This suicide belt is a PPP/C stronghold. With every suicide, there is one less traditional vote for the inept PPP/Cabal. I travel these parts and I see the depression and loss of hope with the people. Men & some women turn to drinking to drown their frustrations and hopelessness. The young ones are more inclined to do drugs. There is a break down of the moral code in the country.

PPP puppets here don't want to hear that.

They are able to drink and have a nice time and you expect me to feel sorry for them?

You are probably able to drink and have a nice time.

According to Berbician Mitwah, those people drink "to drown their frustrations and hopelessness."

That's poppycock.

Nehru:

Like someone commented on the Article " If someone is going to kill themselves there is nothing you can do to stop them"

That's not true. You can do something. In Guyana,when we were growing up we could have gone to certain older heads in our villages for counselling or advice. These old folks were respected and considered wise. They have saved many lives and many homes from breaking up. That community type of culture has disappeared with exodus under the PPP/C. We have such a group in our temple here and guided by a professional Social Service Worker. I am certain many lives were saved thru the actions and intervention by these old and wise folks. We had a name for them. Do you recall that name?

I think the PPP caused Global Warming, Global Economic Meltdown and a TOTAL breakdown of the world's SOCIETY.

Skelly

Lots of people drink in Guyana to avoid thinking about their problems. A natural result is that they look like they "enjoying" themselves, but I don't think so...

many of these same people come to US and other countries and improve themselves...it's obvious they have the ability to improve themselves, just not the opportunity in Guyana

Nehru:

Like someone commented on the Article " If someone is going to kill themselves there is nothing you can do to stop them"

That's not true. You can do something. In Guyana,when we were growing up we could have gone to certain older heads in our villages for counselling or advice. These old folks were respected and considered wise. They have saved many lives and many homes from breaking up. That community type of culture has disappeared with exodus under the PPP/C. We have such a group in our temple here and guided by a professional Social Service Worker. I am certain many lives were saved thru the actions and intervention by these old and wise folks. We had a name for them. Do you recall that name?

I think the PPP caused Global Warming, Global Economic Meltdown and a TOTAL breakdown of the world's SOCIETY.

now yuh being idiotic

Nehru:

now yuh being idiotic

wHAT CAN i TELL YOU. cAN YOUR bUDDIES THINK OF ANYTHING THE ppp DID NOT CAUSE.

Skelly

Lots of people drink in Guyana to avoid thinking about their problems. A natural result is that they look like they "enjoying" themselves, but I don't think so...

many of these same people come to US and other countries and improve themselves...it's obvious they have the ability to improve themselves, just not the opportunity in Guyana

Riff, I agree. I have been going to Guyana frequently. I stayed mostly at Line Path. I have gone to Black Bush and other place along the Corentyne. The problem I see is not that people are finding it hard; they do not have priorities. I talk to some of them and they say 'ting haad man. But you know what, I see the same person running to the jewelry stand to buy expensive gold chains and bands. Where are their priorities? The same thing with some husbands. They get paid on Friday and instead of going home, they do 2 things..pay off their rum debts and head for the nearest bar. How can you have a normal family life when you don't care about the family?

Skelly

Riff, I agree. I have been going to Guyana frequently. I stayed mostly at Line Path. I have gone to Black Bush and other place along the Corentyne. The problem I see is not that people are finding it hard; they do not have priorities. I talk to some of them and they say 'ting haad man. But you know what, I see the same person running to the jewelry stand to buy expensive gold chains and bands. Where are their priorities? The same thing with some husbands. They get paid on Friday and instead of going home, they do 2 things..pay off their rum debts and head for the nearest bar. How can you have a normal family life when you don't care about the family?

Thank you Sir!!!

Nehru:

Nehru, I think the word is "Panchai".

Nehru:

mITS, dAT is ancient History. Dem youngsters would kill the Panchai before he opens his mouth. It is a totally different animal Bhai.

Nehru:

mITS, dAT is ancient History. Dem youngsters would kill the Panchai before he opens his mouth. It is a totally different animal Bhai.

How true! dem young bais want fuh dress up wid big big neck chain, wrist watch, Nike boots and nice jeans. They would do everything to get the gyal's attention. De prablem come wen de gyal seh 'Heh, who he, wah rass me go do wid he'? They run fuh de grammazone bakkle.

Nehru:

How true! dem young bais want fuh dress up wid big big neck chain, wrist watch, Nike boots and nice jeans. They would do everything to get the gyal's attention. De prablem come wen de gyal seh 'Heh, who he, wah rass me go do wid he'? They run fuh de grammazone bakkle.

So true! Both girls and guys don't know how to handle rejection.

I have a cousin who threatened suicide if she coudn't marry the guy she liked...even though another guy liked her. The other guy was better, but I guess he didn't want sex before marriage while the one she liked did...night before big engagement to the good guy, she ran away with the bad guy

SHe ended up marrying the one who like sex...she miserable nowadays

Nehru:

Mit's, this even happened in our time and it's still happening. One laugh in our time is that the guys would be all decked out in their best..watch, tetrex pants with sharp seam, long sleeve white shirt, cocnut oil running down their heads, NO SHOES! Their feet look like a coconut oil bottle.

Nehru:

Mit's, this even happened in our time and it's still happening. One laugh in our time is that the guys would be all decked out in their best..watch, tetrex pants with sharp seam, long sleeve white shirt, cocnut oil running down their heads, NO SHOES! Their feet look like a coconut oil bottle.

Some of them use to go places on Sundays to see "gyal" only to drink up free rum and eat Duck curry. Some of dem get ketch and a good beating too.

Last edited by Mitwah
Nehru:

Some of them use to go places on Sundays to see "gyal" only to drink up free rum and eat Duck curry. Some of dem get ketch and a good beating too.

Bai dah neva happen to me, but me know a couple ah dem.

what exactly are you carrying on about?

WHy attack the journalist? 

Because the PPP soup has drugs in it.

You are one of the biggest ass kisser and soup drinker on the Planet. Yuh always gat yuh nose up dem Politicians ass!!!

He hehe he .

Just have a little time to come and palava on GNI and here is I catch this fish with drugs in his belly.

what exactly are you carrying on about?

WHy attack the journalist? 

Because the PPP soup has drugs in it.

You are one of the biggest ass kisser and soup drinker on the Planet. Yuh always gat yuh nose up dem Politicians ass!!!

He hehe he .

Just have a little time to come and palava on GNI and here is I catch this fish with drugs in his belly.

HEHEHJE Funny like Rass. Dat Boy Chief can really talk Jokey story.

Nehru:

Bai dah neva happen to me, but me know a couple ah dem.

Nehru is a fast runner...

Two persons committed suicide today.. a male contractor hanged himself in Essequibo he and his wife were having problems.. today was the first court day.. 

A 16 year old drank poison and passed away too.. he had a relationship with a young teacher at the swami school on the west coast demerara.. apparently the Swami found out and embarrassed the youth in front of everyone, sent the teacher home and expelled him.. 

Nehru got a point bout this punani business

Riff are you saying Nehru is next in line?

HEHEHE Bhai. PUNANI fuh me is like coffee every marnin. Punani in the morning, Punani in the evening, even a lil quickie at lunch time from time to time.

Rapper Nehru.

Bhai, Punani is all you need to stay away from Gramazone.

HEHEHE Bhai. PUNANI fuh me is like coffee every marnin. Punani in the morning, Punani in the evening, even a lil quickie at lunch time from time to time.

Rapper Nehru.

Hear Nehru is new spokesman for Cialis

Rapper Nehru.

Ray, Imagine those fools in Guyana 16, 16, 20, 21 killing themselves fuh lil Punani.  I think they dont know how to SOOR Gal. Uncle Nehru should go there are give lessons in Sooring.  Waad Up Binney yuh looking like a hot ball ah fire, leh we go to DEmico House and eat some fry chicken nah"

Rapper Nehru.

Ray, Imagine those fools in Guyana 16, 16, 20, 21 killing themselves fuh lil Punani.  I think they dont know how to SOOR Gal. Uncle Nehru should go there are give lessons in Sooring.  Waad Up Binney yuh looking like a hot ball ah fire, leh we go to DEmico House and eat some fry chicken nah"

don't let MARS hear yuh talk bout fry chicken

Rapper Nehru.

Originally Posted by Mars:

Rapper Nehru.

Where's the watermelon?

Originally Posted by Mars:

Rapper Nehru.

Where's the watermelon?

They left it with the dhal and rice

Originally Posted by Chameli:
[]

What else can one expect when people lose hope in their country and the future? The PPP hacks love to lambast the 28-year PNC rule but total suicides during that period amount to a fraction of the number under PPP rule. Think about that.

Sir Bookstah, with all due respect...can you prove what you wrote?

Is there any documented reports?  I believe that the media and technology makes us able to keep track in present day.

As a teen in the 70's, i personally know 11 young ppl who drank malathion or gramagzone from 1972-1978 , 5 of whom were relatives plus 3 from same family (not related to me) and 2 more the yr i left guyana

Let the PPP publish the stats from Birth and Deaths Registrar.

Originally Posted by Chameli:
[]

What else can one expect when people lose hope in their country and the future? The PPP hacks love to lambast the 28-year PNC rule but total suicides during that period amount to a fraction of the number under PPP rule. Think about that.

Sir Bookstah, with all due respect...can you prove what you wrote?

Is there any documented reports?  I believe that the media and technology makes us able to keep track in present day.

As a teen in the 70's, i personally know 11 young ppl who drank malathion or gramagzone from 1972-1978 , 5 of whom were relatives plus 3 from same family (not related to me) and 2 more the yr i left guyana

Chameli, let's consider this matter carefully. The World Health Organization [WHO] has been issuing annual reports for decades. It is only during the past 6 years that Guyana's suicide rates have raised a red flag in WHO reports.

According to official figures in Guyana, there were 946 reported suicides from 2003 to 2007, a 4-year-period.

The latest WHO report, which I just consulted, says there were 277 suicides in the year 2012 alone.

WHO Director-General Dr Margaret Chan says "suicides are preventable." Dr Chan says "With timely and effective evidence-based interventions, treatment and support, both suicides and suicide attempts can be prevented."

IMO, Chameli, the government has a responsibility to provide the major share of interventions, treatment and support.

In Guyana, suicides are prevalent in Regions 2 and 6. Three conditions --- rural poverty, alcohol abuse, easy access to pesticides --- are contributory factors.

Now, read this from MedicalDaily.com: "In particular, the Pan American Health Organization estimates that 19 to 24 percent of the population in the Americas suffer from a mental disorder. In Guyana, this would translate to roughly 142,000 to 179,500 individuals in need of mental health services. However, that country retains less than five full-time psychiatrists, less than 300 beds in the National Psychiatric Hospital, and no day treatment or community residential facility. Is it any surprise, then, that Guyana has the highest rate of suicide in the world?"