politikalamity posted:

This was an American born muslin, and other crimes and acts of terrorism were committed by American born Muslims. Barring Muslims from coming to the US will, therefore, not be the answer. So is the answer a complete of ban of Islam in the US?

America has done well by its Muslims if compared to europe. We cannot act hostile to them and alienate them from the greater society. 

This fellow saw two men kissing and went off. Homophobia is not only a muslim problem. The american conservative right are in a conundrum about transsexuals using bathrooms of the gender they associate with. There is a gread wailing and rending of clothes because of legal gay marriages. Gay people face discrimination from a large section of the society.

I am not religious and think all religion are piss poor examples as ethical proscriptions. They are all replete with ethical contradictions. I will not on the back of one religion say another is bad. 

Franklin Graham Destroys Islam and Quranâ€Ķ “Why the Hate?

As millions of people around the world grapple with the recent terrorist attacks in Brussels, Rev. Franklin Graham took to social media in hope of offering an explanation for the tragic events.

In a Facebook post on Thursday, Graham posited a stinging question when he indicated that the recent attacks and other killings by the Islamic State group should come as no surprise because violence against and hatred of nonbelievers are core teachings of Islam.

“Why does Islam hate so much?” Graham wrote. “It’s because the Quran teaches its followers to hate.”

“Jews, Christians and others are to be subdued so that Islam may ‘prevail over all religions,” he continued. “It’s all in the final chapter of the Quran — ‘Kill or be killed in battle, and paradise awaits.'”

ba$eman posted:

I agree there is an ideology of hatred coming from Muslim houses of worship and many religious leaders.  You never hear such hatred coming from a mandir or church.  Hinduism, Christianity etc teaches tolerance and accommodation.  Islam teaches it's our way or the highway.....to death!!

WHen last you went to a Muslim house of worship?

ba$eman posted:

You never hear such hatred coming from a mandir or church.  

Wha?! In India the Hindu fundamentalists in the BJP preach and practise hatred big time. Who yuh tink massacre all dem Muslims in the 1990s? In today's India you can find Hindus who still defend Mahatma Gandhi's assassination on the grounds that his assassin Nathuram Godse was a brahmin.

ba$eman posted:

Wha?! In India the Hindu fundamentalists in the BJP preach and practise hatred big time. Who yuh tink massacre all dem Muslims in the 1990s? In today's India you can find Hindus who still defend Mahatma Gandhi's assassination on the grounds that his assassin Nathuram Godse was a brahmin.

And your point is?????????????

ba$eman posted:

correcting the notion that other religions don't preach hate

RiffRaff posted:
ba$eman posted:

When was it a Hindu Massacred dozens of Americans ????

RiffRaff posted:
ba$eman posted:

Dah wan hard kwestian.

RiffRaff posted:
ba$eman posted:

only Americans are people?

RiffRaff posted:
ba$eman posted:

only Americans are people?

I AM AMERICAN AND I STAND WITH FULL SOLIDARITY OF THE AMERICAN PEOPLE!!!!!!!

Why when Muslims commit mass murders , they do so in the name of God. When any person of other religion does the same act, they do so of personal hate. Today all the wars around the world are being fought by Muslims, WHY. are they for real!!

Did this fella commit this murder in the name of God? What about the abortion clinic murder, that fella said he was protecting God's children

ba$eman posted:

The Shiv Sena is a reaction to Islamist terrorists in India.  I don't agree with them 100% but it is a fact that they are a product of Islamic terrorists.

Anyway, as I said, you never hear hatred coming from and mandir of church as you do from many mosques.

ba$eman posted:

The Shiv Sena is a reaction to Islamist terrorists in India.  I don't agree with them 100% but it is a fact that they are a product of Islamic terrorists.

Anyway, as I said, you never hear hatred coming from and mandir of church as you do from many mosques.

I still want know which mosque you went to to hear this stuff...you really should report them

So what I am gathering from this thread is this:

People saying that all religions have members who are good or bad. However, I also gather that some posters are also very rational. I also see those who defend their positions in a very irrational and inflexible manner and those who are (un)knowingly practicing hate. There also those that pledge allegiance to no religion but are most practical.

In the wider world some Hindus, Christians and Muslims are clamoring “kill em all”. Some Muslims are defending their faith and seem to feel a sense of responsibility (rightly or wrongly) for what is going on and are really being rational but are drowned out by the marauding posse out for blood.

Atheists or non-believers seem to be very rational for the most part. In all of this I see only one thing; many practitioners or religion will continue to divide the planet along religious lines and the world will forever remain a hive of hate where the ultimate price will always be paid by mostly innocent people.

For the record I am an atheist but still respect all religions, however, I do not believe in god, spirituality, life after death or anything. However, those who judge all members of a faith based on the actions of a few are practicing the same hate those terrorists practice and revile people even more because some actually think they are being rational