Struggles of Guyanese ancestors must continue - President
- during Highbury arrival day celebrations

Georgetown, GINA, May 5, 2012

Source - GINA

Guyanese symbolically returned to the scene at Highbury, East Bank Berbice to witness a re-enactment of the arrival of the first batch of 128 nationals from India arrived to work as indentured immigrants on the then British Guiana colony 174 years ago.

Gay Park, East Bank Berbice youths reciting the Indian national pledge during Arrival Day celebrations at Highbury

President Donald Ramotar was among those in attendance as a replica of the Whitby carrying persons dressed in costumes portraying ancient European and East Indian immigrants, paraded through a newly constructed arch to an awaiting cultural commemoration prorgamme.

On May 5, 1838, 233 men, five women and six children from India were the first batch of East Indian immigrants to have arrived onboard the Whitby at Highbury to supplement the multi-ethnic, multi-cultural society in which Guyana today prides itself.

A replica of the Whitby that brought the first batch of Indian indentured immigrants to Guyana at Highbury, East Bank Berbice, during Arrival Day celebrations

Today’s anniversary celebration, organised by the Berbice Indian Cultural Centre Committee was one of fanfare with a fusion of African and tassa drumming, traditional Indian songs and dances and, with  the Dax New Generation Band featuring prominently.

In his address, President Donald Ramotar reminded the gathering of the efforts of Guyanese ancestors, who together laid the foundation for the country’s ethnic composition.

But the tyranny that the ancestors faced in that era, including the struggles of African slaves, was highlighted by President Ramotar who made reference to the first orchestrated rebellion in 1763 in Berbice that marked the beginning of the end to slavery in the western hemisphere.

President Donald Ramotar speaking during Arrival Day celebrations at Highbury, East Bank Berbice

But as the indentureship period began, the East Indian immigrants found themselves continuing the struggle to end disenfranchisement and inhumane conditions of work.

President Ramotar said the right to vote was the first line of priority in the struggle that was achieved through the valiant efforts of stalwarts like the late President and People’s Progressive Party (PPP) co-founder Dr. Cheddi Jagan.

President Ramotar hailed the late President, as “an intellectual, a fighter and a revolutionary against oppression everywhere.”

His struggles led to Guyana gaining independence from Britain in 1966 and becoming a sovereign state, crafting its own destiny and taking on new challenges in a rapidly progressive modern world.

A section of the large gathering during Arrival Day celebrations at Highbury, East Bank Berbice

“We still face a very unequal world where we have a lot of difficulties to carry on. International trade still goes against us and, the very people who colonised us in the past are still the ones who, although they are losing their grip gradually, still dominate in many of these international institutions,” President Ramotar said.

He encouraged the gathering to carry on the mantle started by the ancestors, using unity as the arsenal, since, “there is no way we can fight this discrimination one against the other.”

Indian cultural dancing during Arrival Day celebrations at Highbury, East Bank Berbice

Convinced that people are at the centre of development in a country, President Ramoar said his government has and will continue to craft budgets relative to the needs of the population but, with the $20.9B of funds cut from the 2012 national budget, he implored the gathering and citizens on the whole to demand an unconditional reinstatement of the funds that are geared to improve the country’s productive capacity.

President Donald Ramotar surrounded by eager Region Six residents

His urging was welcomed with loud cheers from the audience even as Alliance For Change’s leader Khemraj Ramjattan whose party, along with the A Partnership For National Unity cut the budget, and who was an invited guest, sat in apparent amusement.

There were also loud cheers when President Ramotar gave the assurance that road repairs to the East Bank Berbice access road will be undertaken this year as is included in the 2012 national budget.

President urges Guyanese to call for unconditional reversal of budget cuts

Georgetown, GINA, May 5, 2012

Source - GINA

President Donald Ramotar takes time off to pose for photographs with children at Region 3 Arrival Day celebrations

Head of State Donald Ramotar today issued a call for Guyanese to make their voices heard in a demand for the unconditional reversal of the recent budget cuts by the parliamentary opposition.

He was at the time speaking at Arrival Day celebrations in Regions 3, 6 and Georgetown.

The President stated that since 1992, the biggest area of spending by the administration was focused of the development of peoples’ capacity because of the sincere belief that the country that will develop the fastest is not one with the most natural resources, but, with an educated population.

“When our people are educated, when they are healthy, when they have their own homes, when they have running water in their homes, when they have these basic necessities, these are the things that will give them the conditions to express their creativity and to build their country.”

President Ramotar explained that the administration’s focus on education, health and housing has made a major difference in the lives of people. He noted that there are many other plans in place, such as the hydro electric power station. This is aimed at providing cheap electricity for the entire country, “but more important it will give us an opportunity to build a manufacturing sector and to process our agricultural products which will create jobs and create wealth and allow us to do more for our people.”

He pointed also to the one laptop per family programme in recognition of the future which will depend a lot on people learning to use a computer.

President Donald Ramotar addresses Region 3 gathering at Joe Vieira Park on Arrival Day

“All of these things are vital and we want to ensure that we develop the capacity of every Guyanese to be able to use these tools and to be able to improve themselves and in the process to develop our country,” the President stated. “Unfortunately you have seen in the last budget, $21billion directed at these same areas has been cut.”

The President noted however, that the funds were not necessarily taxpayers’ money, but money earned from selling Guyana’s capacity to absorb carbon.

The Head of State launched a direct call to Guyanese to lift their voices and demand the reversal of the budget cuts. “That is why your voices must be heard. Your voices must be heard because you are directly affected, your children are affected and the future generation in this country can be slowed down. And I want to remind those of you who think that we cannot reverse, to remember in 1964, Guyana had the highest standard of living in the whole Caribbean…We must not allow that to happen… and we call on you to call on them to reinstitute those programmes unconditionally.”

Referring to Opposition demands which must be fulfilled before the cuts are reversed, he asked, “What do I have to give to get a computer in everyone’s hands? What do I have to give to have more house lots for our people?”

Mi meet Ramo cupple time, is wan good bai.  Hat natt hard and cold laka BJ, bu we need BJ foa keep dem Buxton bai in dem carna.  BJ ah wan lose cannon donk hay sao no bady nah tek chance.  Dem Fantoms deh out deh.

Originally Posted by Sledgehammer:

Mi meet Ramo cupple time, is wan good bai.  Hat natt hard and cold laka BJ, bu we need BJ foa keep dem Buxton bai in dem carna.  BJ ah wan lose cannon donk hay sao no bady nah tek chance.  Dem Fantoms deh out deh.

ummm no . . . He was a frightened little apparatchik (albeit with superb tiefman instincts) who was played by Roger Khan.

Keep up the heroic efforts @ mythmaking . . . some of it may eventually stick.

Poor Sash Sawh!  

Actually, the land was called Guyana by native peoples before it took the geographical shapes it has today.

It was known as Guiana by the native people before its new name, Guyana.

Actually, the land was called Guyana by native peoples before it took the geographical shapes it has today.

wow, I neva kno da, a how yuh figa thad out..,you mussi prapa smaat when yu see suh...

a matter of spelling fool The word is the same in the spoken language.

Europeans are the ones who understood the native meaning of 'Land of Many Waters' to be Guiana. It stretched from the Orinoco to the Amazon. The Alantic filters its way down many of its rivers and creeks and floods its coastline.

Europeans were always troubled by this patch of land and named it the 'Wild Coast.'  

Like numerous other things, it will take an extremely long time for you to understand the difference.

It will take an extremely long time for you to understand the difference.

By  the time I get as old and asinine as you I guess.

By the time I get as old and asinine as you I guess.

Perhaps, as usual and unknown to yourself, you are one for an extremely long time.

By the time I get as old and asinine as you I guess.

Perhaps, as usual and unknown to yourself, you are one for an extremely long time.

incorrect