Speaker writes Commonwealth Head requesting intervention to resolve Guyana’s political crisis

November 14, 2014 12:32 pm Category: latest news A+ / A-

Speaker of the National Assembly, Raphael Trotman. [iNews' Photo]

[www.inewsguyana.com]
Speaker of the National Assembly, Raphael Trotman has written to Commonwealth Secretary General (SG) Kamalesh Sharma, requesting that he send a delegation to Guyana to engage the political Opposition and government in an effort to break the current political gridlock.

In the Speaker’s letter, dated November 14, he informed the SG of President Donald Ramotar’s decision to prorogue Parliament in order to stave off the No Confidence Motion brought against the Administration by the minority Opposition – the Alliance For Change (AFC).

Following the President’s decision, he announced that the time will be used to engage the combined Opposition in ‘dialogue’; however Leader of the Opposition, David Granger has made it clear that there will be no talks with the President until he reconvenes Parliament.

In this regard, Speaker Trotman in his letter to the Commonwealth SG stated, “At present there is grid – lock as the majority of Members of the National Assembly are indicating that there will be no dialogue with the Executive unless there is revocation of the Prorogation and the resumption of sittings of the National Assembly.”

Trotman further wrote, “The Guyana Parliament, as a Member of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association, urges you to use your good offices, together with the entire weight of the Association, to intervene so that we could have a return to normalcy. To this end, I invite you to send a delegation to Guyana to engage all sides of this disagreement so that this unhealthy situation may be brought to a speedy and peaceful end.”

His letter was also copied to Speaker of the House of Assembly in the British Virgin Islands, Ingrid Moses – Scatliffe.

HEHEHE Speaker needs help again!!!   No surprise here.

His question to them "What I have to do as Speaker????"

Should anil thief some more money and help him?

what is wrong with asking for help?

Nothing, DUMB, INCOMPETENT People ask for help all the time.

yuh never ask for help before?

Nah Bhai. I does help and train others.

LOL

The unemployed speaker is a Dunce.

Becoming much louder and clearer.

When Janet was training you, did she whip you?

Janet?? Who is Janet?

Kwame train dem dis nat Janet. Most ah dem people Janet train dead.

Janet?? Who is Janet?

LIke yuh Batty get HOT again.!!!

Janet?? Who is Janet?

Guh leh kwame rub yuh back, run along now. Gwan....

Janet?? Who is Janet?

Guh leh kwame rub yuh back, run along now. Gwan....

YUh gat to be the best Fag on the Planet. I do not envy you and I do respect your life style.