Public service workers to receive another 5 percent wage/salary

November 30, 2014 | By | Filed Under News 

Public servants can expect another five percent increase on wages and salaries as

Last year’s public service protested lasted until the Christmas holiday stepped in.

the Office of the President has announced their intent to give increases of five to eight percent.
More than 20,000 public workers and members of the Disciplined Forces will receive the increases as at December 31, last year and retroactive January 1, 2014 a public missive from the President’s office mentioned.
The release stated, “In keeping with the Government of Guyana’s commitment to provide these increases, Public Servants and Members of the Disciplined Forces earning above $50,000 monthly wages and salaries as of December 31, 2013 are being granted an across the board increase of five percent.
“Those earning less than $50,000 monthly as at December 31, 2013 would be receiving eight percent across the board increase, retroactive to January 1, 2014.”
The notice continued that additionally, “teachers earning less than $50,000 monthly as at December 31, 2013 are being granted an additional three percent across the board increase, on top of the five percent increase already paid to them in keeping with the multi-year agreement concluded with their Union, bringing their total increase to eight percent  retroactive to January 1, 2014.”
It was stated that circulars have already been issued to effect the payment of these increases on the wages and salaries for 2014.
Around this time last year, public servants had mounted countrywide protests against the usual five percent wage and salaries increase imposed on the public workers. The unusually ineffective Guyana Public Service Union (GPSU) has for years been complaining against the government bypassing negotiations and going ahead to public workers meager increases.
Public workers from many of state agencies had downed their tools and demanded more from the government who remained unmoved by the massive demonstrations.
Around this time last year, the GPSU had also demanded a paper trail of the monies allocated for public servants’ increases, but that never manifested.
When it was raised in Parliament last year that more than $4B had been allocated for increases of public servants, but meager increases were being imposed on the workers, GPSU took action to request of the Government of Guyana pertinent details of expenditure under the Account Code entitled “Revision of Wages and Salaries” for which $4.4 billion were provided and from the Permanent Secretary, Public Service Ministry, for information related to the payment of all contract employees in the Public Service that are paid from allocations approved in the Estimates of the Public Sector-Current and Capital Revenue and Expenditure for 2013.”
GPSU is still to get that information.

Quote "GPSU took action to request of the Government of Guyana pertinent details of expenditure under the Account Code entitled “Revision of Wages and Salaries” for which $4.4 billion were provided and from the Permanent Secretary, Public Service Ministry.

Unto now the GPSU are still awaiting those figures.

4.4 Billion, one would believe that the Corrupt PPP/C has stolen quite a bit, reason why they cannot product the figures. 

Goa lead the protest nah!

it is ignorant bigots like u who see good for the tribe in every PPP evil who will park themselves permanently, safely, overseas as the race war y'all provoking and encouraging to maintain PPP power is unleashed

30% of public workers are Indian, where is the "race" component.  Civil Servants have certain job guarantee just like in any country.  5% to 8% in a 2% inflation environment is a real and generous increase.  This is not PNC voodoo economics bai.

sir, my observation has very little to do with the lil raise civil servants (of all races) are getting

it has everything to do with alyuh trying to frame all dissent as prelude to violent confrontation (between the races of course) . . . a scenario alyuh praying and hoping for since it herds Indo-Guyanese for a couple more generations into the 'protective' arms of the PPP mafiya

roger khan's playbook must be required reading now for y'all keyboard chatree 'warriors' in region 11

sir, my observation has very little to do with the lil raise civil servants (of all races) are getting

it has everything to do with alyuh trying to frame all dissent as prelude to violent confrontation (between the races of course) . . . a scenario alyuh praying and hoping for since it herds Indo-Guyanese for a couple more generations into the 'protective' arms of the PPP mafiya

roger khan's playbook must be required reading now for y'all keyboard chatree 'warriors' in region 11

The antiman (times he would appears to be a woman on GNI) has his head damages when he hit it on concrete, so he is worst than people of the living dead, well to make it easy that he can understand........simply brain dead.

Originally Posted by asj:

The antiman (times he would appears to be a woman on GNI) has his head damages when he hit it on concrete, so he is worst than people of the living dead, well to make it easy that he can understand........simply brain dead.

ASJ, you need your Advil.

So what was the context of your reference to "bigots" and the "race war"?

check your 1st post . . . in "context" of course

5% to 8% in a 2% inflation environment is a real and generous increase.

When compared to other countries, this increase is commendable.

Ask any of the loud mouths here what increase in Salary they received, yuh gun hear LIES!!1

US_of_A for example ... there are talks for about 1% for 2015 as being exceptionally reasonable.

When compared to other countries, civil servants in Guyana are being paid slavery wages. They make on the average around G$50,000 per month which equates to US$250.00. So if they get a 5% increase they will now get US$262.50 per month. An 8% increase will put them at US$270 per month. That can just pay for a small rinky dinky apartment in GT. How will they eat, take care of kids and pay transportation to work when the cost of living is so high? Why do you think the police officers are collecting bribes every day? It's just to survive because that measly salary cannot mind anyone. 

US_of_A for example ... there are talks for about 1% for 2015 as being exceptionally reasonable.

Stewpidy, are civil servants in the USA making US$250 per month?

perhaps you two klowns should reflect on the 'great bump up' in standard of living a 5% increase on a base $200/month salary provides

i understand that the average policeman works for even less

u bleating, gonads challeged sheeple got the gall to compare this shyte to NA

smfh

While increases in salary have varying numbers, percentage is a familiar and common factor used to compare their status relative to countries.

No one uses percentage alone to compare and determine salaries. If that were the case, employers in North America would willingly pay their staff $250 every month and give them 5-8% increases at the end of the year. Can you compare the salary of a civil servant in Guyana relative to one in North America? You're a bigger buffoon than I thought.

While increases in salary have varying numbers, percentage is a familiar and common factor used to compare their status relative to countries.

5% of $200 is still $10 however u slice and cook it

do u know what it costs to put food on yuh fambly table, a roof over dey head and clothes on dey back in Guyana, eh?

and these are the upwardly mobile working classes we are talking about

look, g'wan daside u mealy mouthed, dribbling PPP tout

Originally Posted by Mars:

No one uses percentage alone to compare and determine salaries. If that were the case, employers in North America would willingly pay their staff $250 every month and give them 5-8% increases at the end of the year. Can you compare the salary of a civil servant in Guyana relative to one in North America? You're a bigger buffoon than I thought.

Buffoon is your first name. Answer the question and tell us how much increase you received rather than Babble your usual nonsense.

Continued immaterial explanations plus ramblings.

5% of $200 is still $10 however u slice and cook it

do u know what it costs to put food on yuh fambly table, a roof over dey head and clothes on dey back in Guyana, eh?

and these are the upwardly mobile working classes we are talking about

look, g'wan daside u mealy mouthed, dribbling PPP tout

Usual far-fetched ramblings with no relevance to the specific issue.

Buffoon is your first name. Answer the question and tell us how much increase you received rather than Babble your usual nonsense.

Percentage increase in salary means nothing without considering the base salary. I've never appeared on the cover of the Clarion after begging fuh mo money. 

Look at this demented ole goat talking about ramblings. When is the last time you made any sense here?

Within a few small steps, you quickly descend to your secure and permanent status of happily jabbering away with nonsense; totally devoid of substance to the focused issues.

You don't even have to take any steps. You sit in your shitty pampers and spew stinky crap all day on the forum like you do in real life. 

When compared to other countries, civil servants in Guyana are being paid slavery wages. They make on the average around G$50,000 per month which equates to US$250.00. So if they get a 5% increase they will now get US$262.50 per month. An 8% increase will put them at US$270 per month. That can just pay for a small rinky dinky apartment in GT. How will they eat, take care of kids and pay transportation to work when the cost of living is so high? Why do you think the police officers are collecting bribes every day? It's just to survive because that measly salary cannot mind anyone. 

$250 X 12 = $3,000 absolute value.  Purchasing Power Parity = 3.0 meaning  $9,000, solid average given the national GDP.

Regarding your other points, point taken, the GoG should do something to add value to the contributions of the Civil Servants.

$250 X 12 = $3,000 absolute value.  Purchasing Power Parity = 3.0 meaning  $9,000, solid average given the national GDP.

Regarding your other points, point taken, the GoG should do something to add value to the contributions of the Civil Servants.

sooooooo . . . and out of which one of your lower orifices did u pull the 3.0 PPP factor to nice up your 'statistics' herr baseman?

Thanks for the correction.

Absolute P/C GDP (2013) $1,337

PPP adjusted P/C GDP (2013) $6,342

PPP factor = 4.5

Average CS income $3,000

PPP Adjusted $13,500

http://www.tradingeconomics.co...a/gdp-per-capita-ppp

Not bad, but one would certainly like to see a bit more, don't we all.

World Bank Guyana GNI PPP for 2013 - $6550.00

http://data.worldbank.org/indicator/NY.GNP.PCAP.PP.CD

World Bank Guyana GNI (before PPP) for 2013 - $3750.00

http://data.worldbank.org/indicator/NY.GNP.PCAP.CD

Where did you 3.0 from for Guyana's PPP factor? The World Bank used 6550/3750 to calculate Guyana's GNI with PPP = 1.75

World Bank Guyana GNI PPP for 2013 - $6550.00

http://data.worldbank.org/indicator/NY.GNP.PCAP.PP.CD

World Bank Guyana GNI (before PPP) for 2013 - $3750.00

Where did you 3.0 from for Guyana's PPP factor? The World Bank used 6550/3750 to calculate Guyana's GNI with PPP = 1.75

Check out the link.  It's actually closer to 5, my mistake.

PPP factor = 4.5

Average CS income $3,000

PPP Adjusted $13,500

Guyana's GDP per capita is nowhere near $1337. It is almost 3 times that.

Don't shoot the messenger, check out the link.

PPP factor = 4.5

Average CS income $3,000

PPP Adjusted $13,500

Check the World Bank figures that I provided which relates to income and that is what we are discussing. The World Bank quotes the GNI before PPP as $3750.

And to think that in next door Suriname they earn about 2.5 times more for the same jobs. Guyanese are mugs! No wonder the PPP is doing all it can to cling on to power. The country must be haemorrhaging money into some PPP crooks accounts.

PPP factor = 4.5

Average CS income $3,000

PPP Adjusted $13,500

Unfortunately, the numbers at the website you provided are totally incorrect.

The World Bank quoted the Guyana 2013 GDP at $3.076 Billion and the population at 799,600. That gives us a GDP per capita (before PPP) of 3.076 billion/799600 = $3847. That's more in line with the World Bank's GNI per capita which they stated to be $3750.

http://data.worldbank.org/country/guyana

PPP factor = 4.5

Average CS income $3,000

PPP Adjusted $13,500

Unfortunately, the numbers at the website you provided are totally incorrect.

The World Bank quoted the Guyana 2013 GDP at $3.076 Billion and the population at 799,600. That gives us a GDP per capita (before PPP) of 3.076 billion/799600 = $3847. That's more in line with the World Bank's GNI per capita which they stated to be $3750.

http://data.worldbank.org/country/guyana

it is a well known fact to anyone with any kind of knowledge of its economy that Guyana's 2013 GDP was slightly over $US3 billion, with PPP adjusted GDP approx. US6.5 billion. Mars is correct!

redo de maths deh baseman bai

i look forward to u running your 'adjusted adjusted numbers' for our civil servants up the GNI flagpole when u step away from the Freedumb House crack pipe back on to terra firma

lol

However you cut it Guyanese are still the worst paid in the Eastern Caribbean.

This dunce (Herr Baseman aka anti man) had to (like I told him earlier on) that he took his fingers and pull it out of his ass