Something’s seriously amiss at the Vigilance Police Station

THE Vigilance Police Station, located on the East Coast of Demerara, needs to be seriously investigated by the Office of Professional Responsibilities within the Guyana Police Force.For the past several months, the amount of exploitation and corruption that has been condoned at this police station is beyond perpetuity. It is hard to believe that these very policemen are often seen consuming alcohol with well-known thieves, questionable characters, and even some persons who have pending court matters at the magistrate’s court there.
Apart from their lawlessness outside of the stations during their working hours, while wearing their uniforms, the officers have been stopping motor vehicle users, demanding their licences and registrations and, if they don’t have all the documents on them, they demand money.
These policemen have been allowing unlicenced drivers and riders, who are friendly and directly related to them, to drive and ride on the public road. This is very disrespectful to law abiding citizens.
Another matter is that of the rudeness and utter disrespect when persons go into the station to make a report. On numerous occasions, I have been to that very station, and was made to sit and wait no less than 20 minutes and more (while the station is empty but policemen have a steady card game which they cannot be distracted from) for them to take any reports.
When a person decides to ask what is the delay in taking htier reports, these officers respond by taking their guns out, slamming them on the tables/counters, thereby reminding the citizens who is in charge.
These officers are in dire need of anger management therapy, as I have been a victim and have witnessed these policemen shout and curse at the innocent citizens who go there to make reports. Their most common phrase is “Hello! Sir/Madam, I said shut the f*** up! You aint see we doing something? Wait nuh!”
Apart from this, these officers neglect to wear their complete uniforms, quite often, and are seen without name-tags and badges and look very untidy.
When a person walks into the Vigilance Police Station, if these officers are not eating in front of the doorway, they are on their cell-phones having loud and obnoxious phone conversations, completely disregarding the persons who are there.
Moreover, as a woman, I am being subjected to victimisation in its highest form whenever I go to the Vigilance Police station.
On more than one occasions, officers there have demanded my phone number, all of the times I have refused; when it comes time for me to make my reports, I am being reminded of how easier it would have been if my personal number was provided to them.
This has been the case not only for me, but many other young ladies as well.
In addition, there are many other corrupt activities which occur at this Station on a daily basis. What shocks me the most is the fact that numerous residents have made complaints to the Officer-in-Charge, but absolutely nothing has been done about it.
I can confidently say, without any fear of contradiction, that the Office of Professional Responsibilities and the Minister of Home Affairs is not aware of these unfortunate events.
However, now that the issue has been brought to their attention through this medium, I expect them to act accordingly as they have been doing.
I am openly calling for an investigation into the affairs and misdoings of the policemen at the Vigilance Police Station.

SUBRINA LATCHMAN
Concerned Citizen

The young ladies should give the phone number for Rohee.

The police force is Guyana's cancer. This type of behaviour is not isolated to Vigilance Police Station. Springlands has the worst bastards in the police force. The traffic police in Springlands are shameless and should be recognised  as maggots on rotten flesh.