IAC stands in solidarity with L Seepersaud Maraj &Sons

Dear Editor,

The Indian Action Committee (IAC) is appalled and outraged to learn from the media, that L. Seepersaud Maraj & Sons, an esteemed family business which has been in operation for generations, has suffered millions of dollars in losses due to a robbery which occurred sometime between 2nd – 3rd July 2018.

The IAC, a non-profit, non-governmental, organization which deals with issues and concerns of persons of Indo-Guyanese origin, including educational and social work, recognizes the Maraj Sons as distinguished descendants of East Indian Indentured labourers, who had worked tirelessly to establish its name in the jewellery industry, and contributed significantly to the development of an independent Guyana through philanthropic activities.

The IAC understands that the Mayor and City Council (M&CC) and a private security firm are responsible for ensuring the security of the business which is located in the Stabroek Market, and the organization is disappointed to read about the reported lack of diligence demonstrated by the two entities in responding to this horrific ordeal.

The IAC is pleased to discern that no one was hurt from the incident and expresses its support to and stands in solidarity with, the sons of L. Seepersaud Maraj & Sons at this time of affliction, and the organization is calling upon the relevant authorities to undertake swift and thorough action to bring the perpetrators to justice.

The IAC further calls upon the M&CC, and the private security firm involved to provide an explanation as to how this incident could have occurred and to initiate measures to avoid any possible repeat in the future.

Yours faithfully,
Saira Alli
IAC Secretary

https://www.stabroeknews.com/2...epersaud-maraj-sons/

The IAC may have been too hasty in responding about the "lack of diligence" because several people were in police custody. 

However, I dont see where the editors are providing a platform for "inane human provocation". This is a stretch.

For one, this is not a constant occurrence in SN...they have published more outrageous opinions from other people like Ogunseye.

Second, its an opinion produced by an independent organization, its not an editorial piece provided by the editors of SN in their opinion section.

Compared to other newspapers which have an agenda (Chronicle, KN, Guyana Times) SN is still the "most independent" to all. Perhaps they are too independent, but to suggest that this letter is instigating and that SN has an agenda and is engaged in mischief is calling for censorship. 

The IAC may have been too hasty in responding about the "lack of diligence" because several people were in police custody. 

However, I dont see where the editors are providing a platform for "inane human provocation". This is a stretch.

For one, this is not a constant occurrence in SN...they have published more outrageous opinions from other people like Ogunseye.

Second, its an opinion produced by an independent organization, its not an editorial piece provided by the editors of SN in their opinion section.

Compared to other newspapers which have an agenda (Chronicle, KN, Guyana Times) SN is still the "most independent" to all. Perhaps they are too independent, but to suggest that this letter is instigating and that SN has an agenda and is engaged in mischief is calling for censorship

first, my concern has nothing to do with her stupidness about "diligence"

stop playing the fool and note what i highlighted in my initial post . . . it's the gigantic pile of human dung she deposited featuring the go-to dog whisltle "horrific ordeal"

but we all know that you knew that already . . . rite?

second, lifting up SN dress and exposing their dutty underwear is a universe away from a "call for censorship"!!

banna, you still not ready for prime time

Compared to other newspapers which have an agenda (Chronicle, KN, Guyana Times) SN is still the "most independent" to all. Perhaps they are too independent, but to suggest that this letter is instigating and that SN has an agenda and is engaged in mischief is calling for censorship. 

Stabroek News is my number one for news from the homeland,I am subscriber to their online edition.

Sometimes i think they don't do a good gob in reporting the news.

check here..

https://guyana.crowdstack.io/topic/m...sent-their-own-twist

Stabroek News is my number one for news from the homeland,I am subscriber to their online edition.

Sometimes i think they don't do a good gob in reporting the news.

check here..

https://guyana.crowdstack.io/topic/m...sent-their-own-twist

SN is the best resourced newspaper in Guyana, and its pedigree makes it the paper of record

however, either the editors today don't seem to take that responsibility seriously, are lost in mediocrity, or have signed on to the base agendas of well-known, bottom-feeding members of Guyana's political class

y'all be the judge

irony is that it will be people like me manning the ramparts defending their free speech rights as media owners if Harmon is stupid enough to try what Jagdeo tried to do to them

uh huh 

Compared to other newspapers which have an agenda (Chronicle, KN, Guyana Times) SN is still the "most independent" to all. Perhaps they are too independent, but to suggest that this letter is instigating and that SN has an agenda and is engaged in mischief is calling for censorship

stop playing the fool and note what i highlighted in my initial post . . . it's the gigantic pile of human dung she deposited featuring the go-to dog whisltle "horrific ordeal"

second, lifting up SN dress and exposing their dutty underwear is a universe away from a "call for censorship"!!

You need to chill with this racial politics banna...

..looks like more than 50 years of race-based politics in Guyana  has you fixated in a permanent racial prism...you are insinuating racial motive to an independent media outlet when there is no evidence that there is... for simply publishing a letter of concern (though a little misguided) from a letter writer...

This is what race politics has done to some of you people on GNI...everything is about race.

Go suck on an OREO cookie, drink some chocolate milk and watch the Brazil v Belgium soccer game...

..looks like more than 50 years of race-based politics in Guyana  has you fixated in a permanent racial prism...you are insinuating racial motive to an independent media outlet when there is no evidence that there is... for simply publishing a letter of concern (though a little misguided) from a letter writer...

This is what race politics has done to some of you people on GNI...everything is about race.

what "letter of concern" banna? . . . check yourself

Saira Alli's letter is ABSURD period!

nothing to do with being 'controversial'

their is no journalistic standard of any kind that allows oxygen to such under any [serious] circumstances . . . much less the Guyana context

Go suck on an OREO cookie, drink some chocolate milk and watch the Brazil v Belgium soccer game...

Saira Alli's letter is ABSURD period!

it is not merely "controversial"

their is no journalistic standard of any kind that allows oxygen to such under any serious circumstances . . . much less the Guyana context

OK...so here is an easy solution...write a response to the letter and ask  SN to publish it..

By the way...Guyana has no real journalist or journalistic standards of any kind...the sad reality is that every knucklehead associated with a newspaper think they are a journalist.

OK...so here is an easy solution...write a response to the letter and ask  SN to publish it..

yeah i know . . . that's the 'conversation' y'all want

remind me again of the probative/journalistic value of publishing brutally ABSURD race ramblings by a fool in a national newspaper

re-read my topic headline

smh

yeah i know . . . that's the 'conversation' y'all want

remind me again of the probative/journalistic value of publishing brutally ABSURD race ramblings by a fool in a national newspaper

re-read my topic headline

smh

Naah bunna...no time for your BS dis early maning..

Chomping on my OREO and watching the birds whistling now...