SOCU detains woman for failing to declare over GY$9M

Share on Facebook
Tweet on Twitter

A 36 – year – old South Ruimveldt, Georgetown, resident was detained by ranks of the Special Organized Crime Unit (SOCU) after being found in possession of US$44,688. The sum amounts to approximately $GY9.2M.

A police release noted that the woman failed to declare the money on arrival at the Cheddi Jagan International Airport on Thursday night. It was noted that she was aboard a St. Lucia flight at 20:00hrs.

https://guyanachronicle.com/20...to-declare-over-gy9m

What an a5shole. Dude you have the brain of a bedbug to post something as stupid as this. Here is a test. You go for a trip to the US with over US10G on you and do not declare it see what happens. Anything above 10G has to be declared, it is the law.

The woman had 44G on her..that aint no dam chicken scratch.

For you to be so distraught by this maybe the woman was doing a drug run and you are related.

Did you notice I have been quite soft on you?

Admin should remove your added bullshit to the heading...that is quite false as most of the shit you post.

Cain, someone is busy posting with all his nicks and he slipped up on another thread. I captured it. So this is what goes on late at nights. Did you know he's Yuji22?  

What an a5shole. Dude you have the brain of a bedbug to post something as stupid as this. Here is a test. You go for a trip to the US with over US10G on you and do not declare it see what happens. Anything above 10G has to be declared, it is the law.

The woman had 44G on her..that aint no dam chicken scratch.

For you to be so distraught by this maybe the woman was doing a drug run and you are related.

Did you notice I have been quite soft on you?

Admin should remove your added bullshit to the heading...that is quite false as most of the shit you post.

Yuji has no time to respond to a HOBO.

It is a conundrum faced by travelers, declare the money and risk being trailed and robbed by PNC operatives once the customs tip Granger's operatives off.  This has always been a hard decision for people to make. Not only they robbing you on the way out but also on the way in. PNC's way of raising revenues.  

Socu Detains woman - Warning to Overseas Guyanese Visiting Guyana. They might seize your money.

A 36 – year – old South Ruimveldt, Georgetown, resident was detained by ranks of the Special Organized Crime Unit (SOCU) after being found in possession of US$44,688. The sum amounts to approximately $GY9.2M.

A police release noted that the woman failed to declare the money on arrival at the Cheddi Jagan International Airport on Thursday night. It was noted that she was aboard a St. Lucia flight at 20:00hrs.

Yugi,

Your post is misleading,your dishonesty is glaring,politics aside,when some one concocts such presentation they are not to be trusted.

You mek me hand fall,your claim you can be trusted 1000% is farce.

It is a conundrum faced by travelers, declare the money and risk being trailed and robbed by PNC operatives once the customs tip Granger's operatives off.  This has always been a hard decision for people to make. Not only they robbing you on the way out but also on the way in. PNC's way of raising revenues.  

As usual your nonsense,that amount of cash raises eyebrows.I would not go into details use your noodle.

You should stick to the slop can duties and avoid critical thinking.  44K is nothing big, it can hardly purchase a container from China.  Because the Pnc/afc screwed up the money transfer system via blockage of the AML legislation during PPP time, people are forced to liquidate to cash to conduct business.  In fact the only crime is not declaring, even in the US you pay a fine and get back your money once you can justify the origin. Instead it look like the PNC decide to tek it all. 

Not declaring shows some form of money laundering,proceeds obtain from some illegal activity.

the rest is usual ramblings.

Cobra posted:

Wasn't the law passed that people must declared U.S.$10K or more when entering Guyana?

The law is there.

The passenger actions not declaring the sum which is above the amount by law,shows some form of illegal activity.

Not declaring shows some form of money laundering,proceeds obtain from some illegal activity.

That is why you are relegated to slop can duties as you lack discerning qualities. People will not declare because they are afraid of the customs in Guyana setting them up for robbery once they leave the airport.  44K is hardly a substantial amount in the money laundering realm. 

Money laundering begins with the first dollar. That is why the launderers set up small businesses that sell junk. I do not know that this woman was doing anything illegal. I just know she could be one of those who are fearful of declaring money at the Guyanese airport for fear of being murdered off the airport grounds.

Since the PNC took over, people are scared to declare monies since they are being tracked down and robbed. As DrugB indicated, 44K is pocket change for businesses.

The AFC/PNC idiots are now using excuses like drug dealing to steal from businesses. Things are now going from bad to worse as the foreign currency crunch hits Guyana.

Money laundering begins with the first dollar. That is why the launderers set up small businesses that sell junk. I do not know that this woman was doing anything illegal. I just know she could be one of those who are fearful of declaring money at the Guyanese airport for fear of being murdered off the airport grounds.

The banking system should have been used,

I used the banking system to send large sums of money to my relatives without any hassle.

This is one time I agree with you, The airport to destination crime did not change, even going to the bank is a high risk. Given the shortage of foreign currency in Guyana, this woman was bringing US dollars to Guyana and not requesting foreign currency from the Central Bank. I have known of many people got robbed as soon as they arrived at their residence it is known as an inside tip off, so it became a custom for in coming visitors not declaring the true amount of money they bring and also to give a wrong addresses of their  stay. So those that are barking at their shadows better be aware of the FACTS of GUYANA. The crime situation is worst, ,all news has to be censored by the PMO, lots of FAKE news.

Different stokes for different people,I always prefer the banking system for movement of large sums of money.

I used the banking system to send large sums of money to my relatives without any hassle.

You can get away with it, you have PNC card. But, what"s the difference, the woman not RICH like you ,she does not own GE, big warehouse and Big houses, she does not have bank account, she save her money under the mattress . You see rich people use the bank, poor people keep their money close to them everywhere. If she has proof that the money was acquired by legal means, the money must be returned with a fine. Anyway, Guyana set up SOCU just to ROB people.

Men held at Glasgow with crowbar, wig, pistol

By
20 mins ago

Police ranks on a mobile patrol in the village of Glasgow, East Bank Berbice intercepted a motor car about 01:30 this morning and conducted a search of the vehicle car and its five occupants during which an unlicensed pistol with 13 live rounds, a rope, a crowbar, a wig and other items were found.

The men ages 33, 29, 27, 26 and 22 of Glasgow Housing Scheme, East Bank Berbice; Angoy’s Avenue; Berbice, Pilot Street, New Amsterdam; Fort Ordnance, Berbice and Dazzell Housing Scheme, East Coast Demerara have been arrested and the vehicle and items lodged.

Some of the items the men were held with (Police photo)

You can get away with it, you have PNC card. But, what"s the difference, the woman not RICH like you ,she does not own GE, big warehouse and Big houses, she does not have bank account, she save her money under the mattress . You see rich people use the bank, poor people keep their money close to them everywhere. If she has proof that the money was acquired by legal means, the money must be returned with a fine. Anyway, Guyana set up SOCU just to ROB people.

Bhai,you joking.

What the r@ss rich got to do with having a bank account,poor people are also allowed to have.

who moves money from one country to another in a suitcase,i am sorry for the individual for not knowing their are safer methods.

Bhai,you joking.

What the r@ss rich got to do with having a bank account,poor people are also allowed to have.

who moves money from one country to another in a suitcase,i am sorry for the individual for not knowing their are safer methods.

Spoken like a true greenhorn.  People bring in cash and bypass the bank transfer for 2 reasons. 1st is that there is a fee associated with transferring money. 2nd they are at the mercy of the bank with the exchange rate. If they bring in cash, they will get the street rate, 250 per US as opposed to 206 to 210 via the bank transfer. In addition, the business people are now transacting business in US dollars, bypassing the hassle of a fluctuating GYD. 

Bhai,you joking.

Spoken like a true greenhorn.  People bring in cash and bypass the bank transfer for 2 reasons. 1st is that there is a fee associated with transferring money. 2nd they are at the mercy of the bank with the exchange rate. If they bring in cash, they will get the street rate, 250 per US as opposed to 206 to 210 via the bank transfer. In addition, the business people are now transacting business in US dollars, bypassing the hassle of a fluctuating GYD. 

Dude,you think you are addressing wan lil bhai,

i will state again it raises eye brows when moving large sums of money in cash form one country to another.

samjhe.

Theses GNI lawyers make me laugh. They should try this shyte anywhere else and let us know the outcome. There is a legal and proper way for taking in huge amounts of cash into a country..it is called using a bank but as we can see by druggies post..these people look for every other means to transport cash illegally by making up grand stories. It is obvious that illegal dealings is the way of life to some...this is the sleazy Guyanese mentality.

Furthermore, I have not seen anything stating the money has been kept by the authorities or how much she was charged but the GNI lawyers know it was stolen from her. 

Bribe and corruption starts at the airport. I don't trust the custom officials with One Dollar much less thousands. In early 70s I know someone was caught smuggling gold to Brazil it was in the millions. He took Lockoo and won the case when time to get his gold almost half was missing he then took the state to court and won a substantial  settlement 

Exactly the reason you transfer money through something quite foreign to some Guyanese..it is called a Bank. The story you mentioned somehow seems just that..a story. If true then it shows everyone was bribed...again the sleazy Guyanese way.

i will state again it raises eye brows when moving large sums of money in cash form one country to another.

samjhe.

Just as I gave D2 and CaribJ an education over the past 15 years, it looks like I have a new student. 

It is quite obvious that you are not familiar with Guyana's money system and the methods used by businesses. Cash is the preferred method of transporting money to the US in times of fluctuating currency value. Even the US customs is aware of this and don't even bat an eyelid when Guyanese businessmen declare over 1 million USD in cash for business purposes.  And here you are crying and convicting a woman for a measly 44k US. 

Theses GNI lawyers make me laugh. They should try this shyte anywhere else and let us know the outcome. There is a legal and proper way for taking in huge amounts of cash into a country..it is called using a bank but as we can see by druggies post..these people look for every other means to transport cash illegally by making up grand stories. It is obvious that illegal dealings is the way of life to some...this is the sleazy Guyanese mentality.

Furthermore, I have not seen anything stating the money has been kept by the authorities or how much she was charged but the GNI lawyers know it was stolen from her. 

It is not considered illegal to carry cash into a country as long as you can justify the source. Already you have tried and convicted this woman without a trial.

The woman is in custody, do you think she has the money in the jail cell with her?

samjhe.

Just as I gave D2 and CaribJ an education over the past 15 years, it looks like I have a new student. 

It is quite obvious that you are not familiar with Guyana's money system and the methods used by businesses. Cash is the preferred method of transporting money to the US in times of fluctuating currency value. Even the US customs is aware of this and don't even bat an eyelid when Guyanese businessmen declare over 1 million USD in cash for business purposes.  And here you are crying and convicting a woman for a measly 44k US. 

Well unfortunately,don't need your input to be Educated,you are useless prattler.

I mix with people of all walks of life on a daily basis,most of the times we have some form of conversation.

Nothing much is learned within a cubicle.

Well unfortunately,don't need your input to be Educated,you are useless prattler.

I mix with people of all walks of life on a daily basis,most of the times we have some form of conversation.

Intelligence is not contagious,  you do not get it by osmosis. You may hang around with educated folks but behind your back they are laughing at you saying "What a jackass, we humor him with our attention to give him the impression that he is one of us, and then take his money."

Classic Drugb,

your world got be confusing.

That figure look suspicious. Probably was 50 thousand but the folks had a nice restaurant dinner?

Prashad, shut your trap and focus on your toilet cleaning tasks ! You evidently suffer from verbal diarrhea and insist on posting your dumb-ass comments. Have you never heard that it is better to shut your mouth and let others think you are a jackass than to open it and remove all doubt ? How the hell do you know what figure is suspicious and what is not; you're such a moron; get lost with your puerile comments !!

Last edited by Keffer