip to China over the last few days.

Rather, the President said he is aware that Harmon went to China on Government business. That business had to do with the Guyana Telephone and Telegraph Company. The previous Government had sold its 20 percent stake in the US-owned telecoms company a few years ago to a Hong Kong investor called Datang Telecom.

Guyana is still owed some monies. Harmon’s trip was apparently to discuss the collection of those millions.

Accompanying Minister Harmon to China, officially, was an officer of the National Industrial and Commercial Investments Limited

“That is as much as I know. That is all I can say at this point in time. We don’t have an ongoing relation with Mr Tiwarie, and that is all I can say,” the President said in the interview.

Reports have indicated that Larry London, Chairman of the Guyana Civil Aviation Authority was also on the

Minister of State, Joseph Harmon

trip.

Also in China were two Chinese investors, Su Zhi Rong of Rong An Inc. and Chu Hongbo of BaiShanLin. Both companies are being investigated.
Questions were raised over the purpose of Harmon’s trip and whether the state paid for the other persons.

RiffRaff posted:

don't believe everything you read...it's April 1...unless the joke is on us who supported this coalition

I do not think that KN will play footsie with a man's reputation. This is serious insider trading going on here with a known pirate multi national so I would not condone KN making April's fool of us on such a serious note.

Joe Harmon's alleged action is taken straight from a page of the corrupt PPP regime's playbook. The coalition has been taking misstep after misstep that does not auger well for its future. Yes, Gilbakka wants to cuss too.

Minister halts seizure of Bai Shan Lin vehicles

"Kaieteur News understands that it was Minister of State, Joseph Harmon, who gave the orders to the GRA and SOCU officers. Several attempts were made by this newspaper to contact Harmon on the matter, but all proved futile."

Tiwari Gate now Bhai Shan Lin Gate,i mentioned before Harmon will face the music.

Joe Harmon's alleged action is taken straight from a page of the corrupt PPP regime's playbook. The coalition has been taking misstep after misstep that does not auger well for its future. Yes, Gilbakka wants to cuss too.

He facing the music,gone fuh channa i have my bets,if it does not happen Granger is a softee.

Old people does seh when yuh stupid, yuh done stupid.

He facing the music,gone fuh channa i have my bets,if it does not happen Granger is a softee.

A man who sets criminals free, gave the highest award to a known racists, mislead the nation on his election promises. So far, he is in Lucifer's camp. The devil goan minse him up real good. Him and Harmon were the arch planners on how to act above the constitution. Remember, how they re-named Ministeries and appointed people contrary to laws of the land. Granger empowered Harmon, he is the President in waiting. For CBJ, it was LFSB. For Granger it is Harmon-the PNC goan split moh splitter than when Granger took over. Guyana full of crooks.

Rumors have it that Joe's wings will be clipped.

Too many APNU AFC supporters (soon to no longer be supporters) have said that this is total eye pass and disrespect for those who voted against the PPP last year.  Bad enough BK, but this Bai Shan Lin, is total disrespect.  Obviously money passed.

We will see.

Old people does seh when yuh stupid, yuh done stupid.

True, bai. Gilbakka is one of those "old people."

Too many APNU AFC supporters (soon to no longer be supporters) have said that this is total eye pass and disrespect for those who voted against the PPP last year.  Bad enough BK, but this Bai Shan Lin, is total disrespect.  Obviously money passed.

As you so wisely asserted, the old men are fattening their wallets while the sun shines. They know dark night waiting its turn.

Now is the time for a 9-Tribe coalition to protect the forest of Guyana from foreigners. Government and political parties can no longer be depended upon to run things right.  We need pressure groups that are free of political ties to work in the interests of the people and the nation.

As you so wisely asserted, the old men are fattening their wallets while the sun shines. They know dark night waiting its turn.

Suh Joe made an early move and got caught,the media will toast him.

Please provide a special CoI report that says the PPP was found to be corrupted. It's simple as putting your mouth where your money is. Joe Harmon is not an innocent of PNC corruption. Nehru said it correct that many of you drank snake oil.

Cobra posted:

Please provide a special CoI report that says thePPP was found to be corrupted. It's simple as putting your mouth where your money is. Joe Harmon is not an innocent of PNC corruption. Nehru said it correct that many of you drank snake oil.

Justify their current wealth with the salary they earned,it was mentioned  Nokta give one poor man with no construction skills contracts,today he is a billionaire within 23 yrs,that is squeaky clean.

The US army gave a contract to a poor Korean who walked with a cow from the North all down to the South.  Today, he is the owner of Hyundai and Kia.  Sometimes it's a blessing to give big opportunities to the underprivileged.  They are jewels are among the poor. I hope BK can emerge into a great company and create job opportunities at home for all Guyanese just like what Hyundai did.

Dondadda posted:
antabanta posted:

It is beginning to look more like exchange than change in Guyana.

Don't say that I didn't tell you just before and after the elections.

You didn't tell me.

Do you still fail to understand that the people suffering under the PPP had enough and needed change?

Cobra posted:

Please provide a special CoI report that says the PPP was found to be corrupted..

I am sure you aren't going to wait for proof before accusing APNU AFC of corruption.

Cobra posted:

Please provide a special CoI report that says thePPP was found to be corrupted. It's simple as putting your mouth where your money is. Joe Harmon is not an innocent of PNC corruption. Nehru said it correct that many of you drank snake oil.

Justify their current wealth with the salary they earned,it was mentioned  Nokta give one poor man with no construction skills contracts,today he is a billionaire within 23 yrs,that is squeaky clean.

The word of the day is to present the facts, take them to court, convict them and jail them-  Any of this done as yet, sir? 

For the first time were I see that GNI posters are collectively speaking out against corruption with Guyana at heart. It would be nice if we all keep it that way to keep the AFC/PNC and PPP in check.

It is also important not to foolishly believe may far fetched allegations against the PPP , none of which can be proven to this day in court.

Interesting that you demand proof for PPP corruption, but are convinced that the PNC is corrupt.

Why is that?

antabanta posted:

Listen banna, this is to show the PPP were doing what was possible given the reality.  You guys and your PNC were/are out of your league.  I see Mr Donkey cyart [Oligarchy] economist theoretician seem to gone into hiding these days!

Alyuh people prapa stupid if you think you go walk in and do anything diametrically different.  Let me sum it up this way:

Limited Options + Clueless PNC/AFC = Retain PPP strategy!

ba$eman posted:
antabanta posted:

Listen banna, this is to show the PPP were doing what was possible given the reality.  You guys and your PNC were/are out of your league.  I see Mr Donkey cyart [Oligarchy] economist theoretician seem to gone into hiding these days!

Alyuh people prapa stupid if you think you go walk in and do anything diametrically different.  Let me sum it up this way:

Limited Options + Clueless PNC/AFC = Retain PPP strategy!

Unlike you, existing in denial is not an option for me. The PPP was teefing, and doing very little else. There is more than ample evidence of this. My inclination to criticize any party that I supported puts me light years ahead of you and your ilk in a variety of measures, not the least of which is common sense. Despite the blunders of the coalition to date, it hasn't come anywhere close to the level of corruption and criminality displayed by your beloved teefing PPP.

For the first time were I see that GNI posters are collectively speaking out against corruption with Guyana at heart. It would be nice if we all keep it that way to keep the AFC/PNC and PPP in check.

You will never get it....dunce!!!!!

How disappointing that they are not standing behind the leader they fought so hard to elect.  Double crossing or just poor judgement?  That being said, I do give credit to those admitting their mistakes.  Problem is, it's too late for crying, the train has left the station and there is no light at the end of the tunnel.

Objective criticism is a concept beyond your understanding?

antabanta posted:

LOL

statements like this from PPP klowns like u are the reason the party will wander in the Biblical wilderness for a generation until the present crop of leadership idiots is 'extinguished'

antabanta posted:

Objective criticism is not beyond my understanding.  Poor judgement is.