State Sen. John Sampson indicted on embezzlement charges, faces 120  years

Last Updated: 2:19 AM, May 7, 2013

Posted: 1:02 AM, May 7, 2013

With “extreme arrogance and hubris,” a Brooklyn state senator who held one of  the most powerful posts in Albany embezzled nearly half a million dollars of  escrow money he was entrusted to safeguard — and then used a mole inside the US  Attorney’s Office to keep tabs on witnesses who threatened to expose his scheme,  authorities said yesterday.

Sen. John Sampson (D-Canarsie) turned himself in to feds in Brooklyn  yesterday and was charged with embezzlement, obstruction of justice and witness  tampering, among other charges that could put him away for up to 120 years.

Sounding more like a mob boss than a Senate minority leader, Sampson, 47,  chillingly boasted to a close “associate” charged with mortgage fraud in 2011  that if his informant in the Eastern District US Attorney’s Office learned the  names of federal cooperating witnesses against the pal, then “Sampson could  arrange to ‘take them out,’ ” a nine-count indictment charges.

“The fact that he was trying to become the top state prosecutor in this  borough shows the extreme arrogance and hubris,” said Brooklyn US Attorney  Loretta Lynch, whose office is prosecuting Sampson. “It’s all about him.

“And when the defendant felt that his self-dealing would be exposed, this  defendant, this state senator, this attorney at law counseled a witness to lie,  hid evidence, and worked to reach inside the US Attorney’s Office to obtain  non-public law-enforcement information.”

Sampson allegedly urged his associate — identified by sources as Guyana-born  businessman and Sampson legal client Edul “Eddie” Ahmad — to withhold financial  documents from federal investigators that could incriminate the former Ethics  Committee chairman in crimes dating back 15 years.

The powerful pol had allegedly received a secret $188,500 “loan” from Ahmad  in 2006 — which he then used to pay back a fraction of the $440,000 he allegedly  embezzled from four foreclosure escrow accounts he controlled as a  court-appointed referee to fund his 2005 primary challenge for Brooklyn DA,  federal prosecutors claim.

Sampson later “instructed” Ahmad not to disclose to prosecutors a check  register page that revealed those payments to the senator, according to  authorities.

“That’s a problem . . . I mean for me,” Sampson allegedly told Ahmad,  referring to the register, which he had inspected himself.

Ahmad wore a wire to gather information against Sampson for prosecutors, who  also were recording the senator’s cellphone calls, sources said.

“I can’t talk on the phone,” Sampson told Ahmad during a meeting in November  2011, the indictment alleges. “From now on, our conversation is, ‘I don’t have  no contacts, you don’t know nothing.’ When we talk, that’s how we talk.”

When FBI agents confronted Sampson outside his Brooklyn home last July and  showed him a copy of Ahmad’s check register page, the senator denied having seen  it before, prosecutors said. And then Sampson claimed he had asked the mole only  for public information, prosecutors said.

After FBI agents called him on the apparent lie, the senator allegedly  responded, “Not everything I told you was false.”

A source told The Post that the US Attorney’s Office mole, who is not  identified by name in the indictment, was longtime supervisory paralegal Samuel  Noel. During his 22-year career, Noel assisted prosecutors in their 2004  conviction of Gambino crime-family boss Peter Gotti.

Prosecutors said the mole was terminated. When FBI agents searched the  mole’s office after learning about his contact with Sampson, they found “a slip  of paper which contained the handwritten names of several individuals who were  defendants in proceedings” related to Ahmad’s mortgage fraud case, prosecutors  said.

Noel, 46, did not respond to requests for comment.

Ahmad’s defense attorney could not be immediately reached for comment.

Sampson has been under federal criminal investigation since at least 2011.  After he was released on $250,000 bail yesterday, his lawyer Zachary Carter  said, “Senator Sampson has been fully cooperative with the government since we  were contacted some months ago in connection with this investigation.”

That revelation immediately led to speculation that prosecutors had tried and  failed to get Sampson to cooperate in investigations against others.

Ahmad last fall pleaded guilty to massive mortgage fraud, but has yet to be  sentenced, fueling speculation he was cooperating with prosecutors in probes of  Sampson and Rep. Gregory Meeks (D-Queens).

Over the weekend, Sampson was identified by sources as one of multiple  elected officials who had been secretly recorded by former Queens state Sen.  Shirley Huntley, who was cooperating with the feds in a bid to get a reduced  sentence for ripping off $87,000 in taxpayer funds.

Sources said Sampson approached Huntley to intercede with the Port Authority  to help a cargo company at JFK Airport get more rental space there. Huntley did  so, and netted a $1,000 bribe, according to federal authorities.

Yesterday’s indictment is not related to Sampson’s alleged contact with  Huntley on that matter, but feds are still investigating.

Sampson pleaded not guilty to the charges and was ordered to have no contact  with either Ahmad or Noel.

Prosecutors also said they had offered Sampson a deal of three to four years’  prison in exchange for guilty pleas to just two of the nine counts.

Additional reporting by Larry Celona, Melissa Klein, Isabel Vincent and  Kevin Sheehan

Read more: State Sen. John Sampson indicted on embezzlement charges - NYPOST.com http://www.nypost.com/p/news/l...DFfQyI#ixzz2Se3sELhN

Ahmad wore a wire to gather information against Sampson for prosecutors, who  also were recording the senator’s cellphone calls, sources said.

============

So Ahmad has been squealing for some time.

Sunil
Originally Posted by Sunil:

============

You think. Why you think he has not been sentenced as yet?

============

You think. Why you think he has not been sentenced as yet?

Eeee is being used to reverse all the Gains made by Minorities in this country.

This Crook who admitted and Plead Guilty to Major Mortgage Fraud and Real Estate Scams is being used to paint Black and Minority Politicians as Crooks who should never again be elected for political office.

I am not Defending Senator Sampson.....

but we are forgetting that this Crook Bribe Congressmen, Senators and even President Jagdeo.....WHY?   WHY?   WHY???

All those who took Bribes from him including Jagdeo should be Jailed.....

and he should be Jailed a Total of Double the amount of time All those Politicians who he he tried to Bribe.

Sampson, an known aFC/PNC supporter was foolish to trust Ahmad, a muslim who did some business with Jagdeo in the past. This will further cement afc/pnc distrust of ppp supporters. When they cooperate on criminal activity, the ppp supporter will sell out when his neck is on the chopping block. 

Here goes this JACKASS again. Senator Sampson probably does not know the Guyana AFC from a hole in the wall. Again, we witness the derogatory Muslim remark.

Bigotry shines in your posts Ass-Wipe!

Sampson has refused a deal which means that he must be confident that he can beat this rap. What is shocking is that Ahmad had a wire on the man. And Huntley had a wire on Sampson too. Everybody wiring up on the other. More names will be revealed soon.

Here goes this JACKASS again. Senator Sampson probably does not know the Guyana AFC from a hole in the wall. Again, we witness the derogatory Muslim remark.

Bigotry shines in your posts Ass-Wipe!

Behave yourself before I get you banned for using lewd comments and personal attacks. 

Sampson is an AFC/pnc bai, you don't even know about the man's lineage but you are quick to open your stink mouth.

According to Stabroek news: 

John L. Sampson, a New York state senator of Guyanese parentage

Also here, according to Baldeo: 

Guyanese-American John Sampson, leader of the NY State Senate, was the Guest of Honor. He described Richmond Hill as his family and referred to the crowd as fellow Guyanese. He applauded the organizers for hosting the celebration and presented awards to Pandit Ramrattan and the children of the late Shri Prakash Gossai for their father�s contributions to Hinduism in NY. Sampson showered praise on Attorney Albert Baldeo who introduced Sampson saying Baldeo was responsible for the Democrats winning the majority in the State Senate making it possible for Sampson to become the Majority Leader.

oi wile e coyote . . . I tink Kari said the man wasn't "Guyana AFC"

dat is a lang lang lang lang walk from saying that the man's heritage is NOT Guyanese

bai, you wouldn't recognize 'smartness' even if it walked right up to yuh, introduced itself, and slapped u into next week

Hey Big_Seed, I've met Senator John Sampson. He is a cousin of close family friends of mine from Georgetown. I know of his lineage and Guyana roots. I also know he is as interested in Guyana's politics as much as you are interested in intelligence and smarts.

HEHEHEHE!!!

Ahmad last fall pleaded guilty to massive mortgage fraud, but has yet to be  sentenced, fueling speculation he was cooperating with prosecutors in probes of  Sampson and Rep. Gregory Meeks (D-Queens).

.........................................................................................................

They might all be going down together.  

Originally Posted by alena06:

.........................................................................................................

They might all be going down together.  

Not might...will. It's not Guyana we talkin here, it's the USof A.

On the other hand if this story was coming out of Guyana, those guys would never have made the news and even if they did, they'd be right there, hobnobbin with the Govt. no worries.

This can go on until.....the people speak.

The best thing is for Sampson to get wire up and start spilling out some names. Soon time everyone will be wired and keeping reporters busy. Ahmad might get off scot free. looks like he brought in the big fish.

============

Dem muslim bros better watch out A snake is always a snake

Pointblank
Originally Posted by Pointblank:

Somebody did a councie hey pon we.....BlankMan go wash yuh stinky battie...

Blankeee need a good hosedown from de fireman.

Suddenly de crooks are only De muslims.....

De Ramroop, De Fip Motilall, De Manni, De Buddys, De Ramdeo, De Baldeo, De Jagdeo, De Mahadeo, are all angels

read my posts I have always been a critic of the crooks of teh PPP I always said those names you mentioned should pay by going to JAil for the torment that they caused people.

I never implied that the crooks are only muslims

Ed sits in meeting on committes at masjid Al abidin.

If ed comes and sit in your company would you trust him

Pointblank
Originally Posted by Pointblank:

============

Now that I have re-read your post you are correct.....

There is a Big difference between a Muslim Brother.....

and Ed Ahmad......

and the Masjid Folks are encouraging a snake in their company....

and they are covering for him.....

You are 100% Correct

I was wrong ....

I taught you were attacking all Muslims in General....

and Yes....

Ed sits in meeting on committes at masjid Al abidin.....

He got them into problems with the Land....

He lied about having de Transport in his Pocket...

and Today they are Protecting a Snake.....

They need to run him out the place.....