With all the talk about developments and new capital, deep water harbors for shipping and oil exploration, do you think prostitution should be legalized? At this present time, Guyana has attracted Spanish, Brazilians, Russian and other clean cut women who are sex workers offering their body for profit. With free trade and movements encourages a flow of women who wish to carry out the age-old sex trade from country to country. Legalizing the trade and make sex workers pass a medical examination and pay tax on their income is good for the country, the men and the economy. Are there any objections to this proposal?

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

Yeah! the City should setup a 42nd Street in G/town.  It can be a source of revenue for town council.

Sex workers are all over Georgetown and every city in the world. If you can't get rid of it you might as well find a decent solution and keep it. Sex workers are important assets to the people they served.

India’s ‘prostitutes of God’

An ancient tradition which sees girls dedicated to a lifetime of 'religious prostitution' has become a big business on the streets of southern India. Sarah Harris, who spent two years uncovering the practice, explains what it means to be a devadasi in the twenty-first century.

Devadasi in Karnataka

Image 1 of 2
Devadasi in Karnataka

Who would support these Devadasis?  It's our ancestors after all.

In Sin City, Nevada, male sex workers fight for equal right and won. Both sexes are free to provide their services without discrimination. If we were to legalized prostitution for women in Guyana, we have to be considerate to women who would like to pay for sexual services with no strings attached. Equal right is a bitch when you think of it.  

Most societies are aware and know that the sex trade is old and here to stay no matter what however, centuries of religious condemnation makes it very difficult for pions to deal with the fact it is here to stay. As I said before drugs and prostitution should be legalized , regulated and taxed . It will remove the criminals elements from it , reduce sexually transmitted diseases and bring some order to the chaos it presently fosters. Problem with most people is they are delusional and enjoy self delusion.It is not a question of morality it is a question of creating order within a society . Yes Holland has achieved it and so can others but it requires open dialogue on the subject and we all know Guyanese are so backward in their mindsets they will prefer to stick their heads in the sand as they do politics .

Illegal or legal , moral or immoral , the industry survives so instead of being delusional simply legalize it . The other day Cuomo decided to review the marijuana laws and reduce possession of small quantities to misdemeanor against doing jail time. Instead of spending tax dollars of things you cannot stop why not spend it on changing it so that it become legal , regulated and taxable. Then spend the dollars on issues which affect and impact society more directly on a daily baises .

Control it like in Holland.  Special zone, Lumbard Street.

Did someone say Lumbard Street?

All you old people really old!!!

Lombard street was way back int eh 60's and 70's.

The Red Light District right now is Sherrif Street. 

Were you a guest at Gaurmont on one or more ocassions?

Control it like in Holland.  Special zone, Lumbard Street.

Did someone say Lumbard Street?

All you old people really old!!!

Lombard street was way back int eh 60's and 70's.

The Red Light District right now is Sherrif Street. 

Oooye, yuh bak bai, like yuh recova.  Wenn yuh come donk hay, leh mi know, mi gah wan nice fatt black homan pon Sherrif fuh yuh, shi guh mek yuh fugget yuh prablims up deh.

Iman not fussy, I like mine anyway. Sideways upside, whatever works.

I doan like too much commercial neither I does like nice slow wine type music.

Tru deh bai, bu commerical, yuh leff am rite deh an goa yuh way.  Non-commercial, dem a falla yuh an ah look fuh yuh.  Sometime yuh dozz get stick up laka daag.