Tobago gets billionaire visit

TRINIDAD EXPRESS --- THE Emir of Qatar, Sheikh Hamad bin Khalifa Al Thani, is in Tobago on a visit.

The billionaire sheikh was expected to arrive on Thursday, and his luxury super yacht “Katara” is already docked at the Scarborough port.

Sheikh Al Thani visits Tobago annually and usually stays on his yacht, built at a cost of TT1.8 billion and the 14 largest in the world.

At 124 metres in length, is almost 30 metres longer than the fast ferries TT Express and TT Spirit.

Sheikh Al Thani is the eighth and current Emir of the State of Qatar, and the youngest reigning monarch among the Gulf Corporation Council (GCC) countries.

The British-educated Sheikh Hamad bin Al Thani was named emir of Qatar, one of the richest countries in the world in June 2013 after his 61-year-old father, Sheikh Hamad bin Khalifa Al Thani, announced his abdication as leader of the gas-rich Gulf state.

He is said to be worth over $39 billion.

It is uncertain if the Sheikh will need to leave his floating palace for a guest room in any of the islands’ hotels, since the yacht would probably be more luxurious than anything Tobago has to offer.

Originally Posted by ksazma:

Wha yuh tink bout dis bai, Kaz? He got a harem in da yacht?

If I had a yacht like that, I would certainly have a harem on it.

That guy has a billion reasons to say Allah-o-Akbar.

Originally Posted by ksazma:

Wha yuh tink bout dis bai, Kaz? He got a harem in da yacht?

If I had a yacht like that, I would certainly have a harem on it.

That guy has a billion reasons to say Allah-o-Akbar.

A billion and some

Originally Posted by Red Wine:

Can we test the sincerity of Guyanese to leave that yacht in Georgetown harbor for one night without anyone watching it? 

Dem guys would be paddling that big ass canoe back to Qatar.