Sod turned for CJIA’s US$150M expansion

- current terminal building to remain
- Chinese contractor insists it is capability

By Leonard Gildarie, March 24, 2013 | By | Filed Under News, Source

Government yesterday turned the sod for a US$150M expansion of the Cheddi Jagan International Airport (CJIA) with officials signaling intentions to no longer pursue plans to demolish the current terminal building.

The building was constructed almost 12 years ago during a US$30M major reform of the Timehri International Airport, as it was known then. It was renamed CJIA then.

A model of what the new airport will look like when completed.

The terminal building, which airline officials have been saying has become too small amidst significant passengers’ growth, will be used for cargo handling, storage and a host of other services.

Under the 2011 contract with the Chinese contractor, China Harbour Engineering Company Limited (CHEC) under the Bharrat Jagdeo administration, the terminal building was set to be demolished by CJIA, at its own cost. But the building has remained in excellent condition and a decision was taken not to raze it.

An entire new terminal building, immediately south of the current one will now be built to the tune of US$47M, said Transport Minister, Robeson Benn yesterday during a sod turning ceremony at CJIA. Another US$58M will be spent to extend the main runway.

With preliminary works underway, construction is expected to start as early as May.

The event is part of the ongoing celebrations of 100 years of aviation in Guyana. Also there were President Donald Ramotar; CJIA’s Chief Chief Executive Officer; Ramesh Ghir, and Chairman, Ramesh Dookhoo; CHEC’s General Manager, Zhong Dong Tang; Chinese Ambassador to Guyana, Zhang Li Min, along with several airport officials and Government Ministers.

$1B
Also commissioned yesterday were new navigational and communication equipment at the airport’s Control Tower, which within recent years saw almost $1.1B spent to replace and upgrade aging systems critical to landing and take-off of aircrafts.

According to the Chief Executive Officer, since first flights back in 1913, the airport has grown in leaps and bounds, handling 4,000 international flights and 600,000 passengers, annually. The Control Tower last year would have been regulating 61,000 flights with 10,000 persons directly and indirectly depending on the facilities for a living.

In the next 20 years, current growth rates are suggesting passengers could very well double in numbers.  The indications also are that aircraft makers will have to increase its production as more persons start flying.

The expansion will see a new terminal building that will include eight jet bridges and an extension of the current runway by another 1,000 meters. It will boast a bigger apron for planes, bigger parking lot, enhanced security features and concessions space for businesses.

President Donald Ramotar yesterday commissioned new equipment for the CJIA’s control tower for which $1.1B has been spent.

New airlines are reluctant to come with their bigger wide-body Boeing 747 planes because of the short runway, said Ghir.

While CJIA was making a loss 10 years ago, expansions and reforms have seen income tripling its expenditure in recent years.

Experience
CHEC’s General Manager, Zhong Dong Tang, whose company initially had come in for criticisms, insisted that the company has successfully undertaken major infrastructural projects in Hong Kong and in Macau, China, and has been engaged in major contracts globally and in the Caribbean and South America.

In making his case for CHEC’s capacity, he listed contracts in Mexico and even in neighbouring Brazil.

Tang made it clear that CHEC is looking for more projects in Guyana.
Minister Benn, in making his case for a new airport, admitted that the criticisms have been many but the fact remains that several CARICOM countries have recognized the importance of an airport expansion. Barbados and The Bahamas are classical examples.

Compared to the rest, and with Guyana’s strategic geographical position at northern tip of the Southern America continent, the investments are “modest”, he said.

Chinese Ambassador Zhang Li Min in plugging Guyana and China’s growing relations, assured that CHEC will be delivering quality work. He promised that the standard set by CHEC will be one to be followed by other Chinese companies coming to Guyana.

According to President Ramotar, the financial crisis in North America and Europe has seen the development of the “south-south” relationship with ties being born with the emerging power countries including Brazil, China and India.

Plugging the US$840M Amaila Falls hydro power project, another Chinese contracted project, the official stressed that it will move Guyana from an agro-producing nation to being one of agro-processors.

The time will come when Guyanese abroad will be clamoring to come back.

Noting the contributions of the Chinese in Guyana, the President acknowledged the emerging sectors of the economy which also include tourism.

He too was convinced that Guyana’s strategic location in South America makes it an ideal spot to attract flights from China (Asia) and Africa.

Earlier yesterday, President Ramotar also inspected a recently installed, new body scanner at the Departure area of the airport.

CHEC’s US$138M contract will see it building the new terminal and lengthening the runway.

Government has signed an agreement for financing with China for a loan to the tune of US$130M. Government has since said it will be plugging another US$20M or so for the expansion.

The project had generated controversy in 2011 when a Jamaica newspaper broke the news that the Guyana Government signed a deal with CHEC. CHEC has an office in Jamaica.

Government later said that it was about to announce the signing when the news was prematurely leaked.

A replica of the Cheddi Jagan International Airport expansion project on display as President Donald Ramotar visits the arrival lounge in the company of Minister of Public Works Robeson Benn and Chief Executive Officer of the airport Ramesh Ghir

President Donald Ramotar and Chinese Ambassador to Guyana Zhang Limin turning the sod to the new Cheddi Jagan International Airport expansion project in the company of Minister of Public Works Robeson Benn, China Harbour Engineering Company Zhang Dong Tang and other airport officials

Decent people will call this multi tasking progress and development in Guyana by the PPP, but it's bad news for the joint opposition. I don't understand this. Can someone please explain this misunderstanding? 

The AFc/PNC creatures are silent on progress of this nature. They already claimed there was no need for a new upgraded airport with larger runways to accommodate larger aircrafts.  Therein lies the difference between the afc/pnc and the current administration, the AFC/PNC have no vision, look how Gerhard wanted to produce plywood computer to make Guyana the laughing stock of the world. ahahaha

MORE PROGRESS AND MORE POSITIVITY FROM THE PPP

And how will the PNC Indians and AFC/PNC respond to this great news ? 

What else ? More hatred, anger, bitterness and intolerance.

Look at the faces of those losers above.

Originally Posted by Rev Al:

MORE PROGRESS AND MORE POSITIVITY FROM THE PPP

And how will the PNC Indians and AFC/PNC respond to this great news ? 

What else ? More hatred, anger, bitterness and intolerance.

Look at the faces of those losers above.

3 misfits, cockeye, heart attack and fugly. ahahah

They say progress and development is ugly and would like to reverse back to the mud house and straw hut days. That is their standard vision for Guyana.

another lightly educated donkey bored with shitting and eating as a lifestyle . . . turns to braying nonsense words just to break things up lil bit

They say progress and development is ugly and would like to reverse back to the mud house and straw hut days. That is their standard vision for Guyana.

The PNC Indians, folks like Moses Nagamootoo, Khemraj Ramjattan, Christopher Ram, Gerard Ramsaroop, Tarron Khemraj, etc, etc etc, and PNCs like David granger, Raphael trotman, Nigel Hughes---these scoundrels are LOSERS.

Losers complain about everything---they make excuses---they see problems in everything.

On the other hand---WINNERS make things happen---the PPP is making things happen---CJIA expansion is great for Guyana.

Real Indians = winners; PNC Indians and PNCs= losers.

The PNC Indians, folks like Moses Nagamootoo, Khemraj Ramjattan, Christopher Ram, Gerard Ramsaroop, Tarron Khemraj, etc, etc etc, and PNCs like David granger, Raphael trotman, Nigel Hughes---these scoundrels are LOSERS.

Losers complain about everything---they make excuses---they see problems in everything.

On the other hand---WINNERS make things happen---the PPP is making things happen---CJIA expansion is great for Guyana.

Real Indians = winners; PNC Indians and PNCs= losers.

ignorance marry inanity and jump in the saddle again . . . sari and bustier time

kill the cooties with lil spray before u fling off the panties shart man

Originally Posted by redux/tarron khemraj:
==

ignorance marry inanity and jump in the saddle again . . . sari and bustier time

Why the anger and bitterness Tarron Khemraj ? What's with the sucky attitude ?

Originally Posted by redux/tarron khemraj:
==

Why the anger and bitterness Tarron Khemraj ? What's with the sucky attitude ?

u expect me to bite on your red herring, eh shart man?

nah . . . I prefer to focus on your 'performance'

remember the panty spray arite . . . even kwame will be angry if he get reinfected with cooties

The AFc/PNC creatures are silent on progress of this nature. They already claimed there was no need for a new upgraded airport with larger runways to accommodate larger aircrafts.  Therein lies the difference between the afc/pnc and the current administration, the AFC/PNC have no vision . . .

you dissemble like an ugly teenage girl who will say literally ANYTHING to get attention from the high estrogen, early developed (in girl) clique

btw, tiefmanism as "vision" is the special logic inspiring OP antimen

u . . .??

===

u expect me to bite on your red herring...

Tarron Khemraj:

Why are you always irritable, grouchy, cantankerous and testy ?

You need to borrow a page from the Rev's book---the Rev is always nice, pleasant and polite.hahahahaha

another lightly educated donkey bored with shitting and eating as a lifestyle . . . turns to braying nonsense words just to break things up lil bit

The only DONKEY here is YOU. Youare totally ILLITERATYE and STUPID!!!

picking up fire rage for yuh lil gurlfren, I seeee

Rage? What Rage?? I dont know what the Teaching Profession has gotten to. No wonder American Kids are at the Bottom of the Barrel.

"fire rage" or "firerage" bai . . . like yuh 'Guyanese' card done expire

I am very Calm and settled right now. You seem to be having problems.

u look it up?

The AFc/PNC creatures are silent on progress of this nature. They already claimed there was no need for a new upgraded airport with larger runways to accommodate larger aircrafts.  Therein lies the difference between the afc/pnc and the current administration, the AFC/PNC have no vision . . .

you dissemble like an ugly teenage girl who will say literally ANYTHING to get attention from the high estrogen, early developed (in girl) clique

u . . .??

Look how you sit in your 2nd rate university in Florida and wish for Guyanese to live in the dark ages so you can feel better about your own sorry life in the US.  But the nation will continue to progress despite your tears. 

u . . .??

Look how you sit in your 2nd rate university in Florida and wish for Guyanese to live in the dark ages so you can feel better about your own sorry life in the US.  But the nation will continue to progress despite your tears. 

druggie, u tek the whole of last night licking yuh wounds and come up with a limp buse out of sumbady who u and the other cowards consider an 'easy mark' . . . sumbady who can't answer back

fortunately I, your worst nightmare, am here to cut lil gurls like u down to size

poor thing . . . last night must have been terrible for u

u . . .??

druggie, u tek the whole of last night licking yuh wounds and come up with a limp buse out of sumbady who u and the other cowards consider an 'easy mark' . . . sumbady who can't answer back

fortunately I, your worst nightmare, am here to cut lil gurls like u down to size

I don't sit around waiting anxiously for a post from a failed economics prof who has now resigned his ambition to a life of teaching. I have a life otherwise. However I note you still have nothing of value to contribute to the conversation, mere baseless rants of thieving and self-flatulence and self-praise. ahahahahaha

u . . .??

I don't sit around waiting anxiously for a post from a failed economics prof who has now resigned his ambition to a life of teaching. I have a life otherwise. However I note you still have nothing of value to contribute to the conversation, mere baseless rants of thieving and self-flatulence and self-praise. ahahahahaha

my "value" here is to apply my whip to the posers, the ignorant and the lightly educated who seek affirmation of poorly lived lives in bigotry and vicarious attachment to tribal power . . . people like u

meanwhile, continue to tilt @ windmills . . . it is the sorry lot of overmatched cowards

btw, u were right here when I posted yesterday . . . u then ran away like a skunk to consult on a 'response'

Do you remember when Moses Nagamatoo was kicked out of the VIP lounge at Timehri while leaving for a trip to Venezuela shortly after the PPP's historic victory at the polls in 1992?

I hope he remembers

my "value" here is to apply my whip to the posers, the ignorant and the lightly educated who seek affirmation of poorly lived lives in bigotry and vicarious attachment to tribal power . . . people like u

meanwhile, continue to tilt @ windmills . . . it is the sorry lot of overmatched cowards

btw, u were right here when I posted yesterday . . . u then ran away like a skunk to consult on a 'response'

You are indeed a legend in your own mind as in an alternate universe you are relevant. Maybe the monotony of grading papers, for students who use your class for extra credit, have driven you over the edge.  I don't need to consult to respond to you, I can do so in my sleep if I chose.