Grangerโ€™s proposed โ€œsocial contractโ€ is a contradiction โ€“ Rohee

JANUARY 8, 2014 | BY  | FILED UNDER NEWS 

General Secretary of the Peopleโ€™s Progressive Party (PPP) Civic, Clement Rohee says that the idea of a social contract which was proposed by Opposition Leader David Granger is a contradiction to the actions which were shown by the party. Granger, at A Partnership for National Unity (APNU)โ€™s last press conference, had said that the proposed social contract would promote national unity, ensure human safety and foster economic development.

Clement Rohee

According to Rohee this โ€œnew notionโ€ coming out from APNU is in contradiction, because the party seems against every major economic project in Guyana.
Rohee said that the proposal โ€œappeared somewhat an apparent contradiction and the question that contradicts it: is how can you be proposing a social contract in respect of the body politics of our country when you have basically shot down a number of investment projects in this countryโ€.
He said that the projects which were โ€œshut downโ€ by APNU โ€œwould have brought meaningful and purposeful development to Guyana, and would have seen an improvement of livelihoods for thousands of people across the countryโ€.
โ€œSo right away I see an apparent contradiction when on the one hand these anti-progressive, anti -national, anti-business, anti-foreign investor positions have been taken within recent timesโ€ฆthat should be explained by the callers of this social contract,โ€ Rohee said.
On Friday, Granger had said that the โ€œeconomic crisis had lowered workersโ€™ standard of livingโ€ฆprotests by two of the countryโ€™s largest trade unions, the Guyana Public Service Union and the Guyana Agricultural and General Workers Union have demonstrated how labour relations between the state and its workers have degeneratedโ€.
He had stressed that the ranks of the unemployed young people are increasing. Granger noted that with poverty in the country being rampant, the World Bank in its 2014 World Development Report has rated Guyana as the second poorest country in CARICOM.
According to Granger, the report has revealed that with a gross national income (GNI) of US$3,410 per capita, Guyana compared unfavourably with The Bahamas at US$21,280 per capita, Suriname at US$8,480 per capita and, indeed, with all other Caricom states except Haiti.
He said that the security crisis is also another unfavorable issue with the government. According to Granger, security has disproportionately hurt the poor.

GREAT ANSWER ROHEE!  ROHEE FUH PREZ!

Originally Posted by Kapadilla:

I think Granja need to cede power to Harmon or Greenidge.

LOL! Meh tink PNC gat congress and dem two might run against Granger. Dem 2 will be good foh PPP. LOL

Granja too soft, he is mash potatoes fuh the PPP.

LOL! Yea aluh muss get rid of he.

Nah the PPP will mash him into the ground with their 38%.

LOL! Meh tink PNC gat congress and dem two might run against Granger. Dem 2 will be good foh PPP. LOL

Hehe. De man increase PNC vote when all aluh rule him out. He gat nuff loud mouts like yu mekkin it hard.

The man preached race in 2011 in Sophia and fool the black people and has maxed out.  The only direction left fuh Granja is DOWN!

He does not have the support of Harmon of Greenidge anymore since he in the PPP pocket with his "social contract" and Vulga Lawrence confusion.

The man preached race in 2011 in Sophia and fool the black people and has maxed out.  The only direction left fuh Granja is DOWN!

He does not have the support of Harmon of Greenidge anymore since he in the PPP pocket with his "social contract" and Vulga Lawrence confusion.

LOL! Aluh do wan scientific poll foh that? LOL! Look like de drug dealers dem send yu out foh writ shit

??? Drug dealer.  You are a rabid and blind follower of Granja and I am happy for you, but do not come here and try to think any PROPER EAST Indian will vote for Granja, they will not.

Meh find yu funny.

Do not bear no illusion, the PPP will win the next Presidency once Granja is their APNU candidate.  The only man who can beat the PPP as the joint leader of the opposition is Moses V. Nagamootoo with Carl Greenidge as the PM candidate.

Dem blackman guh bunn down GT if Naga get leadaship fuh de PNC. Burnham mek PNC fuh black people.

and the mad house for you but you run away 

Do not bear no illusion, the PPP will win the next Presidency once Granja is their APNU candidate.  The only man who can beat the PPP as the joint leader of the opposition is Moses V. Nagamootoo with Carl Greenidge as the PM candidate.

Dem blackman guh bunn down GT if Naga get leadaship fuh de PNC. Burnham mek PNC fuh black people.

Me smaat dats why me leff you inside an run away. Damn fool na gat am no sense?

That is why APNU will NEVER win the elections. 

Granja is too inexperienced as a politician.

How many voters people like the new MP or Tarron Khemraj and the NEW YORK Gang will bring for the APNU.

Very little.

But he abandon a veteran politican like Aubrey Norton.

Well the polls are showing good riddance to Granja at the next elections.

Like Mr TK paining you too? 

why you think burham build the mad house in berbice so it will be close to you I man from GT

Dummy, listen to this. Your stepfather Forbes did not build the mad house. Your grand father was the first mad man captured in GT, thrown on a lorry and sent to your residence in Canje.

What utter nonsense you speak Skeldon man.  It was the Afro-Guyanese who led the struggle against Burnham.  Remember people like Clive Thomas and Walter Rodney??

The Afro-Guyanese voter have always voted with more reason than the East Indian but it is the East Indian that suffered the most during Granja rein while he was a top boy in the GDF.

What utter nonsense you speak Skeldon man.  It was the Afro-Guyanese who led the struggle against Burnham.  Remember people like Clive Thomas and Walter Rodney??

The Afro-Guyanese voter have always voted with more reason than the East Indian but it is the East Indian that suffered the most during Granja rein while he was a top boy in the GDF.

Sorry man. I can see your point. We have the Chief as an example here.

Thanks for the reminder.

kishanB, let's cut through the bullshyte . . .

is it your position that APNU/PNC should form a coalition with the AFC and contest the next election with a joint slate?

APNU/PNC got too much baggage with them.

Hammie for one is a top PNC leader today.  Corbin is still the Jagdeo of the PNC today.  Who would want to waste time to join with the PNC today and chase all the East Indians who hates the PNC back to the PPP.

AFC got to go on its own with respected talent in the APNU - Greenidge, Harmon etc.

Raulphie was talking about a GRAND colaition, this is idea that can take the best from the AFC, WPA, APNU and Civil Society into this Grand coalition and win the PPP.

The AFC on its own cannot win, the APNU on its own cannot win, but the GRAND coalition without the baggage from the past can win the PPP.

Hammie for one is a top PNC leader today.  Corbin is still the Jagdeo of the PNC today.  Who would want to waste time to join with the PNC today and chase all the East Indians who hates the PNC back to the PPP.

AFC got to go on its own with respected talent in the APNU - Greenidge, Harmon etc.

Raulphie was talking about a GRAND colaition, this is idea that can take the best from the AFC, WPA, APNU and Civil Society into this Grand coalition and win the PPP.

The AFC on its own cannot win, the APNU on its own cannot win, but the GRAND coalition without the baggage from the past can win the PPP.

ahmmm . . . what does this mean in the real world bai?

aaand u tink Harmon is a "talent" huh? . . . har de har har har harrr!

so much for being 'in he know' bout Guyana politics & personalities

Today the most effective politicians in the opposition is Ramjattan No. 1 and Harmon No. 2.

Moses is being kept under the wraps so he can appear Presidential at the official launch of the Grand Coalition.

Every now and then he will come out and put in a jab.

But the warriors are Ramjattan and Harmon.

The technician is people like Greenidge.

Granja is good man personally but a political novice.  Hammy and Carbin are political rejects.

Today the most effective politicians in the opposition is Ramjattan No. 1 and Harmon No. 2.

Moses is being kept under the wraps so he can appear Presidential at the official launch of the Grand Coalition.

Every now and then he will come out and put in a jab.

But the warriors are Ramjattan and Harmon.

The technician is people like Greenidge.

Granja is good man personally but a political novice.  Hammy and Carbin are political rejects.

kishan, do u live in Guyana or Region 11?