Address Jagdeo’s ‘wife abuse’ before speaking on similar matters — AFC tells Govt.

July 9, 2014 | By | Filed Under News 

The Alliance For Change (AFC) yesterday highlighted what it described as the hypocrisy that is being perpetuated by the government in its latest attempt to defend the disregard for diplomatic norms which was reflected in its message to the US Ambassador.

Since the now infamous speech delivered by the then acting Foreign Minister, Priya Manickchand, that essentially disrespected former United States (US) Ambassador to Guyana, Brent Hardt in his own home; the Minister and the government have been subject to much criticism.
Manickchand’s message became a topic of widespread discussion on social media; the opposition spoke against it and letters criticizing the Minister are still being published in local newspapers.
Because of the way the Minister acted, the AFC had characterized her as “Sitira Gal.”
But Presidential advisor on Governance, Gail Teixeira took offence to this.
On National television, the government official said that the opposition has a history of being “racial and sexist” towards women of East Indian decent. She alluded to AFC’s characterization of Manickchand as “Sitira Gal” as part of a “racist and sexist” pattern. “It’s really saying basically …that Indian women in this country must know their place. They mustn’t come out of their confines and suddenly be out there speaking.”
The senior public servant said the women’s movement has not been defending Indian women like Acting Town Clerk, Carol Sooba; the Finance Minister’s wife, Gitanjali Singh and then Supreme Court Registrar, Sita Ramlall.

Via a press statement released yesterday, the AFC said that it has noted the “lame” attempt by the Presidential Advisor on Governance to turn criticism of Manickchand’s “uncouth behaviour” at the residence of the US Ambassador by labeling such criticism, “racist and sexist”.
The party said that Teixeira’s attempt to do so is an insult to all women of all ethnicities.
The statement added that “coming from the PPP Government, it is just a spin and distraction from their exploitation of racism to procure back the support they are rapidly losing in all their strongholds.”
The AFC said that the ferocity with which the Minister has attempted to drag the dignity of Indian womanhood into ruckus over the defence of her “boorish behavior” discloses a depravity of mind too frequently displayed by the Government when purporting to speak on behalf of the Country.
The AFC stated that no woman; regardless of ethnicity, who aids and abets improprietiesý and illegalities must feel she is immune to criticism.

The opposition party, in a seemingly sincere attempt to guide the government officials along the right path, advised that “if Manickchand and Teixeira want to be taken seriously representing East Indian women or any woman, they should start by addressing the most dastardly abuse of our East Indian sister Varshnie Singh who was deceived into thinking she was married to Jagdeo (Former President.)  While they are at it, they ought to publicly clarify their role in that cruel hoax and comment on the mental and emotional abuse Varshnie Singh suffered at the hands of the man who, in her mind, was her husband but who threw her out after he had abused and misused her to his satisfaction.
The Party said that it will refrain from further comment on this matter.
When information was made public about the extent to which the then Head of State, Bharrat Jagdeo had reportedly ill-treated his wife, Kaieteur News had sought comments on the issue from both Manickchand and Teixeira, both of whom refused to give any. At the time, Manickchand was the Minister of Human Services and Social Security, a portfolio that demanded her protection of all victims of abuse, particularly women.
Manickchand, on July 2, launched into an attack on US Ambassador, Dr. D. Brent Hardt. And for her efforts she was soundly booed by the invitees.

The occasion was the observance of America’s 238th anniversary of its independence.  Just two days earlier, Ambassador Hardt, addressing a youth forum called Blue Caps, was critical of the Guyana Government for its failure to hold Local Government elections.
This so rankled the ruling People’s Progressive Party that it had earlier in the day issued a statement that chided Ambassador Hardt for meddling in the internal affairs of a sovereign government. Minister Manickchand extended the criticism at the envoy’s home.

Dat is how you hold a woman, tight, tight.

The KFC are made up of JACKASSES. What they are saying is women are not important, that women must be treated as second class Citizens and subjected to abuse, because in their demented minds, there is no need for reform.  What a bunch of ASSES!!!!!!

Mits, Wan Gal Backball me last Friday and my cheeks still vibrating.  My respect for Bucktops has never been higher. I now know how they does feel.

Next time you should try and backball her.  Got to go now. Have a great day.

Gilly, does the AFC agrees when their supporters call Priya a fat, cow, pig and dankey?

Can Priya Sataira Devi twerk or backball?

There is no good in you. The same way I leave you yesterday is the same way I meet you today. My mother was also fat, Mitwah. I have three fat sisters.

Gilly, does the AFC agrees when their supporters call Priya a fat, cow, pig and dankey?

There is no good in you. The same way I leave you yesterday is the same way I meet you today. My mother was also fat, Mitwah. I have three fat sisters.

maybe there were not fat and rude 

Cobs, I'm not officially an AFC member yet. I'm not in a position to say whether or not it agrees. Personally, I don't agree.

Gilbaka, You should change your name to Peryah!!!!!!!!!

Peryah? Wha da bai?

You mom and sisters are full of grace and charm. These qualities come naturally. They are cultured and would not be so uncouth, uncivil or discourteous to insult anyone in their own home. This has not nothing to do with one being fat.

Please give me a head up when you settle on your dream team. BTW, I know you wouldn't agree with an individual matter. 

”The senior public servant said the women’s movement has not been defending Indian women like Acting Town Clerk, Carol Sooba; the Finance Minister’s wife, Gitanjali Singh and then Supreme Court Registrar, Sita Ramlall.Via a press statement released yesterday, the AFC said that it has noted the “lame” attempt by the Presidential Advisor on Governance to turn criticism of Manickchand’s “uncouth behaviour” 

The truth is the PPP prize hiefer got caught doing what she does best,( besides warming benches) scathing like a typical rash mouthed floozy.

Insisting she is Maha Lakshmi wont rehabilitate her. She is what she is. It is absolutely absurd to insist she represent the oppressed Guyanese Indian woman who are at their wits end due to the incompetence and crookedness of this regime. This is a typical PPP leech on the nations teat and no archetype of for my grand mother. Ingratiating herself as the typical Indian woman insults Indian women.

BTW the list of ladies mentioned are not "oppressed" either. One is a PPP plant intend to harass the city council ( instead of holding elections) The other represent a glaring conflict of interest clear to all except this corrupt regime....