Amral posted:

Bingo on #4 Zed. That's my problem

Move with the flow, bossman. This time na lang time.

My wife keeps telling me that the image I have of Guyana is long gone. I left in 83. She used to come on vacations and moved here permanently in 2001. I still believe that some of it can be recouped. Your dreams are one thing that no one can take away from you.

Zed posted:

Some of the mistakes many make are

1. They think that they will find the same level of comfort, facilities, etc here in Guyana as they have abroad, ie. America or Canada in Guyana.

2. The have grown, sometimes, they have outgrown Guyana. They have difficulty fitting back in here.

3. Many think that the Guyana that exist in their minds is congruent with the reality. 

4. Thinking that they can recreate the experiences, emotions and feeling they had growing up in Guyana.

5. That money buys or cements loyalty, friendship, love, commitment, etc.

6. That the experience and qualifications/knowledge that you might have and want to make available freely to help the country is valued, is accepted. 

I guess that your dad never made it to Guyana. Too bad.

Prior to returning, I kept saying that I wanted to return, but there was always a reason to postpone it. I know of many who wanted to and kept postponing it. Eventually, I said to heck with all the excuses and moved back here. Did not regret it, thought at times it can be frustrating.

Those are some excellent points especially 1, 4 and 6. Unfortunately dad never made it back. He has a 3 year old grandson now though and who knows what the future holds. I'd at least like him to know his rich and diverse heritage. That racist label really angered me because I have always touted the fact that we Guyanese are diverse. Personally I thank my forefathers for taking that chance to leave India. An Indian chap here told me I didn't like Indians. I don't like the Indians who move to my country and treat my countrymen like second class citizens. Move back to your slums and see if you can live the same lifestyle.  I have seen it numerous times. Mostly by Indian doctors and diplomats. Not all of them mind you. They treat the poor people like dirt. Anyway, I digressed. I still believe as did my father that Guyana, politics removed, is the greatest place in the world.

Zed posted:

Some of the mistakes many make are

1. They think that they will find the same level of comfort, facilities, etc here in Guyana as they have abroad, ie. America or Canada in Guyana.

2. The have grown, sometimes, they have outgrown Guyana. They have difficulty fitting back in here.

3. Many think that the Guyana that exist in their minds is congruent with the reality. 

4. Thinking that they can recreate the experiences, emotions and feeling they had growing up in Guyana.

5. That money buys or cements loyalty, friendship, love, commitment, etc.

6. That the experience and qualifications/knowledge that you might have and want to make available freely to help the country is valued, is accepted. 

I guess that your dad never made it to Guyana. Too bad.

Prior to returning, I kept saying that I wanted to return, but there was always a reason to postpone it. I know of many who wanted to and kept postponing it. Eventually, I said to heck with all the excuses and moved back here. Did not regret it, thought at times it can be frustrating.

Those are some excellent points especially 1, 4 and 6. Unfortunately dad never made it back. He has a 3 year old grandson now though and who knows what the future holds. I'd at least like him to know his rich and diverse heritage. That racist label really angered me because I have always touted the fact that we Guyanese are diverse.Personally I thank my forefathers for taking that chance to leave India. An Indian chap here told me I didn't like Indians. I don't like the Indians who move to my country and treat my countrymen like second class citizens. Move back to your slums and see if you can live the same lifestyle.  I have seen it numerous times. Mostly by Indian doctors and diplomats. Not all of them mind you. They treat the poor people like dirt. Anyway, I digressed. I still believe as did my father that Guyana, politics removed, is the greatest place in the world.

Damn i thought i am the only one in the boat.

I conform with your statement,as the saying goes "we can shake hand"

Many romanticize about Guyana, until Granger sends his angels to rob and kill. I know of several remigrants who were murdered there, either via robbery or family feud gone bad. 

Its amazing how you can blame blacks even when Indos kill their own relatives.

Blacks damage that fella psyche.

There is a saying that goes like this: "anyway blackman deh, trouble ah follow dem"...

Many romanticize about Guyana, until Granger sends his angels to rob and kill. I know of several remigrants who were murdered there, either via robbery or family feud gone bad. 

Its amazing how you can blame blacks even when Indos kill their own relatives.

Where did I mention Blacks? You are so fixated on racism that now you are seeing jumbie.