Speaker of the National Assembly Dr Barton Scotland on Friday referred a decision on the Opposition’s concerns regarding the presence of the Prime Minister in the National Assembly whenever he performs the functions of the President to the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Constitutional Reform.

The Opposition had claimed that the Prime Minister was essentially squatting in the House if he attends the sessions when he performs the duties of President, saying the constitution is clear that his seat becomes vacant in such a situation and should be assumed by another Minister.

Today, the Speaker said he did not believe he should be the one to make a decision on the matter, leaving the Opposition furious.

“As Speaker of the National Assembly vested with powers to rule on many matters which come before the House, I hold that such powers should be exercised with circumspection and inappropriate instances.

“My reading on this matter…does not incline me to the conviction that unilateral action in this matter by the Speaker or any other Third Party Instrumentality will lead to a final and permanent resolution,” the Speaker stated.

As such, he suggested that the matter should be resolved in the Parliamentary Standing Committee for Constitutional reform, noting that the committee can enlist the aid of other persons or appropriate expertise, whether or not such experts or other persons are members of the National Assembly.

Opposition Chief Whip, Gail Teixeira

Opposition Chief Whip Gail Teixeira, who had written the Speaker on the issue, compared the Speaker’s actions to that of the Biblical Roman governor Pontius Pilate who sought to abdicate responsibility for Jesus’ death by letting the crowd decide.

“He is behaving like Pontius Pilate, just washing his hands and passing Jesus on,” Teixeira told reporters after the Speaker read his response to her in the House.

The Speaker discouraged a resort to the court to settle the matter, but Teixeira said the Opposition would be forced to go that route

https://newsroom.gy/2018/12/14...acting-as-president/

This speaker is always siding with the PNC on very important matters. Let the courts decide.

How will he handle the No Confidence vote ? There are allegations of death threats to a potential member who wanted to defect. Will parliament break out in a fist fight with Volda leading the charge ?

If there was a fight:

We have we Gyal Priya and Gail to deal with her.  Priya just has to fall down on her and she will suffocate. 

The PNC old bais might end up at the emergency with heart and stress problems.

Kanwa might end up on the opposition benches with Rohee putting some heavy duty punches on him.

You can add to the list:

Perhaps, the Speaker is unaware of the laws, regulations and procedures to manage the affairs, in this situation, who can/cannot be present and participating in the Assembly.

Simple question ... "When the Acting president is actively participating in parliament; who is functioning in the president's position?"

We just suffered a deep loss.  Brother Ronald G. Is no longer with us.

Condolences to the family.

Really? You forget that this was the fellow in charge during phantomizing?

Bai Djangy, this man was a PPP commie. How can you have sympathy for a PPP commie?

Djangy got short memory, he forget that Gajraj visa was revoked by both US and CA due to death squad suspected affiliation. He was even forced to resign and was implicated in visa racketeering according to Teixeira.

Why do people refer to them as death squad?  Lot of Indians are alive today because of them!

Bai Djangy, this man was a PPP commie. How can you have sympathy for a PPP commie?

He is human, and am sure during his life he did some good. Need no to say any more.

Really? You forget that this was the fellow in charge during phantomizing?

Before that, he was a good man.

He is human, and am sure during his life he did some good. Need no to say any more.

Can you possibly name some of the "good" he did?