Specialty Hospital back on … Guyana, India in new financing deal

By Ariana Gordon, November 11, 2015, Source

GOVERNMENT will be going ahead with construction of a multi-billion-dollar specialty hospital here, but under a new agreement with India.

The new arrangement would see unused funds from the original deal being channelled towards the upgrade of three of the country’s regional hospitals, while a new pact will be negotiated for the completion of the medical facility.

On its assumption to office, the David Granger-led administration had indicated that it would prefer the funds for the hospital be used for primary healthcare delivery.

Minister of Public Health, Dr. George Norton, told the Guyana Chronicle yesterday that talks are continuing on the specialty hospital between the governments of Guyana and India. Government, the minister said, received what can only be described as “an offer of a lifetime”, whereby the Government of India will permit the Government of Guyana to use the remaining US$14M from the Specialty Hospital Project towards the upgrading of the West Demerara, Suddie and Bartica Regional Hospitals, while still being able to benefit from funding for a new Specialty Hospital.

Dr Norton explained that the approach taken by the Government of India is one that has the potential of benefiting all Guyanese. Put simply, he said what they’re actually saying is: “Use your money to do your primary healthcare system in your three hospitals, but we will continue to do the Specialty Hospital.”

CHANGE IN SCENARIO
Noting the radical change in scenario, Dr Norton said, “It is one we can work with; it is one we think decisions can be made in the best interest of the public.

“It was offered to us; we identified three hospitals: West Demerara Hospital, Suddie Hospital and the Bartica Hospital, which are all regional hospitals that need to be upgraded, so that we could take off the load from the GPHC. And that was agreed to by using the rest of the money.”

Funding for the construction of a Specialty Hospital was part of an agreement between the Governments of Guyana and India, through the Exim Bank of India. Some US$18M was allocated to the project through a line of credit facility to build the hospital.

US$4M was expended by Surendra Engineering Company Limited on preliminary works associated with the construction of the hospital.

ORIGINAL DEAL
Back in 2012, Surendra was awarded a multi-million-dollar contract to design and build the hospital at Turkeyen, on the lower East Coast, but its alleged involvement in criminal activity saw the former PPP administration terminating their agreement.

The company was flagged for its inability to maintain timelines; to account properly for funds provided; as well as providing a forged document that allegedly originated in Trinidad and Tobago.

The current administration, while in opposition during the 10th Parliament, criticised the former administration over the Specialty Hospital, citing that enough information was not provided on how the Guyanese people were to benefit by it.

$1.25 billion was set aside for the hospital in the 2013 Budget, but was chopped by the then Opposition. Some $34.4M was allocated to the hospital as part of a supplementary budget.

Asked whether government was forced to renegotiate with the Government of India on the construction of Specialty Hospital, Dr Norton said:
“I would hope we are not forced, because it would not be smooth sailing. I don’t think anything should be forced on us.”

OPTIMISM
Dr. Norton is optimistic that ongoing discussions with the Government of India will bear fruit, as more information would be forthcoming on the construction and management of the hospital.

“I think that regardless of who is giving it to us,” he said, “that is something that should be making headlines with all details: Who is going to come and work; if Guyanese are going to be trained; if Guyanese people will have access to all facilities free of charge; things of that nature.”

Asked why government has changed its mind on the specialty hospital, Dr Norton said government was never opposed to having such a hospital here, but had rather felt at the time that it was not a priority.

“We have a situation where we can hardly have a well-functioning diabetic foot disease clinic…My point is primary healthcare is important; primary healthcare is that which we need to stop the high rate of maternal mortality and infantile mortality…hypertension, diabetes and the like; that is what we need the primary healthcare to do. So, when we were confronted and asked what you plan to do, we said, ‘Okay, we would love to spend this money on the primary healthcare system.’”

Though he could not state when the negotiations on the Specialty Hospital would be completed, he is optimistic that things will be in train soon.

“Here again,” he said, “it is an offer that is being done at a government-to-government level. These things do take time; it is not so much of a Ministry of Public Health, but it is a Ministry of Foreign Affairs…There is no dealing with foreign companies from the Ministry of Public Health.

GOVERNMENT will be going ahead with construction of a multi-billion-dollar specialty hospital here, but under a new agreement with India.

The new arrangement would see unused funds from the original deal being channelled towards the upgrade of three of the country’s regional hospitals, while a new pact will be negotiated for the completion of the medical facility.

On its assumption to office, the David Granger-led administration had indicated that it would prefer the funds for the hospital be used for primary healthcare delivery.

Specialty Hospital back on … Guyana, India in new financing deal, By Ariana Gordon, November 11, 2015, Source

Current government will dust here and there before implementing the projects of the previous PPP/C government.

Specialty Hospital back on … Guyana, India in new financing deal, By Ariana Gordon, November 11, 2015, Source

Current government will dust here and there before implementing the projects of the previous PPP/C government.

Really.  The current govt has stated that a priority will be placed on primary care. If Guyana cannot offer basic treatment for diabetes, high blood pressure, etc, clearly a specialty hospital is beyond its capabilities.

If primary care becomes effective, the cost to deleiver specialty care drops.  I am sure that you understand this.

CJIA, no 8 jetways, just an expansion of the existing terminal, and a longer runway. Exactly as APNU/AFc wanted.  Amaila Falls is off. More suitable sites are being sought.

So what again of the PPP are they dusting off?  They plan to sell the Marriott.   Too late to deal with the Skeldon fiasco.

Really.  The current govt has stated that a priority will be placed on primary care. If Guyana cannot offer basic treatment for diabetes, high blood pressure, etc, clearly a specialty hospital is beyond its capabilities.

If primary care becomes effective, the cost to deleiver specialty care drops.  I am sure that you understand this.

CJIA, no 8 jetways, just an expansion of the existing terminal, and a longer runway. Exactly as APNU/AFc wanted.  Amaila Falls is off. More suitable sites are being sought.

So what again of the PPP are they dusting off?  They plan to sell the Marriott.   Too late to deal with the Skeldon fiasco.

Amaila Falls Hydro project is back on track. Take note all the projects that the PPP had planned and started will continue. The pnc lacks vision, they cannot come up with new ideas, very soon they will ask PPP for help, which they have started, Nanda, Persaud etc.

1. Indeed and watch carefully how the government will implement the programmes of the PPP/C.

2. Amaila Falls project is not off.

1. Indeed and watch carefully how the government will implement the programmes of the PPP/C.

I know.  redirecting funds to the regional hospitals, which were neglected by the PPP is a fine example of how they copy the PPP.

Did APNU/AFC say that they were going to move ahead with Amaila Falls? You will admit that the PPP really messed up that project with the millions wasted on a man whose only qualification was that he is an Indian.  Fip Motilall should be made to refund moneys paid to him.

I know.  redirecting funds to the regional hospitals, which were neglected by the PPP is a fine example of how they copy the PPP.

Did APNU/AFC say that they were going to move ahead with Amaila Falls? You will admit that the PPP really messed up that project with the millions wasted on a man whose only qualification was that he is an Indian.  Fip Motilall should be made to refund moneys paid to him.

Carefully observe and note the developments.

I am. I am seeing no signs of PPP olans being implemented and the squeals from Jagdeo is evidence of this.

Jagdeo would prefer that Guyana goes to Caracas and whine "me sarry me allow dem Yankee imperialist to come on Venezuela territory to find oil. Please tek me rice because nobody else want it because it too expensive".

Looks like you trying to defend the indefensible. If you agree with these projects then it means that you have to acknowledge that afc/apnu have no vision as they now stoop to carrying on PPP projects that they criticized and blocked in parliament for years.  I have been saying this for the longest time, these bunch of crooks now in office are vision less. 

DG, why don't you open a thread to track the new development ideas by the afc/apnu, so far it is zero. They even abandoned the ethanol dream as well as other value added initiatives they were promising during the campaign. 

I am. I am seeing no signs of PPP olans being implemented and the squeals from Jagdeo is evidence of this.

Jagdeo would prefer that Guyana goes to Caracas and whine "me sarry me allow dem Yankee imperialist to come on Venezuela territory to find oil. Please tek me rice because nobody else want it because it too expensive".

Perhaps, you need to be focused on the issues rather than looking in the wrong directions on how things are currently being implemented in Guyana.

emptiness and ignorance from diaper_guy dressed up as inscrutability

smh

Looks like you trying to defend the indefensible. If you agree with these projects then it means that you have to acknowledge that afc/apnu have no vision

Which projects?  Funds for the specialty hospital, which was stopped by the PPP, because of blatant corruption, will be used instead for three regional hospitals.  Once primary care is upgraded then there will be focus on specialty care, but in the interim the specialty hospital is DEAD.

CJIA.  No new terminal building.  Only a longer runway, which APNU/AFC had ALWAYS agreed was necessary, in addition to expansion of the existing terminal. Where is there adoption of the PPP project.

No one has posted evidence that Amaila will be resurrected, and certainly NOT with that Fip Motilall character.

Druggie you are an idiot, and a racist one at that.  Continue showing what an idiot you are.  When this was a PPP site, those who resented the PPP chased you away. This is no longer a PPP site.

What plans did the PPP have to salvage the sugar industry.  In fact production is IMPROVING since the PPP left, but you don't want to admit that.

Perhaps you need to admit that you screamed 60% in 2011, and 51% in 2015 and were WRONG twice, and so have no business making any predictions.

And yes listening to Jagdeo whining that Guyana must immediately crawl to Caracas and beg Maduro to forgive us, is as wrong sided as anything.

Yes the same PPP which handed the rice industry to Venezuela, even as they invaded Guyana, attacked Guyanese, destroyed their property, and refused to apologize.

Which projects?  Funds for the specialty hospital, which was stopped by the PPP, because of blatant corruption, will be used instead for three regional hospitals.  Once primary care is upgraded then there will be focus on specialty care, but in the interim the specialty hospital is DEAD.

CJIA.  No new terminal building.  Only a longer runway, which APNU/AFC had ALWAYS agreed was necessary, in addition to expansion of the existing terminal. Where is there adoption of the PPP project.

No one has posted evidence that Amaila will be resurrected, and certainly NOT with that Fip Motilall character.

Druggie you are an idiot, and a racist one at that.  Continue showing what an idiot you are.  When this was a PPP site, those who resented the PPP chased you away. This is no longer a PPP site.

What plans did the PPP have to salvage the sugar industry.  In fact production is IMPROVING since the PPP left, but you don't want to admit that.

Indeed what projects, the afc/apnu have yet to start any important project in Guyana that will benefit the country in the long run. No vision indeed, they only piggy back on PPP's projects.

Perhaps you need to admit that you screamed 60% in 2011, and 51% in 2015 and were WRONG twice, and so have no business making any predictions.

And yes listening to Jagdeo whining that Guyana must immediately crawl to Caracas and beg Maduro to forgive us, is as wrong sided as anything.

Yes the same PPP which handed the rice industry to Venezuela, even as they invaded Guyana, attacked Guyanese, destroyed their property, and refused to apologize.

It's a shame that opposition is so weak. They rushed to attend Parliament for payroll reasons. hahahahahah!

Indeed what projects, the afc/apnu have yet to start any important project in Guyana that will benefit the country in the long run. No vision indeed, they only piggy back on PPP's projects.

The class idiot you are.  You fail to understand that one CANNOT start properly conceived projects in 5 months.  Even the Chinese cannot do so.

Now go and pop pills, or stuff heroin into your veins, or what ever drug you consume drugB.

It's a shame that opposition is so weak. They rushed to attend Parliament for payroll reasons. hahahahahah!

Yes we all know how much the PPP loves money.

Jagdeo is  NOT  a retired man.  He is WORKING.  If he had any moral integrity he would be drawing the SAME pay that Granger did when he was leader of the opposition. Given that I don't think that this is a ytax exempt position, he should also be paying income tax.

But the man draws a pension which is the SAME as Grangers INCREASED pay as president.

Yet drugB and others think what an honest man and a hero he is.

Bhaiya Ji.  The opposition is not weak.  The opposition want to debate your boys in parliament which was supposed to be in session right now.  But your boys ran off to Saudi Arabia to get a ride in a private jet so they need to suspend parliament.  Those are cheap delaying tactics.

Originally Posted by Bibi Haniffa:
.  But your boys ran off to Saudi Arabia to get a ride in a private jet so they need to suspend parliament.  Those are cheap delaying tactics.

Good excuse.  Any way Jagdeo crying to Maduro "me sarry dat dem blackman treat you baad, but please sarry fuh we so we can sell yu we rice" has been noted.

THE PNC CANT RUN A BLOODY CAKE SHOP, AL YUH EXPECT DEM TO RUN A COUNTRY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

who is PNC? a new party....

the people's national congress, aka Bunham Party

THE PNC CANT RUN A BLOODY CAKE SHOP, AL YUH EXPECT DEM TO RUN A COUNTRY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

the people's national congress, aka Bunham Party

bai...he dead long ago...time you move on...dont let that man haunt yuh the ress ah yuh life

Originally Posted by Bibi Haniffa:

Bhaiya Ji.  The opposition is not weak.  The opposition want to debate your boys in parliament which was supposed to be in session right now.  But your boys ran off to Saudi Arabia to get a ride in a private jet so they need to suspend parliament.  Those are cheap delaying tactics.

Hijraji, how many of the PPP ladies Refused / returned their pay increases? HAHAHAHAHA!

PNC is a political party formed by Forbes Burnham; who was the leader of the PPP-Burnhamite; after the 1957 elections.

PNC is still a formidable party which is now governing Guyana.

PNC headquarters in on the East Coast, Demerara.

People's National Congress Reform [PNCR)

The class idiot you are.  You fail to understand that one CANNOT start properly conceived projects in 5 months.  Even the Chinese cannot do so.

Now go and pop pills, or stuff heroin into your veins, or what ever drug you consume drugB.

We don't expect them to start any project but at least start the conversation. So far they are only concerned about stealing money from the rest of the country to give to Green to clean up Georgetown which is one of their strong holds. Not a word about any major initiatives. When these jokers were in opposition they had enough time to think up plan in the event they ascended to power. But all the plans we see is about redistribution of wealth, from the Indians to the Blacks. This is why their first order of business was 50% raise and letting criminals lose to rob and kill.