West Indies should recall Chanderpaul

Dear Editor,

West Indies, on tour in Australia for a three-test series, is without its most prolific run scorer Shivnarine Chanderpaul, who has been left out of the team because of underperformance. Yet, almost all the others on tour have performed worse than Chanderpaul in recent matches. The team lost its two warm-up games performing badly and the test performance is not expected to be any better. If Chanderpaul were with the team, he would have strengthened the middle order and be a psychological boost to the youngsters to stand up and bat rather than cave in meekly. In addition, his presence would have put fear in opponents troubling them to make various errors to benefit WIndies players bowling and batting. Chanderpaul should be immediately recalled to the team to give it a chance down under.

In a news report in the Australian media, Cricket Australia has lamented the weak team touring Australia and absence of star player Chanderpaul on the squad for the three test matches. The name Shivnarine Chanderpal, popularly called Tiger or Chanders, has reverberated in ears of cricket lovers for over 20 years.

The current team on tour is one of the weakest to tour Down Under with no player having any reputation to trouble the Aussies or stand up strongly to their pace attack. Only Chanderpaul has the reputation to stand up to Australia; he has consistently done it time and again during several tours Down Under as well as in the West Indies.

But this is not to be as Clive Lloyd and West Indies management has decided to prematurely end Chander’s career. He wanted one more chance to end his career and pleaded for it. But Lloyd and his selectors said no; they don’t want Chanderpaul to break Brian Lara’s record as the highest run getter. It can’t be that he is not in the squad because of poor performance; no one else in the team has performed. He has a greater reputation than the entire team combined.

Attendance at the warm-up game against the Australia President’s eleven was very low and the match ended early with WIndies defeated by 10 wickets. Attendance will not improve by much in the tests without a star attraction to bring in the spectators.

Virtually no cricket analyst gives the WIndies any hope of winning during the tour and the team has started on a losing note. WIndies has not won a series in Australia since 1992. The WIndies have been completely written off even before a ball has been bowled. It is felt that if Chanderpaul were on the team, he would have provided strength to the middle order and psychological support to the team.

Chanderpaul is a revenue earner for West Indies and world cricket. He brings money to the game (with sponsorship, ads, viewership, attendance, etc) to WIndies and to Australia and broadcasters in general. The fact that he is so close to breaking Brian Lara’s record means spectators would come to the matches or watch him bat on TV – good for travel business, hotels, etc. In addition, people would have tuned in to see if Chanders breaks the record. But Lloyd and his bunch of incompetent prejudicial selectors are not concerned about revenues via attendance or sponsorship. They just want to deny Chanders the glory of breaking the world record.

West Indies fortunes are declining. The board is virtually bankrupt. It needs money. The team and the world need the Chanders brand to romp up revenues. His contribution to West Indies cricket isn’t over in terms of revenues; sports clubs vie for his presence in Dubai and England. He has earned the right to say goodbye to international tours in a decent way. Chanders should be recalled for a farewell tour of Australia to allow him to say goodbye to fans and cricket colleagues.

Yours faithfully

Vishnu Bisram

THOSE SELECTORS SHOULD NOW HANG THEIR HEAD IN SHAME, AS THEY HAVE REDUCED THE WEST INDIES CRICKET TO THE LOWEST OF THE LOW:

IS THERE ANY TEAM IN THE WORLD THAT THIS ANTIMAN TEAM CAN WIN? OR BEAT?

THE LADIES CRICKET TEAM IN  THE WEST INDIES COULD HAVE DONE BETTER

ASJ

They are not going to bring back Chanderpaul.

Racism in WI cricket is also at play as talented Indo cricketers are pushed aside in favour Afro cricketers.

WI cricket needs to address the issue of race in their cricket policies.

ASJ

They are not going to bring back Chanderpaul.

Racism in WI cricket is also at play as talented Indo cricketers are pushed aside in favour Afro cricketers.

WI cricket needs to address the issue of race in their cricket policies.

That has been noticed throughout the years, West Indies Cricket has been in a shameful situation for the longest while.........I personally think that it is time that The West Indies Team as a Nation should be disbanded, and lets play as a separate country entity.

Only way to get rid of  these bums that have been governing the body for the longest while.

This will hurt them and maybe try for improvement, it is either they get it, or they do not.

"Chanderpaul is a revenue earner for West Indies and world cricket. He brings money to the game (with sponsorship, ads, viewership, attendance, etc) to WIndies and to Australia and broadcasters in general. The fact that he is so close to breaking Brian Lara’s record means spectators would come to the matches or watch him bat on TV – good for travel business, hotels, etc. In addition, people would have tuned in to see if Chanders breaks the record."

If you have seen Shiv bat recently...he is done! In terms of revenue earner, I'll prefer see a man make 20 runs in 2 overs vs 1 run in 30 balls.

This is not about race (as some bigots think), right now...there is no one lighting up the scene in WIndies cricket.

They need a 5 year break from Test cricket

Shiv can't even make 20 playing for Guyana. He's competing at the right level now, retirees' league in Dubai.

W.I. is pathetic but Shiv is not the answer.

Look at dem bhais celebrating black man getting beat up

RiffRaff posted:

If you have seen Shiv bat recently...he is done! In terms of revenue earner, I'll prefer see a man make 20 runs in 2 overs vs 1 run in 30 balls.

This is not about race (as some bigots think), right now...there is no one lighting up the scene in WIndies cricket.

Shiv is done. The problem with WI Cricket is with the Management. A bunch of JACKASSES mostly running things. The Players Union is compromise by a stupid Jamaican.  I dont even realize WI playing Cricket.  I have not follow them for about 18 months now!!!

RiffRaff posted:

Shiv is done. The problem with WI Cricket is with the Management. A bunch of JACKASSES mostly running things. The Players Union is compromise by a stupid Jamaican.  I dont even realize WI playing Cricket.  I have not follow them for about 18 months now!!!

Bhai

I still watch WI play but it is very painful to watch.

The countries that refer to themselves as the West Indies normally would play regional cricket, and from the outcome of those matches played, the selectors were supposed to select the best of lot, but they have deviated from that process and we have seen that they have selected persons based on their racial thinking, that these person will shine.
It is not happening, so is time now that we break up the Selectors Baby Party..........I say lets disband The West Indies as we have come to know it, and let the Countries play their own cricket.
The West Indies as is right now, is a shameless pack of dummies galavanting as cricketers. It is time that we pull the strings on their sorry asses.

ASJ, Nehru, yugee and the shameless Baal worshipper seignet are certified barefoot tribals who view WI cricket as supportable only as an Indo starbai vehicle

i wish these racist primitives all the bad fortune they so richly deserve

the less said about race baiter, con man, liar and ideologue Vishnu Bisram the better . . . i'd bet money he is a member of the ignar bigot cohort posting here

redux posted:

ASJ, Nehru, yugee and the shameless Baal worshipper seignet are certified barefoot tribals who view WI cricket as supportable only as an Indo starbai vehicle

the less said about race baiter, con man, liar and ideologue Vishnu Bisram the better . . . i'd bet money he is a member of the ignar bigot cohort posting here

Well, I have not seen anything more IGNORANT, ILLITERATE and STUPID!!!  And I am being very kind and civilized.

redux posted:

ASJ, Nehru, yugee and the shameless Baal worshipper seignet are certified barefoot tribals who view WI cricket supportable only as an Indo starbai vehicle

Well, I have not seen anything more IGNORANT, ILLITERATE and STUPID!!!  . . .

indeed! it's a significant breakthrough that i am now able to lead a woeful skont like u down the path of meaningful self-criticism

Shiv can't even make 20 playing for Guyana. He's competing at the right level now, retirees' league in Dubai.

W.I. is pathetic but Shiv is not the answer.

Look at dem bhais celebrating black man getting beat up

Actually I would love to see WI Cricket's black man beat up the rest of the world. Like they did in the 70's and early 80's.

redux posted:

ASJ, Nehru, yugee and the shameless Baal worshipper seignet are certified barefoot tribals who view WI cricket supportable only as an Indo starbai vehicle

indeed! it's a significant breakthrough that i am now able to lead a woeful skont like u down the path of meaningful self-criticism

YOU ARE THE BIGGEST, NASTIEST SKONT ON THE PLANET. YOU WILL HAVE A BREAKTHROUGH WHEN YUH ABLE TO PULL YUH HEAD OUT OF YUH KAKAHOLE!!!!!!!!!!!

redux posted:

YOU ARE THE BIGGEST, NASTIEST SKONT ON THE PLANET. YOU WILL HAVE A BREAKTHROUGH WHEN YUH ABLE TO PULL YUH HEAD OUT OF YUH KAKAHOLE!!!!!!!!!!!

shhhhhhhhhhhhhhh . . . screaming only makes people point at your nakedness and steer their children away from your general direction