Small child still begging at Anna Regina car park

August 31, 2013

Dear Editor,   

Another school term will commence shortly and disappointingly, as far as can be seen, a young child only about four years old, will still remain at the Anna Regina car park in Essequibo, instead of being in school. He does not seem to have gone to school despite two previous letters that I wrote approximately one year ago highlighting this. All through the rainy season he has remained at the park with his mentally challenged mother, incidentally the wife of the fallen policeman Richard Faikal, begging for almost six hours daily.  The only period he may not have been there was when the AnnaReginaMunicipality celebrated Town Day with three days of activities and the park had to be cleared for maintenance and the erection of stalls.

Surely, officials from the Ministry of Education and the Ministry of Labour must have seen the plight of this innocent child, yet there appears to be an unwillingness to intervene, despite their powers in relation to child abuse and child labour. This young boy is being ruthlessly denied an education and even more importantly an opportunity to play and enjoy the company of other kids, something that every child should enjoy. What will this child grow up to be when he cannot even comprehend basic questions and seems to be fearful of others, whenever an attempt is made to converse with him? He needs professional help and I am appealing to the relevant authorities to save this child from illiteracy and worse, since various social challenges such as drug and alcohol abuse currently plague the region and are preventing positive growth.

Yours faithfully,
Elroy Stephney

Source: SNews

This was reported some time ago. Where are the government agencies with jurisdiction over this situation?

The child's father is a fallen policeman. The Ministry of Home Affairs and the Guyana Police Force are accountable for the welfare/social security of fallen policemen's spouses and children. The Anna Regina Town Council bears some responsibility too.

This young boy is being ruthlessly denied an education and even more importantly an opportunity to play and enjoy the company of other kids, something that every child should enjoy. What will this child grow up to be when he cannot even comprehend basic questions and seems to be fearful of others, whenever an attempt is made to converse with him? He needs professional help and I am appealing to the relevant authorities to save this child from illiteracy and worse, since various social challenges such as drug and alcohol abuse currently plague the region and are preventing positive growth.

GR should donate two empty barrels. 

What the pedophile gang will not tell you is that in the US there are many children beggars too.

This is a shocking situation too.

The US Administration spends $billions on war preparation but wantonly neglects the welfare of American citizens, particularly the poor.

What happens in the USA, however, should not absolve the authorities in Guyana from taking care of the dispossessed and vulnerable.

Gilbaka, Pres Ramotar Prapa Bad he is suppose to be putting a Posey under people batty everytime someone who don't have  a latrine about to take a shit.

Nehru, Pres Ramotar isn't Houdini and I don't expect him to micro-manage the nation. There are subject ministers, official agencies and departments with appropriate mandate to attend to various social problems. I merely named two.

GR should donate two empty barrels. 

Do you think this is funny, you idiot?  A four year old child with a mentally challenged mother and this was your contribution. As I've said numerous times before, you are truly a jackass. smh.

What the pedophile gang will not tell you is that in the US there are many children beggars too.

The US Administration spends $billions on war preparation but wantonly neglects the welfare of American citizens, particularly the poor.

What happens in the USA, however, should not absolve the authorities in Guyana from taking care of the dispossessed and vulnerable.

Well said, Mr. Gilbaka. people should Stop equating what happens in guyana to the US.

Originally Posted by Sheik101:

Gilbaka, Pres Ramotar Prapa Bad he is suppose to be putting a Posey under people batty everytime someone who don't have  a latrine about to take a shit.

I expected a little better from you in this regard.

Shut yuh Baxside. Yuh want fight me . willeet you at Hillside and 168 and KICK YOUR ASS!!!

The point being that is if this can happen in US and Canada then don't expect a 3rd world nation to solve all of society's ills.  You people from your armchairs in the West should clean up your own backyards before criticizing a 3rd world nation. I will note that none of you contribute to Guyana's well being but are quick to assign blame to govt for every ill in the nation. 

Hey turncoat, is that the compassion they teach you at  Pentecostal? I know this article reminds you of your childhood days.