Shortage of foreign currency leads to

higher exchange rates – Cambios

March 2, 2014 | By | Filed Under News

With Guyana failing to submit a report by its Friday last deadline to the Caribbean Financial Action Task Force (CFATF), many of the local Cambios have expressed their concerns as to how the implications of that action will further affect their businesses and customers as well. Prior to failing the deadline, Guyana had landed itself on the CFATF’s regional blacklist as a result of missing initial deadlines. Since Guyana’s blacklisted status, Cambios and other financial institutions have being experiencing the effects of the Anti Money Laundering dilemma.

Shadow Minister of Finance, Carl Greenidge

Further, cambios such as A&N Sarjoo Cambio, L. Mohabeer & Son, Mohamed’s Enterprise, Sookraj Cambio and Swiss House Cambio have complained about the “sudden shortage of foreign currency.” A representative of L.Mohabeer & Son’s Cambio said, “There is a shortage of foreign currency. As a result of that, we are now selling the US dollar at $210. “The exchange rates fluctuate for different reasons but this is happening because of the Anti-money Laundering situation. Cambios are being made to feel the squeeze. Our customers with whom we conduct large transactions were cut by 50 percent. “And our biggest clients have eased as they now prefer to do wire transfers which are cheaper.” Another representative of Sookraj Cambio said that the cambio has been affected since its biggest customers are now turning to wire transfers. “With the shortage of foreign currency, we had no choice but to increase the rates. We had the US dollar selling at $205, now we had to increase to $210. If this continues, the rates will go up.” Nazar Mohamed of Mohamed’s Enterprise while agreeing with his counterparts, said, “There is a lot of uncertainty with regard to the implications that will follow now that we have missed the last deadline and with the shortage of foreign currency and coupled with losing customers to wire transfer system, there will be more effects on our own businesses. Prices will certainly increase.” While some cambio owners may firmly believe that the current shortage of foreign currency is directly linked to the anti money laundering situation, Financial Analyst, Ramon Gaskin, based on his research does not agree. Gaskin does not dispute that there is a shortage of foreign currency but he stressed that it is as a result of the foreign earners being unable to fulfill their role. “The exchange rates have gone up by seven percent since the beginning of the year. In addition, the currency is depreciating versus the US dollar. This means that you have to pay more Guyana dollars to get the foreign currency. “This also means that the cost of imports will go up; in short there will be ripple effects.  But the shortage of currency is because of the poor production of sugar and gold prices dropping.” He added, “It is also because of the failure of BOSAI and RUSAL to honour payment arrangements as it relates to the bauxite they extract. The fact that the bulk of our rice is being bartered with Venezuela is also a contributing factor. “Our foreigners exchange earners are not being able to get this done. The country is not earning as much as it should.” Also supporting Gaskin’s comments was A Partnership for National Unity’s Shadow Minister of Finance, Mr. Carl Greenidge. The former Minister of Finance asserted that while there is a shortage in the foreign currency, it is as a result of the fall in gold prices and not because the report on the Anti Money Laundering and Countering the Financing of Terrorism Bill was not submitted on February 28. “It has nothing to do with the AML Bill not being passed. When the bill is passed the government will be forced to implement it and that is when we will actually see problems. “Whatever hiccups we have now it is not because of anti money laundering.”

Wait until there is no Forex to import fuel, then The Corrupt PPP/C asses will be really locked in vice grip.

We are not seeing anything now, as the bite is taking effect very slowly, in another three to six months, who knows what happens?

Originally Posted by asj:

Wait until there is no Forex to import fuel, then The Corrupt PPP/C asses will be really locked in vice grip.

We are not seeing anything now, as the bite is taking effect very slowly, in another three to six months, who knows what happens?

People are still going to live a lot better than under the PNC. At least they will get food.

FX is KING in small banana republics like Guyana.  Stop deluding yourself SKELDON MAN.

Steeeewps!

Guyanese are resourceful people. They survived 28 years of near starvation.

FX is KING in small banana republics like Guyana.  Stop deluding yourself SKELDON MAN.

Steeeewps!

Your constant dhall ghotaying qualifies you as being delusional.

The PPP should be constantly reminding the Guyanese public that fluctuation in the Guyana dollar is due to the PNC/AFC blocking the anti money laundering bill and the subsequent sanctions on financial transactions. There is a real cost to the afc/pnc actions in parliament. The opposition have been telling the public that there is no cost, but now we see the truth.

That is what they will do. Opposition ask fuh this one.

When all is said and done with, remains that the Corrupt PPP/C are the Capitano and chief mate of the ship, and should this ship sink, it is not fair to blame Grainger and Ramjhattan.

Only someone with a warped mindset will resort to that.

When all is said and done with, remains that the Corrupt PPP/C are the Capitano and chief mate of the ship, and should this ship sink, it is not fair to blame Grainger and Ramjhattan.

De question is weather de people will buy the lies. When people pocket hurt they will blame others. PPP cyan blame others for the shit they pass.

Originally Posted by Kapadilla:

De question is weather de people will buy the lies. When people pocket hurt they will blame others. PPP cyan blame others for the shit they pass.

kapadilla, i hope u are not recommending that the AFC fold dey tent and capitulate to the PPP criminal gang because of messaging problems

need i remind u that Public Procurement lawlessness is an important plank of money laundering criminality in Guyana

Guyana needs to guard against some headwinds that are on the horizon - the Petroleum Agreement involving swapping of rice, gold prices declining from historic heights, as well as the debt repayment aging that may not give it room with hard currency.

One would expect the economic planners to have a strategic vision for bridging the foreign exchange receipts/payments gap. Sugar and bauxite revenues are not as strategic as they once used to be. The infrastructure of fisheries and timber gives some leeway, but energy production (hydro and petroleum discoveries) are in the future.

The domestic sector hasn't been doing too badly (housing, electronic retailing, etc.), but it is the external sector that nees top be under the scope now. The internal sector's inequality does not help.

People are still going to live a lot better than under the PNC. At least they will get food.

Yes they will get food, thanks to the Hoyte Economic Recovery Programme which the Corrupt PPP/C stole and put into effect, as these dunces cannot do anythng on their own to put Guyana above the poorest in the world. They had over twenty something years to make Guyana a wee bit better, and what we have seen.......today Guyanese are still earning slave wages.

Originally Posted by Kapadilla:

kapadilla, i hope u are not recommending that the AFC fold dey tent and capitulate to the PPP criminal gang because of messaging problems

need i remind u that Public Procurement lawlessness is an important plank of money laundering criminality in Guyana

AFC is a pack a jokers bai. Dem in ready yet.