Soulja Bai got to build a new jail

http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....to-build-a-new-jail/

When a prisoner warden got to think bout he house and he family and when he gun go home at de end of the de day, a prisoner got 24 hours a day just thinking how to get away from jail. Imagine a man get eighty years; is he whole life he got to think how he gun get out.

Yesterday, nuff prisoners put all dem thinking into action. Dem boys always seh that prison wardens gun cause de death of dem mattee.

Dem does smuggle things inside de prisons. When dem got a raid and dem seize all dem phones and jookahs, dem same prison wardens does sell back de phones to de prisoners. Some does do more than that. Ganja and anything does get sell in de jail.

Some of dem tek things too far this time; dem sell guns to dem prisoners and that is how one of dem get shoot and kill. If anybody should get charge fuh murder it got to be a prison officer. Now five prisoners at large. It coulda been seven but two of dem get shoot when dem try to get away.

What really got dem boys worried is that a man who been pun death row actually get away. This man get condemn fuh killing thirteen people in Lusignan and another twelve at Bartica. He gone. If dem ketch him dem lucky. This was a man who was planning all de time.

Dem got another getaway expert. He get away from de police at Mackenzie and he get away from dem in town. When he get ketch is because de police in Suriname hold him. Dem boys don’t think he going back to Suriname again.

But dem have another problem. Soulja Bai got to find a new jail because this one bun down. Ever since Gajraj, de government never want to build a new prison. Now dem don’t have a choice.

At least dem can now move de prison out of town.

Soulja Bai, de prisoners don’t have to sleep in de rain or tek de sun. Tek back de Sanata Complex. It big enough of keep all of dem.

Talk half and wonder if this jailbreak gun be like de one in 2002.

But dem have another problem. Soulja Bai got to find a new jail because this one bun down. Ever since Gajraj, de government never want to build a new prison. Now dem don’t have a choice.

Maybe Soulja Bai has others plans.

Perhaps not.

This is an opportunity to remove the jail from the city and place it in a modern facility in a remote area. We have the technology for remote presentations to the court for those needing to appear and all this crap about prisoners taking over a prison can be but behind us. Make a modern jail.

You didn’t factor in that pnc families will be inconvenienced in visiting their relatives in prison .  This I believe will cost the PNC votes if they move the prison to a remote area.

This is an opportunity to remove the jail from the city and place it in a modern facility in a remote area. We have the technology for remote presentations to the court for those needing to appear and all this crap about prisoners taking over a prison can be but behind us. Make a modern jail.

You didn’t factor in that pnc families will be inconvenienced in visiting their relatives in prison .  This I believe will cost the PNC votes if they move the prison to a remote area.

Suh how about the PPP families ??

Mazaruni Prison is there for years.

Plans are a foot at Mazaruni.

Mazaruni prison has been there for years, so what plans my foot. No different than America, Guyana prison is over populated by Blacks, life has been good to them, access to drugs, cell phones, home cooked meals, television and short-time.

Mazaruni prison expansion to start in 2017

Sep 23, 2016 Government, Ministry of Public Security, News, GINA, GUYANA, Friday, September 23, 2016, http://gina.gov.gy/mazaruni-pr...on-to-start-in-2017/

The solution to the overcrowding at the Georgetown Prisons, Camp Street, Georgetown, lies in the ability to expand the Mazaruni prisons, according to Minister of Public Security, Khemraj Ramjattan.

The Minister, speaking on the issue of overpopulation in the prisons, said there isn’t much the Ministry can do at this stage because more space is needed.

β€œAs an alternative to the creation of a new prison, we want to expand Mazaruni and the expansion for Mazaruni can only be done after the 2017 budget. The ministry has already requested, and we have managed to procure for the 2017 budget those capital expenditures,” Ramjattan explained.

Further the Minister who has responsibility for the penal system, told media operatives recently that the expansion of the Mazaruni prison will require a large amount of financial capital given the scope of work to be undertaken.

β€œIt’s going to be massive because it’s not only creating another building or expanding an existing building. We have to find a lot more recruits, staff members and housing for the staff members. We have to find meals for them, a literal community. We might have to build a church and school for their children because families will have to go up there to live … it’s a huge task,” the minister noted.

Minister Ramjattan also said that an immediate solution to the overcrowding may be found in the manner in which the Courts deal with nonviolent offenders, especially young lawbreakers.

β€œIs three years for minor amounts of marijuana the right thing? Should we not amend the law to make it a six months maximum or one-year maximum so that we would not have that overpopulation, especially if it’s a young person?” the Minister questioned.

β€œSpace can be created by ensuring that those who have been remanded and granted bail get their bail reduced, to free up some space.  Remand prisoners are a big chunk of it,” the Minister stated.

If persons who committed minor offences, can have their cases heard early, and if the mandatory sentencing for possession of marijuana and cocaine could be looked at, then there would be more space, the Minister posited.

β€œThose are some of the strategies we are working on because we don’t have US $40-50M to put up a new prison,” the Public Security Minister explained.

In its 2015 Human Rights Report, the United States State Department stated that a total of 963 prisoners were in the Georgetown Prison, designed to hold 550 inmates.

β€œOvercrowding was in large part due to a back-log of pre-trial detainees, who constituted approximately 11.3 percent of the total prison population.”

Overall, the report stated that the Guyana Prison Service reported that, as of October, 2015 there were 1,944 prisoners in five facilities with a combined design capacity of 1,640.

Following prison unrests in March of this year, the Prime Minister in April led an executive ministerial delegation to meet with representatives of the Judiciary including the Chancellor of the Judiciary (acting), Carl Singh; Chief Magistrate, Ann Mc Lennan and Director of Public Prosecutions, Shalimar Ali-Hack to find ways of addressing  the back-log of cases.

Mazaruni prison has been there for years, so what plans my foot. No different than America, Guyana prison is over populated by Blacks, life has been good to them, access to drugs, cell phones, home cooked meals, television and short-time.

Mazaruni Prison to see $60M expansion

Minister of State, Joseph Harmon, announced at Thursday’s post-Cabinet press briefing that almost $60 million would be spent on expanding and rehabilitating the riverine correctional facility of the Mazuruni Prison, located in Region Seven (Cuyuni/Mazaruni), in order to accommodate more long-term prisoners from the Camp Street Prison in Georgetown.

The minister disclosed that Cabinet had given its approval for two contracts to be issued in this regard: one for $28.1million to A. Nazir and Sons Contracting, and another for $30.4 million to R. Kissoon Contracting Services Limited.

http://guyanatimesgy.com/mazur...o-see-60m-expansion/

Here you go, kp

Sep 23, 2016 Government, Ministry of Public Security, News, GINA, GUYANA, Friday, September 23, 2016, http://gina.gov.gy/mazaruni-pr...on-to-start-in-2017/

The solution to the overcrowding at the Georgetown Prisons, Camp Street, Georgetown, lies in the ability to expand the Mazaruni prisons, according to Minister of Public Security, Khemraj Ramjattan.

The Minister, speaking on the issue of overpopulation in the prisons, said there isn’t much the Ministry can do at this stage because more space is needed.

β€œAs an alternative to the creation of a new prison, we want to expand Mazaruni and the expansion for Mazaruni can only be done after the 2017 budget. The ministry has already requested, and we have managed to procure for the 2017 budget those capital expenditures,” Ramjattan explained.

Further the Minister who has responsibility for the penal system, told media operatives recently that the expansion of the Mazaruni prison will require a large amount of financial capital given the scope of work to be undertaken.

Interesting to see the developments of this PNC/AFC suggestion.

D_G. see my post above.

Mazaruni Prison to see $60M expansion

Minister of State, Joseph Harmon, announced at Thursday’s post-Cabinet press briefing that almost $60 million would be spent on expanding and rehabilitating the riverine correctional facility of the Mazuruni Prison, located in Region Seven (Cuyuni/Mazaruni), in order to accommodate more long-term prisoners from the Camp Street Prison in Georgetown.

The minister disclosed that Cabinet had given its approval for two contracts to be issued in this regard: one for $28.1million to A. Nazir and Sons Contracting, and another for $30.4 million to R. Kissoon Contracting Services Limited.

http://guyanatimesgy.com/mazur...o-see-60m-expansion/

Here you go, kp

$60 million Guyanese dollars  = about $300, 000 US dollars

Simply for minor and cosmetic works.

The major/main works, allocations, etc., will be contingent on the amount to be passed in the pending budget.

When approved/passed the extent and time needed to complete the works will be another item.

Suh how about the PPP families ??

Mazaruni Prison is there for years.

Ole man said Mazaruni Prison was the harshest he ever saw. Been there since British Guiana days.

The major/main works, allocations, etc., will be contingent on the amount to be passed in the pending budget.

Which year budget??

here is another article

https://guyanachronicle.com/20...e-of-mazaruni-prison

Gov’t kickstarts $77M upgrade of Mazaruni Prison

Source -- https://guyanachronicle.com/20...e-of-mazaruni-prison

Your referenced article.

Note ... Kickstarts upgrade.

Note also ... It is simply a start on a few needed items.

The progress specific to budgets will be presented in the pending and future ones for the Mazaruni prison works.

The needed works for the Mazaruni prison upgrades is a massive one, as described on past articles, and the initial $60 million Guyanese dollars allocation is simple "a few drops in the bucket" to reach the end.

No wonder dem boys use the prison as a homeless shelter. I am surprised that Carib and Mars are not at your throat as yet.

Sometimes it's better to leave you Piss Pot Porters to wallow in your own stupidity. Jail conditions in Guyana are very harsh. There is no good life in being there. It's not country club living like in North America.

Take it from the jackass mouth he spent most of his life there. No arguments.

You were in the cell next to me selling your stink batty that's why you know that I was there.

So you are a batty boy. Eh.

No, there's no need to worry since I don't practice that nastiness like you. There's no competition from me. You can sell your diseased hole to pay for your rum.

boom bye bye..........

You are the one with the Batty experience, I have no clue of that trade.Tell me why they call you Alki.

Mars posted: You were in the cell next to me selling your stink batty that's why you know that I was there.

You are the one with the Batty experience, I have no clue of that trade.Tell me why they call you Alki.

Don't try to pass off your nasty behavior on me now. You were very much in demand at Lot 12 and that helped you to feed your alcoholism. You were the number one ho at Lot 12. Dem black men love a soft subservient Indian Chick like you.

Where is lilmohan or churchill? Those boys can recommend that jackass Granger now use the Marriott as a replacement prison fuh camp street, with room service to boot.  It will save tax payers billions of dollars, or even use the skeldon factory, all they got to do is put up cells inside.

They are in Guyana helping Rumjaat round-up Prisoners.