State officials can't account for $39,560 in taxpayer money that Sen. John  Sampson steered to a now-defunct Brooklyn charity, the leader of which  opened a liquor store with the powerful legislator several  months later.

The exact financial relationship between Sampson, who until last year led the  Senate Democratic Conference, and Edmon  Braithwaite is unclear. But Sampson noted he became a "shareholder" in a  liquor store Braithwaite owns in 2011, according to a disclosure form. The State  Liquor Authority refused a Times  Union request for details on the store because "disclosure of the  information and documents requested would interfere with an  ongoing investigation."

Sampson, a Brooklyn Democrat, was charged earlier this month with embezzling  $440,000 from mortgage accounts and then threatening to "take ... out" potential  witnesses against a business associate. He pleaded not guilty. Federal  prosecutors said the case against him is ongoing; they also revealed Sampson was  taped by a former colleague, ex-Sen. Shirley  Huntley, at the direction of the FBI.

Robert  Nardoza, a spokesman for U.S. Attorney Loretta  Lynch, would not answer specific questions about Braithwaite, Sampson, or  the liquor store. "The case against Senator Sampson is pending and the  investigation is ongoing," Nardoza said.

Sampson's spokesman Mike  Roberts said the senator relinquished his stake in Braithwaite's liquor  store — Gateway Wine and Spirits in the Bedford-Stuyvesant neighborhood —  earlier this year, and said questions about it were "moot." Roberts said no law  enforcement officials had inquired about the matter.

"Why would they?" He asked. "We're looking for storms in teacups, I suspect.  The senator did what any senator, when their constituents petition them,  would do."

Braithwaite did not comment. After a week of calls and emails, he left the  Times Union a voicemail late Friday saying he had been unable to respond because  he was undergoing radiation treatment for cancer. He did not return  subsequent calls.

A Guyanese immigrant and entrepreneur, Braithwaite is known in Brooklyn  political circles as the founder of One Caribbean Radio. The station runs a talk  format aimed at the 3 million-plus Caribbean immigrants and launched on an AM  frequency in October 2007. It now broadcasts via the Internet.

According to a 2008 profile by New  York Daily News columnist Clem  Richardson, the station quickly became a destination for elected officials  seeking to reach Caribbean Americans, many of whom live in central Brooklyn. The  station's guests have included area legislators like Sampson and Sen. Kevin  Parker, as well as then-City Council members Letitia  James, David  Yassky, Bill  de Blasio and District Attorney Charles  Hynes. Hynes, who is white, made a monthly appearance and described  Braithwaite as "a great guy."

Braithwaite formed the One Caribbean Foundation in May 2008 and applied to  the IRS for tax-exempt status in July 2010, records show. Its mission is "to organize  and administer a charitable scholarship fund for individuals of Caribbean  heritage, to be used for educational and medical assistance," according to the  IRS application. It also planned to "embark on a program to train and teach  inner city underprivileged youth the inner workings of a functional digital  radio station" — One Caribbean Radio.

Sampson earmarked a $100,000 member item for the foundation as part of the  2009-10 budget. The grant was administered by the Office of Children and Family  Services, which sent $39,560 to the foundation in October 2010, state  records show.

One Caribbean Foundation has three listed directors: Braithwaite and his  wife, Myrie, as well as Charles  Mohan.

Mohan, an adjunct professor and consultant, said he became acquainted with  Braithwaite through various Guyanese-American groups and was a commentator on  One Caribbean Radio when Braithwaite recruited him for the foundation. He is  listed as its treasurer. "It never got off the ground. I never really  participated or know if there was anything done. As far as I know, nothing was  done," Mohan said. He said his last involvement with the foundation was in July  2010, when he signed the IRS application. Mohan said he was unaware of the  $39,560 state grant.

According to OCFS spokeswoman Jennifer  Givner, the money was considered an advance payment, but the One Caribbean  Foundation never filed paperwork documenting its spending — as  was required.

OCFS referred the matter to the office of Attorney General Eric  Schneiderman in July 2012. State lawyers sued One Caribean Foundation for  the money, but Braithwaite ignored a summons. Last month, state lawyers filed a  judgment for $49,411.19 — the $39,560 plus interest and fees — with the Albany  County clerk. Michelle  Hook, a spokesman for Schneiderman, said One Caribbean Foundation hasn't  submitted required annual filings since 2010, and its charitable status was  revoked earlier this year.

Roberts said Sampson had not tracked One Caribbean's progress. "He funded an  organization, like any other organization, it met the legal threshold for  funding at the that time. ... From our understanding, the money was earmarked  for internships in communication and radio, and that was done," he said. "What  does Senator Sampson have to do with that? That would be my question."

jvielkind@timesunion.com •  518-454-5081 • @JimmyVielkind

Read more: http://www.timesunion.com/loca...90.php#ixzz2TqwNLACt

Edmond Braithwaite is a QC Old Boy. I met him a few years ago, with someone who was interested in some programming for One Caribbean radio.

Chuck (Charles Mohan), a good friend, obviously has no part in any of this.

I also doubt that Braithwaite is involved in any way.

Edmond Braithwaite is a QC Old Boy. I met him a few years ago, with someone who was interested in some programming for One Caribbean radio.

The money was given to his Station, how could he not be involved.

There are times when you would be listed as some officer of a going concern and then nothing happens. You walk away and have nothing to do with it. This scenario in no means that you would know about all the unsavory stuff you hear later on.

Kari, I am not questioning Mohan's involvement but Braithwaite, how could he not be involved.

I'm asking myself the same question regarding Braithwaite and you know I can't come up with a convincing answer.

Chuck I know has nothing to do with any of this, but no, I can't register the same certainty with Edmund Braithwaite.

I just would not think that of him unless we know for sure.

Kari...like U I don't believe some of these stories......

However.....I just found out....

A PNC House of Isreal Bandit Name Bobby Viera....

was at one time working for this Radio Station.

the station has hired many Caribbean disc jockeys and radio personalities, such  as Bob (Spiceman) Frederick

Ian (The Goose) Eligon and

newsman Franklin (Bobby) Vieira
Read more: http://www.nydailynews.com/new...316012#ixzz2TsS5zs00

Bobby Viera was the one running around rubbing shoulders

with these New York Politicians......

and the ones in Guyana including Jagdeo & Ramotar.

In 2001....Jagdeo & Bobby Viera together Promoted Mash Celebrations in Guyana under the theme....."We all Mashing as One"....

"Open De Door leh De man Come in"....

And the Doors of Freedom House & Office of the President 

were opened wide for the PNC Thugs...

Bobby Viera was implicated in smuggling Guns and Narco between Guyana and US.

Bobby Viera was the Chairman & M.C. for Most of Jagdeo & Ramotar functions over here.

http://www.guyanatimesinternational.com/?p=17337

Tourism Minister Irfaan Ali in conversation with U.S.-based Guyanese radio personality Bobby Viera at the event in New York.

Bobby Viera was the PNC inside connection with Guyana Customs....and had a private-secret relationship with the Customs Chief.

Econocaribe New York Director Gordon Berment and Caribbean Cargo President Bobby Vieira after signing the agreement in New York recently.

Bobby Viera went undercover and disappeared

when Ed Ahmad start singing to the Feds....

Bobby Viera later surfaced in Guyana as an official in the Ramotar/ Jagdeo Govt wearing many hats in Trade, Tourism, Shipping, Customs..... & like other House of Isreal Bandits.....also stationed at OP.

President impressed with large Mash bands

http://gina.gov.gy/wp/?p=8095

President Donald Ramotar waves to the thousands of patrons in the National Park for Mashramani 2013. He is accompanied by Minister of Culture Youth and Sport Dr Frank Anthony

Having participated in a live interview with well- known

journalist Bobby Vieira that was televised live on the

National Communications Network (NCN) and witnessed

the kaleidoscope of colourful floats,

President Ramotar said in an invited comment that

“everyone seems to be enjoying themselves a lot”.

Having been satisfied with the parade,

President Ramotar made his way to the streets on Vlissengen road

where he mingled with celebrants who were out in their thousands.

Is Braitewaite connected to the afc/pnc? These are the same set of people who want to run Guyana.

De Watermelon in Wala lap now....

Let us see how he will carry it from here..

Yes.....she worked with Bobby Viera for a while....

They were together....and de theme was...

"We all Mashing as One"

"Open De Door leh De man Come in"....

And the Doors of Freedom House &

Office of the President 

were opened wide for the PNC Thugs...

Unless you have all the facts how could be certain that 'Charles Mohan obviously has no part in this?" Why don't you wait and see what unfolds before arriving at certainty?

Originally Posted by Ronald Sugrim:

Unless you have all the facts how could be certain that 'Charles Mohan obviously has no part in this?" Why don't you wait and see what unfolds before arriving at certainty?

RS.....guh play with yuh littie.....or yuh vibrator and leave serious conversations for grown people.

Okay, but you are still shying away from the question. You who don't know or have all the facts are proclaiming someone as innocent because 'he is a good friend of yours.' As a grown man you need to explain yourself to novices like me.    

If Chuck Mohan is mixed up in malfeasance I have a bridge to sell you - and it ain't Canje Bridge....

You too are missing the point go back and read from the top.

One Caribbean Foundation has three listed directors: Braithwaite and his  wife, Myrie, as well as Charles  Mohan.

Mohan, an adjunct professor and consultant, said he became acquainted with  Braithwaite through various Guyanese-American groups and was a commentator on  One Caribbean Radio when Braithwaite recruited him for the foundation. He is  listed as its treasurer. "It never got off the ground. I never really  participated or know if there was anything done. As far as I know, nothing was  done," Mohan said. He said his last involvement with the foundation was in July  2010, when he signed the IRS application. Mohan said he was unaware of the  $39,560 state grant.

Where in the above does it give you the right to be libelous? You are just an evil person. Cut it out. You don't know Chuck Mohan. What you're saying is bordering on the criminal.

So this means that you do not approve of Rosanna hanging out with them?

Ronald, Rosanna happen to be a big woman .........she don't need anyone permission to hang out with Bobby Viera.....so if you give her permission I don't care.

You too are missing the point go back and read from the top.

Where in the above does it give you the right to be libelous? You are just an evil person. Cut it out. You don't know Chuck Mohan. What you're saying is bordering on the criminal.

Cut what out? Let's recap. You said, " I doubt Brathwaite is involved in any way." When told that the money was given to his station how could he not be involved you said, " I am asking myself the same question about Brathwaite but I can't come up with a convincing answer." You also said that since you know Mr. Mohan 'a good friend he obviously has no part in any of this.' I said that why don't we wait for all the facts to come out before being certain. You requested that I go play with a vibrator ' and leave serious conversations for grown people.' I said that you are shying away from the question and you replied about selling me a bridge. Now you may care to explain how am I being libelous and criminal. Thank you.       

Ronald.... If U said that U are waiting for all the facts to come out before being certain.....that means you are not certain either.....so tell Kari...yuh cant play with anything yet.

Exactly.......Sugrim is making a direct accusation, to wit, there is foul play with Braithwaite. I said I can't vouch certainty for Braithwaite but for Chuck I can. Leave Chuck out of this, and Rosanna for that matter. If you have doubts about Braithwaite, wait on the facts - as you put it. I go out on my neck for Chuck and Rosanna. By not doing so for Braithwaite does not mean I should indict him. You obviously have made that leap and that's why I say you're evil for pronouncing guilt before any charges have been made.

Anybody can make accusation. Does that mean anyone has to lend credibility to such accusation by responding to it? I ain't gonna respomnd about what I don't know. What I do know is that Chuck and Rosanna are not in the sphere that you obviously want to put them; and maybe you have an agenda for doing so. Come clean. I can also accuse you. And you can accuse me. What the hell difference does it make/ (Did Hillary tell the Bengazi Inquiry something like that? )

Exactly.......Sugrim is making a direct accusation, to wit, there is foul play with Braithwaite. I said I can't vouch certainty for Braithwaite but for Chuck I can. Leave Chuck out of this, and Rosanna for that matter. If you have doubts about Braithwaite, wait on the facts - as you put it. I go out on my neck for Chuck and Rosanna. By not doing so for Braithwaite does not mean I should indict him. You obviously have made that leap and that's why I say you're evil for pronouncing guilt before any charges have been made.

Anybody can make accusation. Does that mean anyone has to lend credibility to such accusation by responding to it? I ain't gonna respomnd about what I don't know. What I do know is that Chuck and Rosanna are not in the sphere that you obviously want to put them; and maybe you have an agenda for doing so. Come clean. I can also accuse you. And you can accuse me. What the hell difference does it make/ (Did Hillary tell the Bengazi Inquiry something like that? )

More verbiage. You have a problem with comprehension. I said wait until the facts are in before going making a determination. What is wrong with that and where did I make a 'direct accusation'? Where did I pronounce guilt? Show me. 

Kari,

How can you leave Chuck out of this when his name is mentioned as an officer of the company? He may be innocent of the runnings but it is difficult to leave him out because his name and his association with the others. 

Kari,

How can you leave Chuck out of this when his name is mentioned as an officer of the company? He may be innocent of the runnings but it is difficult to leave him out because his name and his association with the others. 

As far as I know, nothing was  done," Mohan said. He said his last involvement with the foundation was in July  2010, when he signed the IRS application. Mohan said he was unaware of the  $39,560 state grant.

Ok he did not know about the grant that's fine. It's inaccurate to say leave him out of this because legally he is part of the organization.

I only say that Chief because I know the man and his character, and how he lives. I would stand up for you the same way if someone were to cast aspersions on your character. Then it would be question of my believability or not. When I say things about people it always is implicit that you can believe me or question my judgement. On Chuck I unhesitantly say "good man".

I like you also know that Chuck is a good person, he is a decent man.

The issue I am raising is your comment " leave him out of the picture" . His name is there and legally he is part and parcel of the entity.

Is Braitewaite connected to the afc/pnc? These are the same set of people who want to run Guyana.

You fools ducked when I brought up the suspicion that Braitewaite had afc/pnc connections, now it is confirmed that he has direct relations with Granger.

Granger’s associate fingered in U.S. corruption probePDFPrintE-mail
Written by   
Tuesday, 21 May 2013 23:13

A FORMER member of the Guyana Defence Force (GDF) and reported close friend of Leader of the political Opposition Brigadier (rtd) David Granger is being fingered in a corruption and embezzlement scandal that led to charges against New York Sen. John Sampson.

alt

Edmon Braithwaite

The Times Union out of New York is reporting that Granger’s friend, Edmon Braithwaite is being investigated in connection with the inability of officials to account for US$39,560 in taxpayer money that indicted Senator John Sampson steered to a now-defunct Brooklyn charity operated by Edmon Braithwaite. The former GDF rank, Braithwaite, reportedly opened a liquor store with the US legislator several months later. According to sources, Braithwaite is known to have shared ties to the Peoples National Congress (PNCR) and has been backing different candidates from time to time to take over the leadership of that party, particularly when it was headed by then leader Robert Corbin. This publication has been informed that Braithwaite also raised substantial funds for the PNC/APNU during its 2011 elections campaign. The exact financial relationship between Sampson, who until last year led the Senate Democratic Conference and Edmon Braithwaite, is unclear but reports indicate that Sampson became a "shareholder" in a liquor store owned by Braithwaite in 2011. Sampson, a Brooklyn Democrat, was charged earlier this month with embezzling US$440,000 from mortgage accounts and then threatening to "take ... out" potential witnesses against a business associate. He pleaded not guilty and Federal prosecutors say the case against him is ongoing; they also revealed Sampson was taped by a former colleague at the direction of the FBI. Braithwaite is also known in Brooklyn political circles as the founder of One Caribbean Radio. The station runs a talk show targeting particularly members of the Caribbean diaspora and was launched on an AM frequency in October 2007. According to a 2008 profile by New York Daily News columnist Clem Richardson, the station quickly became a destination for elected officials seeking to reach Caribbean Americans, many of whom live in central Brooklyn. Braithwaite also established the One Caribbean Foundation in May 2008 and applied to the IRS for tax-exempt status in July 2010, records show. The indicted Sampson earmarked a US$100,000 member item for the foundation as part of the 2010 budget. One Caribbean Foundation has three listed directors: Braithwaite and his wife, Myrie, as well as Charles Mohan. Mohan, an adjunct professor and consultant, said he became acquainted with Braithwaite through various Guyanese-American groups and was a commentator on One Caribbean Radio when Braithwaite recruited him for the foundation. He is listed as its treasurer. "It never got off the ground. I never really participated or know if there was anything done. As far as I know, nothing was done," Mohan said. He said his last involvement with the foundation was in July 2010, when he signed the IRS application. Mohan said he was unaware of the $39,560 state grant. One Caribbean Foundation has reportedly not submitted its required annual filings since 2010, and its charitable status was revoked earlier this year.

PNCR distances itself from Edmon Braithwaite     

Written by Demerara Waves  

Saturday, 25 May 2013 13:50

The Peoples National Congress Reform (PNCR) North American Region (NAR) on Saturday sought to distance itself from Edmon Braithwaite who has been linked to embattled New York State Senator John Sampson.

New York State officials have said that they could not account for US$39,560 in taxpayer money that Sen. John Sampson steered to a now-defunct Brooklyn charity, the leader of which opened a liquor store with the powerful legislator several months later.

The exact financial relationship between Sampson, who until last year led the Senate Democratic Conference, and Edmon Braithwaite is unclear. But Sampson noted he became a "shareholder" in a liquor store Braithwaite owns in 2011, according to a disclosure form. The State Liquor Authority refused a Times Union request for details on the store because "disclosure of the information and documents requested would interfere with an ongoing investigation."

The PNCR’s NAR appeared to take umbrage at background information that Braithwaite, a former member of the Guyana Defence Force, is known to have had ties to the Peoples National Congress Reform (PNCR) and had been backing different candidates from time to time to take over the leadership of that party particularly when Robert Corbin was at the helm. The PNCR is the largest partner in the opposition coalition A Partnership for National Unity (APNU).

But in a statement issued on Saturday, the PNCR’s NAR stated that “Braithwaite is not and has never been a member of the PNCR.”

“The PNCR also states that Mr. Edmon Braithwaite was never a contributor to A Partnership for National Unity’s 2011 National and Regional Campaign.

The PNCR further stated that Mr. Edmon Braithwaite is not a personal friend of  the current and past Leaders of the PNCR, Brigadier David Granger and Mr. Robert Corbin.

The PNCR also declared that at no time was Mr. Edmon Braithwaite a part directly or indirectly in the David Granger campaign for the leadership of the PNCR or APNU’s 2011 National and Regional campaign.

The PNCR North American Region considers any published reference at officially linking Mr. Braithwaite with this organization as slanderous and demands an immediate withdrawal.

Further, any Candidate for the leadership that Mr. Edmon Braithwaite chose to support for the leadership of the PNCR, he did as a private citizen and not as a member of the PNCR.”

===================================

Braithwaite did not comment. After a week of calls and emails, he left the Times Union a voicemail late Friday saying he had been unable to respond because he was undergoing radiation treatment for cancer. He did not return subsequent calls.

A Guyanese immigrant and entrepreneur, Braithwaite is known in Brooklyn political circles as the founder of One Caribbean Radio. The station runs a talk format aimed at the 3 million-plus Caribbean immigrants and launched on an AM frequency in October 2007. It now broadcasts via the Internet.

Braithwaite formed the One Caribbean Foundation in May 2008 and applied to the IRS for tax-exempt status in July 2010, records show. Its mission is "to organize and administer a charitable scholarship fund for individuals of Caribbean heritage, to be used for educational and medical assistance," according to the IRS application. It also planned to "embark on a program to train and teach inner city underprivileged youth the inner workings of a functional digital radio station" — One Caribbean Radio.

Quote Big Dutty Seed : "You fools ducked when I brought up the suspicion that Braitewaite had afc/pnc connections, now it is confirmed that he has direct relations with Granger"

Not because you & Kwame are inseperable,

People should not accuse Kwame carrying a Big godey like u do...

Kwame night be Nasty & a B@tty Boy....

but Unless he carry a walla......

he cannot be labeled a Godey-man.

So Be careful Don't Lump up PNC with the AFC.....

they don't belong together.........

They are miles apart