SCORES of vendors yesterday accused officers of the City Constabulary Department of the Georgetown Mayor and City Council (M&CC) of making their lives miserable when they refuse to pay them a bribe.

The City Council had extended an invitation to all vendors in order to solicit their support on the municipality’s efforts to maintain the works being done around Georgetown.

Heading the meeting were Mayor Hamilton Green, his deputy Patricia Chase-Green, Town Clerk Royston King and Councillors Oscar Clarke, Ranwell Jordan and Junior Garrett.

City Hall’s compound was filled to capacity as the vendors  turned out to voice their concerns.

Topping the list of their worries was the alleged harassment vendors experience at the hands of Constabulary officers, who reportedly are always looking for  bribes.

Other concerns raised included, inter alia, ‘junkies’ who go through garbage bins and make a mess of the environment, selling on the Merriman Mall, parking spots for trucks whose owners sell around the markets early in the mornings, and uncovered holes on the road which may prove fatal.

The names of several officers, who create problems for vendors  who do not want to pay them,were called.

In fact, one vendor complained that the stall-owners are not able to open their businesses on occasion if they have no money to pay on that day.

But Mrs Chase-Green chided those vendors who pay bribes, but complain only when they experience a problem.

“The constables don’t push their hands in your pocket,” Chase-Green said to  loud applause.
She also urged the vendors to be respectful to the constabulary officers on other occasions.

“Not because you know the Chief Constable or some other officer in authority, it means you will disrespect the constables in uniform. Don’t be no big boy or big girl and jump on your phone.”

Chase-Green also noted that it is equally important for the constabulary officers to be respectful to the vendors and not just break up their stalls and carry away their items without a proper explanation.

NO NEW VENDORS

The Town Clerk announced that for 2016, there will be no new vendors. For the Christmas season, persons who do not usually vend were allowed to do so, but authorities will be monitoring them to ensure that they do not remain on the streets now that the said period is over.

Furthermore, vendors are to decide before this month ends, which one of the Sundays for the month they will close their businesses to facilitate cleaning.

The City Council will have to choose that Sunday should the vendors fail to make a decision.

Vendors are required to pay a fee of $1000 and they have an option whether to go in and pay at City Hall or to pay when the Markets’ Revenue Clerks visit the stalls. This, according to the Deputy Mayor, is a means of generating revenue for City Hall.

Councillor Oscar Clarke told the vendors that he was particularly interested in the food handlers and called attention to how persons who sold food in the past were clean and tidy and hygienic.

Food vendors should be equipped with gloves and hair nets, he observed.

According to Clarke, food vendors ought to be licensed.
“If officers come and ask to see your licence and you can’t produce it, you will be closed down,” he cautioned.

As for the barbers who ply their trade on the road corners, Clarke warned that they too are being watched.

“Hair doesn’t disintegrate, so hair swept into the gutters and drains block up the system and result in flooding.” He encouraged the vendors to put such hair in a place where it can be disposed of properly.

Clarke urged the vendors not to litter and to go further by ensuring that people around them do not litter as well. “When you see people littering, tell them about it.”

By Telesha Ramnarine
guyanachronicle

I didn't see anything where the officers named as collecting bribes will be investigated. Only that the vendors can't choose when to pay the bribe and when to complain about having to pay bribes.

Bhai, Yuh dealing with IDIOTS!!!!!!!!!!!

Perhaps Chase-Green is totally unaware that the constables do not have to push their hands into the vendors' pockets ... with no payments to the constables life can become quite uncomfortable.

Well if APNU/AFC do nothing then they shouldn't be shocked in G/town folks boycott the election and the PPP candidate wins the mayoralty.

We are hearing much about this even here in NYC, so I see no reason why Granger and Ramjattan haven't already dealt with this problem.

PNC era all over again. Their supporters factor in the collection of bribes as part of the spoils of victory by the afc/apnu.

I see druggie has been taking his cocktail of crack, heroin and opioid pills all afternoon and its now raging incoherently.

1.  Many of the vendors are the core of the PNC, middle aged black women.

2.  Corruption was very evident in the PPP era, and now continues on into this new gov't.

What you should be doing is urging Granger to remove the yoke of petty corruption off of the shoulders of poor people.

Instead you ramble your usual septic nonsense. 

Those demanding bribes are under paid bullies, fleecing off of people even less powerful than they are, REGARDLESS of race.

PNC era all over again. Their supporters factor in the collection of bribes as part of the spoils of victory by the afc/apnu.

I see druggie has been taking his cocktail of crack, heroin and opioid pills all afternoon and its now raging incoherently.

1.  Many of the vendors are the core of the PNC, middle aged black women.

2.  Corruption was very evident in the PPP era, and now continues on into this new gov't.

What you should be doing is urging Granger to remove the yoke of petty corruption off of the shoulders of poor people.

Instead you ramble your usual septic nonsense. 

Those demanding bribes are under paid bullies, fleecing off of people even less powerful than they are, REGARDLESS of race.

The number of public service workers outnumber the vendors. Granger had to choose based on the # of votes from each segment. The bribe taking pubic service sector won in this scenario as they far outnumber the few vendors who complain. 

Drugb posted

The number of public service workers outnumber the vendors. Granger had to choose based on the # of votes from each segment. The bribe taking pubic service sector won in this scenario as they far outnumber the few vendors who complain. 

And you continue to babble your nonsense.  Every vendor is part of a household involving many people.  Every vendor talks and so others hear what they are going through. 

Bet you that it isn't just vendors who are being harassed.  Minibus drivers are, as no doubt ordinary people trying to transact business with the gov't.

So APNU will lose votes if they don't tend to this.

Now your drug addled brain cannot understand this, but these are the facts!

The PNC dictators and thugs are a lot bolder this time around.

Drugb posted

And you continue to babble your nonsense.  Every vendor is part of a household involving many people.  Every vendor talks and so others hear what they are going through. 

Bet you that it isn't just vendors who are being harassed.  Minibus drivers are, as no doubt ordinary people trying to transact business with the gov't.

So APNU will lose votes if they don't tend to this.

Now your drug addled brain cannot understand this, but these are the facts!

You will note that it is not "every vendor" who were complaining. I suspect that is only those that had an affiliation with the PPP in the past that were been shaken down + all Indian vendors.