Canadian labour leaders blast gov’t’s treatment of sugar workers

-at GAWU conference

GAWU President Komal Chand addressing the conference

Even as it pledged financial and technical support to the Guyana Agricultural and General Workers Union (GAWU), Canada’s largest private sector union, Unifor yesterday criticised the Guyana Government for not meeting its obligations to sugar workers.

“Those who take you down this road must be accountable–accountable for the business decisions that will redistribute the revenues from public assets to private interests,” Unifor’s National President Jerry Dias yesterday told a one-day GAWU conference his organisation sponsored.

“From our experience, what is truly important is that workers’ rights are protected and that the consequences of restructuring are negotiated with your union,” Dias, whose parents are Guyanese, added…..

Or

THE GUYANA GOVT WHICH CONSISTS OF PIGS ARE ONLY CONCERNED WITH GETTING BRIBES AND DRIVING SUV AND LIVING IN FANCY HOUSES AT TAXPAYERS EXPENSE. TAKE A LOOK AT THE NAMAKARAM CRABDAAG PARASITE!!!!!!!!!

They are asking themselves "Sugar Who"? All they are thinking about is when would the oil money be here so we can sport up wine down. Whatever happened to the $18 mil? Is it still in a safe place out of reach of the ministers or is in a minister's safe?

-at GAWU conference

Even as it pledged financial and technical support to the Guyana Agricultural and General Workers Union (GAWU), Canada’s largest private sector union, Unifor yesterday criticised the Guyana Government for not meeting its obligations to sugar workers.

“Those who take you down this road must be accountable–accountable for the business decisions that will redistribute the revenues from public assets to private interests,” Unifor’s National President Jerry Dias yesterday told a one-day GAWU conference his organisation sponsored.

“From our experience, what is truly important is that workers’ rights are protected and that the consequences of restructuring are negotiated with your union,” Dias, whose parents are Guyanese, added…..

Or

This entire situation was handled badly going back previous administrations. Regardless, the current government has an obligation to the sugar workers regarding at the very least, their severance. Now, where the ass was this Unifor when the sugar industry was on it's downward spiral and the workers were being lied to? Didn't they have rights then?

The LIE that the Namakaram Crabdaag told to Sugar workers and Rice Farmers?? Dat EVIL PIG will forever be RAW SEWAGE!!!!!!!!!!

Please, show where I specifically addressed that and where I tried to excuse it.

-at GAWU conference

Or

This entire situation was handled badly going back previous administrations. Regardless, the current government has an obligation to the sugar workers regarding at the very least, their severance. Now, where the ass was this Unifor when the sugar industry was on it's downward spiral and the workers were being lied to? Didn't they have rights then?

One step forward and two steps backwards.  Deal with the present situation  don't rob the sugar workers.

-at GAWU conference

Or

One step forward and two steps backwards.  Deal with the present situation  don't rob the sugar workers.

Exactly.....

Well, explain what you mean nah. Laad it is dat simple. What lies and by whom??  I think that should be simple.

Ow bai, read wha meh write. Yuh tink dem sugar workers gat any idea about government subsidies an ting? All dem know is dat dem had wuk til PNC tek ova. Da wan nadda story. Dem eida nah do dem homewuk or outright lie or both when dem said dem guh keep deh suga factory open. Whoeve fuh blame and when nah mattah right now. Gi dem people dem money suh dem can feed dem family. 

Well, explain what you mean nah. Laad it is dat simple. What lies and by whom??  I think that should be simple.

Why don't you explain why "raw sewerage' Jagabaat should be excuse for the Chinese goady U$200 mil skeldon factory that never work.... 

You still stupid and brainless. No hope for a DUMMY like you Sachin!!!

Wha happen? yuh mouth/kakahole constipated now with the poke and rum the Jajabaat give you fuh suc….

-at GAWU conference

Or

Unifor's job is not to save the sugar industry in Guyana.  Be grateful that a Canadian entity is offering support.

I applaud UNIFOR for supporting Guyanese sugar workers. Where is the Caribbean Labor Congress? Hiding behind Congress Place?

fakery!

this is UNIFOR's statement:

“Those who take you down this road must be accountable–accountable for the business decisions that will redistribute the revenues from public assets to private interests,”

there is NOTHING in the coalition Govt's actions while executing the industry downsizing that suggests anything of that sort is in play

where were you while Jagdeo spent the better part of a decade handing over public assets at fire sale prices to his friends and cronies?

PPP crocodilian posing

g'wan dahside

I applaud UNIFOR for supporting Guyanese sugar workers. Where is the Caribbean Labor Congress? Hiding behind Congress Place?

fakery!

this is UNIFOR's statement:

“Those who take you down this road must be accountable–accountable for the business decisions that will redistribute the revenues from public assets to private interests,”

there is NOTHING in the coalition Govt's actions while executing the industry downsizing that suggests anything of that sort is in play

where were you while Jagdeo spent the better part of a decade handing over public assets at fire sale prices to his friends and cronies?

PPP crocodilian posing

g'wan dahside

Morning, Ro. Thanks for your comment on my comment. Let us make allowance for Jagdeo's mistakes in the sugar industry, including putting his frenno Dr Singh to mismanage GuySuCo board.

I remember in Bunham days the Kabaka remove a dragline from area in Mahaicony to allow the local blacks  to be employ to dig the trench with shovels. My last visit earlier this year I witness the same strategy implement where they pull the irrigation/drainage canal clearing contracts from guys using weed killer[mostly coolies] track hoe owners[all coolies] to trench cleaners[all races]. Using manual labor can be good for employment but takes a lot more time than with machine. This does not favor rice famers who can lose their crop from lack of or too much water in a matter of days..

When last Jagdeo was President of Guyana?  Who is/are the last two Presidents?

Did you call CNN to remind them Obama, Bill Clinton or Bush is no longer president when their names comes up daily?

IT IS THE CRIMINAL, INCOMPETENT PNC AND THE NAMAKARAM CRABDAAG PARASITE WHO SHUT DOWN THE SUGAR INDUSTRY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Who shut down Diamond and La Bonne Intention??????

The PPP did and paid the sugar workers what they were due. After that, Guysuco strated to improve then the Namakaram Crabdaag HO shouted that he will guarantee the survival of the Sugar Industry and will see that sugar workers get 25% increase, instead he gave them LAAR without vaseline!!  Bloody slimeball, Raw sewage Parasite!!!

sachin_05 posted:

I remember in Bunham days the Kabaka remove a dragline from area in Mahaicony to allow the local blacks  to be employ to dig the trench with shovels. My last visit earlier this year I witness the same strategy implement where they pull the irrigation/drainage canal clearing contracts from guys using weed killer[mostly coolies] track hoe owners[all coolies] to trench cleaners[all races]. Using manual labor can be good for employment but takes a lot more time than with machine. This does not favor rice famers who can lose their crop from lack of or too much water in a matter of days..

China and India are doing very well from using manual labour instead of machinery. It provides employment to many, not just one or two.

IT IS THE CRIMINAL, INCOMPETENT PNC AND THE NAMAKARAM CRABDAAG PARASITE WHO SHUT DOWN THE SUGAR INDUSTRY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I guess you didn’t read the other thread eh

Hope this helps 

PPP slams Govt’s decision to shut down LBI Estate

The Opposition People’s Progressive Party/ Civic (PPP/C) is strongly condemning the move by the authorities to shut down the operations of the La Bonne Intention (LBI) Sugar Estate, located on the East Coast of Demerara (ECD), stating that the “sneaky approach” used to announce this closure is simply a diversion from the swirling scandals surrounding the Administration.

According to the Opposition, the decision to shut down the operations at the LBI Sugar Estate, in a similar fashion as was decided in the case of the Wales Sugar Estate, West Coast Demerara (WCD) comes in the midst of a host of controversies concerning the APNU+AFC Government’s “corrupt practices in every area” of public life.

lbiIn a media statement today, the PPP stated that cloaking the move to close another sugar estate as plans at “consolidating”, “integrating” and “merging” the East Demerara estates is unacceptable.

“The PPP is of the view that collateral damage will result unquestionably; with sugar workers in particular and workers in general from other related industrial and service providers being seriously affected in the same way as the workers at Wales Estate. The PPP in its campaign to save Wales Estate had publicly alerted sugar workers in particular and workers in general that it should come as no surprise to them should the anti-working class Granger Administration move to shut down other sugar estates in the country,” the release said.

The Opposition reiterated its commitment in continuing to lend “firm and unshakeable support and solidarity” to sugar workers and their Trade Unions in their struggle to save the sugar industry and to “beat back the anti-working-class policies of the Granger Administration.”

Meanwhile, the Guyana Sugar Corporation (GuySuCo) yesterday confirmed that it will be moving ahead with plans to cease all operations at the LBI Sugar Estate. This is said to be in keeping with plans that had been made since 2011.

According to the sugar company, since in 2011, it, along with the workers’ Unions  met with each worker at the LBI factory over a five (5) day period to have discussions pertaining to the closure of the LBI factory and the topic of redeployment.

The LBI factory was subsequently closed in the same year and its workers were then redeployed to other posts at the Enmore Sugar Estate, ECD.

Diamond Estate Operation was Closed in 1980 and cultivation in 2009. 

The PPP did and paid the sugar workers what they were due. After that, Guysuco strated to improve then the Namakaram Crabdaag HO shouted that he will guarantee the survival of the Sugar Industry and will see that sugar workers get 25% increase, instead he gave them LAAR without vaseline!!  Bloody slimeball, Raw sewage Parasite!!!

He gave dem laar, nah bai? Lol. U too funny. But then, what did u expect from a nimakharam crabdaag.

I did.......nah tink Nehru bai did. Either that or he's in denial.

Everyone played politics with the sugar workers and the industry which sent it to the grave yard.  However, I believe the PPP takes a larger share of the blame.

They sat in power for 23 years, what did they do to improve the chances of the industry or to begin transitioning workers into alternate livelihood?  It was under the PPP watch that the EU subsidy program came to an end.  What did they do, what were their plans beyond these subsidies?

They received a lump sum payment to help transition away from sugar, what did the do.  They double down on sugar with the malfunctioning Skeldon White Elephant.  How can one factory at the end of the food-chain change the realty of deep underlying issues?

And BJ called the shots, in or out of the presidency!

sachin_05 posted:

Did you call CNN to remind them Obama, Bill Clinton or Bush is no longer president when their names comes up daily?

You are both a liar and a joker.  The only President name that the propaganda machine CNN knows is Trump. 

GT, the PPP closed a dew Estates that were not profitable NOT the entire Industry.

None of the estates were turning a profit hence the government subsidies.

Govt subsidies from Europe were not only for Guyana, they were for sugar producers around the world.  No one has control over world markets and sugar consumption.  In the United States, farmers receive subsidies because the govt realize that it's cheaper to do that than import food.  That is the basic laws of economics.  It's not a PNC or PPP problem.

sachin_05 posted:

You are both a liar and a joker.  The only President name that the propaganda machine CNN knows is Trump. 

Sach, it seems like she lacks the ability to comprehend the simple question you asked.

GT, the PPP closed a dew Estates that were not profitable NOT the entire Industry.

None of the estates were turning a profit hence the government subsidies.

Govt subsidies from Europe were not only for Guyana, they were for sugar producers around the world.  No one has control over world markets and sugar consumption.  In the United States, farmers receive subsidies because the govt realize that it's cheaper to do that than import food.  That is the basic laws of economics.  It's not a PNC or PPP problem.

This must be one of the longest, meandering, convoluted, confuzzled, nonsensical, non-answer to the question never asked!

Again, The EU subsidies were coming to an end.  The PPP had years to plan for this reality.  What did they do to transition and adjust for this?  Furthermore, they received a lumpsum payment in the transition away from Sugar.  Why did they double-down on sugar building a semi-functioning factory at the end of the value chain.

Don't confuzzle you beautiful mind with US subsidies to US farmers.  It's apples and oranges to Guyana's sugar subsidy from the EU!

The PPP and BJ are responsible for the predicament of the Sugar Workers on Guyana!

sachin_05 posted:

I believe Sachin_05 was on your side here babe!  I believe Sachin_05 is a closet Trumpster!