Snatch-and-run on the increase

Oct 09, 2020 Dem Boys Seh, Features / Columnists, Source - Kaieteur News Online - https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...run-on-the-increase/

Dem Boys Seh…

A woman borrow G$10,000 yesterday. She put it in her purse and den put de purse in she bag. By de time she reach two corners away, somebody snatch de bag and run.

Dis is wah happening all over de place. Criminals snatching and running. Dem doing to de people wah dem see dem farrin company doing to de government. Dem farrin company snatching we wealth and running. And leffin we poorer.

Dem nurse bin protest fuh a miserly monthly $5,000 risk allowance. Dem wan be considered as frontline workers even though nat all ah dem treating COVID patient. But is suh when yuh see yuh mattee get something. When yuh neighbour buy new blinds, you does want change you own to.

Dem nurses protesting de wrong thing. Dah $5,000 wah dem fighting fuh every month can’t even buy a large bottle of sweet drink every day. Dem should be protesting and asking wah happen to de US$55B wah bin leff pon de negotiating table.

If we bin get dat money, de nurses nah gat to worry about risk allowance. Dem nah even gat to worry about wukkin. Dem could stay home and receive dem cash grant envelope every month. We would have been able to hire nurses from outside of Guyana if we bin get dat money. And all of we could ah kack up we foot and relax all day.

But we fighing fuh de wrong thing. And we fighting de wrong people. We fighting with each other rather than fighting fuh a better deal from dem farrin company wah snatching and running away with we wealth.

Talk half and hold on tight to yuh bag when yuh walking pon de road.

Poor people snatching phones, politicians snatching oil blocks

Oct 09, 2020 Front Page, Kaieteur News Online -  https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...natching-oil-blocks/

Kaieteur News – From top to bottom, Guyanese society is riddled with those who snatch what belongs to others, especially from the poor and the helpless. Snatching is so chronic that this country is now a snatcher’s paradise.

Young men on bicycles in the streets, snatch purses with nothing inside, snatch cheap cellphones, snatch empty shopping bags. Poor citizens are so alarmed that they leave handbags home and walk with an umbrella only. Those are also snatched. Snatching, though never condoned, allows feeding families, paying the light bill, buying medicines. This is how bad things are in this richest of lands, where the poor are forced to snatch from their fellow poor.

At the top from, comfortable in their duty-free vehicles or their high decision-making offices, young and old Guyanese men (and women) join with foreigner exploiters to snatch our gold and timber and bauxite. PPP and PNC β€˜leaders’ partner with the outsiders to snatch the biggest prize of all, our fabulous oil wealth. And after these leaders have conspired with foreigners to rob us, they snatched a sweet and rewarding piece of the oil action for themselves. What they snatch will afford them to live like kings for generations to come.

We could be the richest country in the world per person (capita), but here are our hungry brothers forced to snatch the little that we have from us, so that they can survive. What would the right-thinking citizens of any country do with leaders like these, who snatch away birthright and leave us starving and hopeless?

Poor people snatching phones, politicians snatching oil blocks

Oct 09, 2020 Front Page, Kaieteur News Online -  https://www.kaieteurnewsonline...natching-oil-blocks/

Kaieteur News – From top to bottom, Guyanese society is riddled with those who snatch what belongs to others, especially from the poor and the helpless. Snatching is so chronic that this country is now a snatcher’s paradise.

Young men on bicycles in the streets, snatch purses with nothing inside, snatch cheap cellphones, snatch empty shopping bags. Poor citizens are so alarmed that they leave handbags home and walk with an umbrella only. Those are also snatched. Snatching, though never condoned, allows feeding families, paying the light bill, buying medicines. This is how bad things are in this richest of lands, where the poor are forced to snatch from their fellow poor.

At the top from, comfortable in their duty-free vehicles or their high decision-making offices, young and old Guyanese men (and women) join with foreigner exploiters to snatch our gold and timber and bauxite. PPP and PNC β€˜leaders’ partner with the outsiders to snatch the biggest prize of all, our fabulous oil wealth. And after these leaders have conspired with foreigners to rob us, they snatched a sweet and rewarding piece of the oil action for themselves. What they snatch will afford them to live like kings for generations to come.

We could be the richest country in the world per person (capita), but here are our hungry brothers forced to snatch the little that we have from us, so that they can survive. What would the right-thinking citizens of any country do with leaders like these, who snatch away birthright and leave us starving and hopeless?

guyana has stupid politic, there is nobody there who really knows anything bout building a prosperous country. so much land wid so few ppl. wah dey saving it for and having the ppl building slums.