Bollywood superstar Shah Rukh Khan detained at US airport for third time

August 12, 2016 9:37 am Category: Entertainment A+ / A-

(CNN)  Bollywood superstar Shah Rukh Khan has been detained by US immigration authorities for the third time, prompting allegations of racial profiling.

Indian actor and TV personality Khan, 50, took to Twitter to express his dismay.
“I fully understand & respect security with the way the world is, but to be detained at US immigration every damn time really really sucks,” Khan wrote on Twitter.
His comment had been retweeted more than 7,000 times and favourited more than 12,000 times by Friday morning, US time.

Shah Rukh Khan

Khan has a huge fanbase in Asia and among the Indian diaspora.

Known as the “King of Bollywood,” he began his career in television before rising to prominence in Bollywood by playing everything from a hockey coach to an alcoholic in hit film Devdas (2002). He has been called one of the most successful film actors in the world.
As news of Khan’s third detention in the U.S broke in India, his fans took to social media under the hashtag #ShahRukhKhan to vent their frustrations.

Back in 2012, Khan was detained at New York”s White Plains Airport for two hours after arriving from India. In 2009, he was stopped by immigration officials at Newark Liberty International airport in New Jersey as his name appeared on a U.S no-fly list that is 80,000 strong. US customs officials said Khan’s questioning was part of a routine process.

In 2009, Khan’s detention caused consternation in India, with Aviation Minister Praful Patel telling reporters: “We will take the issue with the United States government strongly. Such incidents involving Indians due to their religion or nationality should not happen … we will not accept it.”

Khan is just one of several Indian celebrities and officials who have been singled out at US airports in recent years.
In 2009, Bollywood actor Neil Nitin Mukesh was detained at New York airport, and in 2003, the then Indian Defense Minister George Fernandes was strip-searched  in Washington Dulles International Airport.

We have our local terrorist from Guyana that get stopped regularly at JFK. Where is Sheik and his Junior? I heard he was harassed again recently for being on the no fly list. 

Bhai Sheik does voluntarily ask foe a Pat down.

Neil Nitin Mukesh was detained at New York airport, and in 2003, the then Indian Defense Minister George Fernandes was strip-searched  in Washington Dulles International Airport.

Them betta pray for Donald Trump. 

Shah Rukh Khan is no different than others who get detained/searched at  airports.

He needs to cooperate with the authorities.

DG, I have to disagree with you. Mr Shah Rukh Khan is no ordinary Citizen of the World. The DUMB immigration Officers need to pay attention to the World!!

Shah Rukh Khan is no different than others who get detained/searched at  airports.

He needs to cooperate with the authorities.

DG, I have to disagree with you. Mr Shah Rukh Khan is no ordinary Citizen of the World. The DUMB immigration Officers need to pay attention to the World!!

You rass. Immigration have to deal with millions of incoming/out going passenger from endless countries daily. I know this first hand. Immigration officers has to follow protocol. Their job can be frustrated at times. They are not fans of Bollywood to know who is SRK. Even in Guyana, immigration didn't recognize the tiger, Chanderpaul. 

Nehru, Shah Rukh Khan is no different from anyone else.

Of note also, he is no different from the numerous individuals who simply proceed on their way after such searches.

Bhai, there is a pattern against Mr Shah Rukh Khan and this pattern is ONLY because of the name KHAN!!!

Of note also, he is no different from the numerous individuals who simply proceed on their way after such searches.

Bhai, there is a pattern against Mr Shah Rukh Khan and this pattern is ONLY because of the name KHAN!!!

What the difference between SRK and our resident, Sheik101? 

I will stifle my conscience and say that I sympathize with Sheik and not so much for your hero, SRK. 

I was in India last October and the same time was Sharukh's 50th birthday. He was on TV on his birthday night and he went at length to explain the difficulty he is having as an Indian Muslim and  the constant questioning of his faith and his nationality. 

Some of the hard line Indian Hindus are even saying that he belongs to Pakistan.

I was in India last October and the same time was Sharukh's 50th birthday. He was on TV on his birthday night and he went at length to explain the difficulty he is having as an Indian Muslim and  the constant questioning of his faith and his nationality. 

Some of the hard line Indian Hindus are even saying that he belongs to Pakistan.

The innocent are paying for the guilty, Chief. This will continue until the rotten one are completely exterminated. Every country has rules and regulation. When America follow its rules, everybody complains about it. When American women goes to Saudi Arabia, they must cover their heads and no body complains. We have to be logic at time in these arguments.

Shahruhk Khan is not above the law and is subject to the laws on the United States when visiting. He can stay in India if he so chooses to do so.

I used to big fan of this chap until he made some dirty comments criticizing India. His anti India comments stirred up criticism across India. Indos are boycotting his films in India.

They should strip search him everytime he visits USA and Canada.

Who the hell does he think he is ? His ego got the better of him.

Americans get harassed the same way in India at the airports, we need a visa to go there or they deport us!    If he comes here he has to abide by our laws.  Good actor, but has a bad attitude towards common people.

Pointblank posted:

I am surprise that Prince did not call him a terrorist to him all are .

MOST LIKELY BECAUSE YOU ARE NOT FIT TO EAT SHIT FROM MR KHAN FOOT BOTTOM!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Oi man, what the fk is it with you other than constantly proving the f kn Id10t you are? The admin should give your dumb sk4nt time out and give these posters a break from your constant bombardment of your horse shit posts.

Pointblank posted:

I am surprise that Prince did not call him a terrorist to him all are .

MOST LIKELY BECAUSE YOU ARE NOT FIT TO EAT SHIT FROM MR KHAN FOOT BOTTOM!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Oi man, what the fk is it with you other than constantly proving the f kn Id10t you are? The admin should give your dumb sk4nt time out and give these posters a break from your constant horse shit posts.

Hey You Dumb Jackass is wan good slap yuh want from Uncle Nehru. Bloody illiterate IDIOT!! Speak English you Backdam IDIOT!!!!!!!