The Sonu Nigam show and the incentive not to cooperate

Posted By TarronKhemraj On June 4, 2014 @ 5:01 am In Daily,Features

Part 1

Commenting on the Sonu Nigam concert, Mr. Romain Khan wrote a very perceptive letter titled `The Nigam concert and false consciousness’ (Stabroek News on May 12, 2014). The letter does not disparage East Indians in any way, even though some have tried to label it that way. It never said East Indians must stop practising the religions they brought from India. It never argued against East Indian cultural tastes as evolved since 1838. My interpretation of the letter is it calls upon East Indians to not only recognize the sentimental and cultural aspects of life, but also the political and economic context within which their culture and traditions have to be practised. Indeed, many economists have argued culture as a form of institutional construct can shape economic outcomes. This essay, however, is not focused on that. Instead this column and the next one will outline some of the political economy considerations that East Indians should consider since these directly impact on their freedoms and ability to participate in culture.

Before we can do so there has to be some historical context. The Slavery Abolition Act of 1834 meant that African slaves would be free to mobilize in the labour force at the time. However, that would not be the case as indentured immigrants – of which East Indians comprised the largest group – would alter permanently the nascent labour market. The new immigrants increased the supply of labour and added competition in the nascent market. It would have a permanent implication for wages of immigrants and freed slaves alike, including the distribution of the planters’ aggregate wage bill. In addition, as immigration pushed the wage rate towards the subsistence level, the planters or capital owners were able to extract an ever larger surplus, while ex-slaves and immigrants shared the relatively small wage bill.

development watchIn this setting the seeds of conflict over limited economic resources in a country were planted. Guyana is not as resource rich as we tend to believe. A brief period of political cooperation took place between the two main ethnic groups under the united PPP in the 1950s. When the split in the PPP took place the masses of East Indians and African Guyanese parted company to support the PPP and PNC, respectively. There have always been a minority of Guyanese from all the ethnic groups who are willing to act as the middle group and vote for a third party. Their voting pattern has perhaps the highest degree of randomness and therefore is up for grabs by a political movement with a message that can excite this group while not alienating the ethnic base.

There has always been a struggle for scarce economic resources between the masses of the two main ethnic groups. The PNC part 1 tried to distribute resources through cooperative socialism and party paramountcy. With the death of Mr Burnham in 1985, PNC part 2 unleashed a series of free market reforms consistent with the ad hoc manifesto known as the Washington Consensus. Under PNC part 1 the economy stagnated for various reasons including bad economic policies, external shocks like the two oil crises and non-cooperation and sabotage by the PPP, which had behind it the support of the masses of East Indians. Growing up in village life, I know the going sentiment among East Indians was never to cooperate with anything the PNC did. This was their response for the perceived election rigging by the PNC. The then awesome mobilization machinery of Dr Jagan’s PPP was able to keep most East Indians from cooperating. Those few in my village who joined the National Service or worked for the public sector were viewed with suspicion and sometimes avoided.

Therefore, many of the visionary ideas of Mr Burnham could never work. Even rice flour, today celebrated for its gluten free property, was seen as oppressive to the East Indian diet. As far as I know, all groups ate a diet in which wheat flour is a basic carbohydrate. That the PPP succeeded in motivating East Indians from staying away from the public service raises an interesting concept which I will call endogenous discrimination. To what extent the low representation of East Indians in the public institutions in those days represents active discrimination by PNC part 1 or fulfillment of the PPP’s strategy of non-cooperation? We therefore have here a classic problem of endogeneity (to use a favourite term of economists) that needs to be uncovered. It will require painstaking historical research, with sound cliometrics, to figure this one out.

The next President, Mr Hoyte, unleashed a different set of policies under PNC part 2. This included massive economic liberalization and a clamp down on criminals. Many were jailed including the head of the House of Israel who ironically was later set free by the PPP after it won the election in 1992. Party paramountcy and cooperative socialism were quickly replaced by free market policies and efforts to create an independent public service. Again the PPP leaders were never going to cooperate because of the fraudulent 1985 election and the added flavour of a PNC moving towards free market capitalism that elicited great scorn from Dr Jagan. The East Indian masses were again mobilized for non-cooperation, sabotage and several in the diaspora and in Guyana (the Catholic church in particular) played an independent role to get the Carter Center involved in Guyana. Free and fair elections finally came in 1992 and PNC part 2 was displaced by PPP part 1 under Dr Jagan.

Although not in great shape, the economy turned the corner under Mr Hoyte. GDP growth in 1991 and 1992 averaged over 7%. PPP part 1 never made the crucial reforms that were needed in its early life, including reforming the police force. The same commissioner was retained. Some have questioned why. PPP part 1 appeared to be going through the motions without a serious vision for the economy. Even under relative stability, foreign investments were slowing down. The PNC, now in opposition, was never really going to cooperate either. A major dilemma would result for the PNC if PPP part 1 was able to make serious moves in the area of economic development. Indeed when the PPP was in opposition it faced the exact dilemma; hence, the incentive for non-cooperation and sabotage by the leaders backed by their respective ethnic masses.

An opportunity to oppose the PPP came with the announcement of the Beal Deal, a private rocket programme that was intended for Essequibo. I was able to observe several of the opposition commentaries at the time since I was a young economist working at the Bank of Guyana. Most of the opposition to the private rocket programme made little sense to me. However, PPP part 2 under Mr Jagdeo provided ample opportunities to oppose the government. Mr Jagdeo provided many low-lying fruits. Indeed, any credible opposition had to oppose given the deep deficit of good governance. The Amaila project started off on the wrong foot with the road fiasco. The Marriott project made little sense as the insolvency of Tower Hotel last week shows. The same can be said about the eight-gate airport terminal.

In the next column, I will outline some of the specific issues East Indians should consider that will enhance their social and cultural experiences. I would also use some analytical tools of economic science to explain why the present constitution produces the incentive for non-cooperation and therefore a non-development trap.

Comments: tkhemraj@ncf.edu

The Nigam concert and false consciousness

Posted By Staff Writer On May 12, 2014 @ 5:03 am In Letters

Dear Editor,

For those who intently follow Bollywood movies and music, which might possibly be half of the native Indo-Guyanese population, the song Kal Ho Na Ho is hauntingly melodious. Even for someone with the euphonic I.Q. of a goldfish and tunefulness of a grating jackhammer, I find myself reflexively humming this song. I am no Bollywood zealot, so either this is an ambiguous genetic response encoded in my Indian ancestry, or as I strongly suspect, the consequences of the star power of the singer, Sonu Nigam.

Mr. Nigam, just in case you didn’t notice, your recent “Klose to My Soul” concert at the National Stadium testifies to your symphonic sorcery. I am not speaking here of the fans thronging every inch of the stadium, or even those flanking the stage and riposting your choral invitations with flashing cameras and smartphones. That must be the universal response to your celebrity and musical genius. As a matter of fact, the Trinidad Guardian reported on the resounding success of this same concert in that country.

What I am referring to is a profound form of hypnosis that so entrances some of our people that it configures their very cultural, social and political identities. I am in no way suggesting that you are directly responsible for these people’s enchantment. All I am saying is that their interpretation and consumption of the celebrity image that is Sonu Nigam alters their very sense of self, and has particular consequences for Guyanese existence.

Just so that I don’t become too abstruse, let me explain what I mean. You see, Mr. Nigam, some of our people still resonate to ancestral impulses. Every time they hear your melodies and sentimental outpourings they clutch for mother India. They might become over-awed as you saw in the stadium, or sometimes they weep, not even knowing the reason for their distress. Bollywood has that effect, Mr. Nigam, it deludes so many of these people—literate or not—into thinking that they are participating genuinely in Indian culture. But all they are doing is culturally-appropriating, cherry-picking from the amplitude of their lineage. It is distressing, Mr. Nigam. These are people whose Indianness revolve largely around the cinematic personalities of Bollywood. It is understandable in the romanticizing of any culture, people tend to exclude the unsavoury aspects of that civilization, so I won’t be quite surprised if these people preferred to be silent about continued religious and caste discrimination, racial conflicts between North and South Indians, and marginalization of the Bihari people in contemporary India. But not knowing some of the more redeeming aspects of Indian civilization such as the significance of Nalanda University, Panini or Gayatri Spivak is mildly embarrassing. In our Guyanese context that might be similar to saying we don’t know who Cheddi Jagan was, or maybe that we do know who Cheddi Jagan was, but are selectively unconcerned with Forbes Burnham or Walter Rodney. That is, revising our history and reconfiguring our historical and cultural identity.

You see, Mr. Nigam, this obsession with Bollywood as the ticket into a state of authentic Indianness irks me for other reasons. You may not have recognized it, but the seating arrangements for your show didn’t just stop at VIP, but also included VVIP, weighted with a price tag of $25,000 per ticket. So your show attracted some “Very Very Important People”, Mr. Nigam, with a price tag that exceeds that for similar seating arrangements for this same show at the Hershey Centre in Mississauga, Canada. It is right there on ticketmaster.com for all to see. How is this even related to Bollywood bewitchment you ask? Well, as you know, Mr. Nigam, Bollywood has increasingly become a machinery for class warfare in India. It simply deepens the demarcation between rich and poor by elevating elite tastes and attitudes. So with some of these people suckling at that aristocratic teat, they begin to normalize and institutionalize their mimicked tastes in Guyanese society. Needless to say, the less privileged are coerced into defining themselves by luxury goods—symbolic violence at its optimal stealth. So yes, you are right, the spatial demarcations in the stadium were not mere lines but expressions of economic, social and political power that currently operate to divide the elite from the non-elite in this country. And as in India, those boundaries are markedly increasing here.

Finally, Mr. Nigam, I am fully aware of your philanthropic efforts, so it would seem natural you would have wanted to lend your iconic status to the opening of the Bal Nivas Shelter. Maybe in addition to the proceeds from the concert, you also didn’t charge your full concert fee. I really am not sure about the logistics, but nonetheless, it would seem that your cutting the ribbon to that shelter symbolized deep altruism and concern for Guyanese orphans. I really hope to see your continued appearance and involvement, once these concerts have expired. However, I must intone that while your presence at that event would have possibly galvanized international support for similar causes in Guyana (which is more than welcome), there is also the possibility that inadvertently there was some image transfer that would benefit certain political and social class interests in this country. You know only too well how this occurs in Tamil Nadu, so all I would venture is that while acceptable, your cutting that ribbon could have implicitly snipped at the tenuous racial politics in this country.

Mr. Nigam, I am told that “Kal Ho Na Ho” roughly translates to “Tomorrow May Never Come”. I am troubled that for as long as an abridged Indian culture, or truncated sense of Indianness dominates the psyche of some of our political and economic elites that Guyana would be bedeviled. Worse yet, I worry that imbibing this false consciousness would render most people too intellectually and politically effete to demand a just, fair and conscious existence. So while tomorrow may come, Mr. Nigam, it is probably not one that most Guyanese would relish.

Yours faithfully,
Romain Khan

You know only too well how this occurs in Tamil Nadu, so all I would venture is that while acceptable, your cutting that ribbon could have implicitly snipped at the tenuous racial politics in this country.

WHAT AN ASS ROMAIN KHAN IS AND TK IS NO BETTER.  ROMAIN KHAN NEED TO STICK TO SHARIA LAWS!!!!!!

You know only too well how this occurs in Tamil Nadu, so all I would venture is that while acceptable, your cutting that ribbon could have implicitly snipped at the tenuous racial politics in this country.

WHAT AN ASS ROMAIN KHAN IS AND TK IS NO BETTER.  ROMAIN KHAN NEED TO STICK TO SHARIA LAWS!!!!!!

See how you racial against Muslims. 

Originally Posted by ball:

That is $125.00us for a ticket and them not sure if him bin lip syncing the songs

Sonu has a remarkable memory. He knows the lyrics of thousands of songs in his head.  He does not lip sync. Romain Khan is a dumbass. 

That is $125.00us for a ticket and them not sure if him bin lip syncing the songs

Sonu has a remarkable memory. He knows the lyrics of thousands of songs in his head.  He does not lip sync. Romain Khan is a dumbass. 

Romain Khan is just a regular Guyanese ASS KISSER who is out for POWER and WEALTH at all cont, including selling their best items!!!!!!!!!!!!!  He sounds like a Senior Taliban Leader!!!!!!!!!

See how you racial for Muslims.

How can you say that when I come to your house and eat twice per week.

WATTAX!!!!

Pavi drap a lil iron deh....

WATTAX!!!!

YUh tek yuh Rass and pass me nah!!! LIL Iron   JB does call meh Elephant.

WATTAX!!!!

you prappa wutliss you no?

WATTAX!!!!

Meh Padna dem does seh Ah wutlissness mey yuh nah.

WATTAX!!!!

Meh Padna dem does seh Ah wutlissness mey yuh nah.

Ignorant old man you is.

http://www.stabroeknews.com/20...ve-cooperate-part-2/

The Sonu Nigam Show and the incentive not to cooperate – Part 2

Posted By TarronKhemraj On June 18, 2014 @ 5:01 am In Daily,Features | 

In part 1 of the column, I argued that cultural practices have to be observed within the constraints of politics and economics of the Guyanese society. The column briefly outlined historical events that set the two main ethnic groups in Guyana on a path of conflict that manifests itself in pernicious ethnic voting and mobilization. I argued that our history and constitution have wired the two main ethnic masses for suspicion and non-cooperation. Peer-reviewed studies on Guyana’s political economy have also documented how ethnic elites have mobilized their respective ethnic masses for leverage when dealing with the other side. Other analysts have labelled this non-cooperation the ethnic security dilemmas (ESD). Early interpretations of the ESD argue that African Guyanese are concerned about their economic security, while Indians have a perpetual fear of the military. The evidence over the past 22 years suggests that the military is willing to serve the constitution and the elected civilian government. The concern these days ought to be whether the military will become compromised by the established class of narco traders and those predisposed to smuggling gold, fuel, beers and the like.

development watchMy interpretation of the ESD is economic. Most of the masses of both groups vote for their respective ethnic elites because they perceive intra-group social networks will provide connections to economic opportunities once their elites win the election. Obviously some disgruntled folks would be willing to vote for the third party. But how are these discontented persons going to know whether the disgruntled members of the other group will also vote for the independent party? They can’t be certain; hence they play it safe and vote for their respective ethnic leaders. In the end, they all vote for their underdevelopment because this behaviour makes the elected leaders complacent with little incentive to propose nationalist policies that will benefit all. With the exception of the Hoyte years, I am not aware of any other President who outlined policies meant to benefit the country as a whole. Most times the policies were intended to solidify the interests of the political party over those of the country, while destroying the economic interests of others.

The leaders, except the Hoyte-led election campaigns, have to date mainly responded with strategies that can be termed “don’t split the votes,” an exact phrase used by Mrs Jagan at the Kitty rally in 1997. Perceptions of fears are largely reinforced by implicit campaigns meant for cementing the ethnic base. It is in this context we must understand why the government finally gave in after 22 years for a Rodney COI. It is meant for dividing the country and instilling fears in the East Indian communities. On the other hand, the independent voters – from the other ethnic groups – mainly split their votes among the three dominant political parties. Their voting pattern has shown a greater degree of randomness dividing their votes among the three parties. Two questions arise: (i) what is the tipping point whereby a sufficient percent of swing voters will be willing to vote on issues and platforms? (ii) Where is the strategy for winning the voters who vote with a fair degree of randomness?

The state of political economy described above raises a few crucial questions about the role of East Indian masses in shaping a political economy that is fair and just. The ethnic elites will do well regardless of which government is in power. In my opinion the masses of East Indians have to demand some important concessions from their elected leaders so that they can continue to practise their cultural and religious activities. The mandirs, mosques, churches and social organizations have to demand these concessions. Indian community leaders have to demand them also instead of writing with pennames in Guyana Times and a Muslim penname in the letter columns. (WHO THIS?)

So what are some of these reforms the grassroot members must demand from the PPP? The first demand must be constitutional reform that prevents the capture of the government after a leader has captured the political party and imposed his like-minded followers. Two ethnic post-independence Guyanese leaders – Mr Burnham and Mr Jagdeo – have shown that after dominating their respective political parties they can use the power of the constitution to undermine the public institutions and therefore the ability of the government to best serve all the people. They must demand that the powers of the President be curtailed.

The second demand must be the consolidation of democracy. After free and fair elections in 1992, Guyana has effectively become a quasi-democratic society where the East Indian elites connected to the government abuse democracy when it suits their economic interests. The 2011 election was free but unfair. The views of the opposition are shut out from the Chronicle, NCN and all the proxy private media outlets that were engineered through oligarchic expropriation of the people’s assets. The people have been denied local government elections since 1994, yet another indicator of non-democracy. As a result, party opportunists in the villages have effectively taken over the local governments. Many local bodies have become a redistribution system that channels the taxpayers’ dollars to a few supporters. It should be no surprise that local works are shoddily done, tending to break up overnight. When infrastructure works disintegrate quickly another contract replaces the old one in a continuing cycle of patronage. How can there be development in this system?

A third demand must be transparency and accountability in government. The government does not own the money of the people; it merely administers it. Moreover, the government does not have the moral right to deny the opposition, which is backed up by 52% of the votes, an input into key developmental projects the country is seeking to undertake. They must impart to the elected leaders of the opposition the feasibility studies that went into the investments of Marriott, the eight-gate airport terminal and the Amaila hydro project. The people must demand why there was no warranty clause for the Skeldon sugar factory. How can the Chinese contractor walk free after a horribly defective factory was built? Why is the government pursuing its present anti-Western foreign policy when most East Indians have chosen to migrate to Western nations? What is the backup plan in case the rice for oil barter agreement is reversed?

There are obviously many more fair demands that can be made. But I would close by mentioning reform to the police force. They cannot continue abusing people and killing people without just trial, nor can the force afford to continue letting in poorly educated people. Police pay has to be improved to attract better educated young people. Police predation has to be seriously punished. It is important to ask Mr Rohee to list a few murder and criminal cases his forensic lab has solved. Finally why the PPP, known for collecting foreign aid, frustrated British funding and a plan meant for improving police work?

Yes rituals, songs, dances and the like are very important forms of cultural expressions. But these can be even richer and broader if the political economy of Guyana is made to work for everyone.