If this is not a troubling issue for all Guyanese in the diaspora, then what is?

A thread was shut down recently on thus very topic for spurious. I know of a lot of posters who will not visit this site if this one is shut down too.

In my last two visits to Guyana there were well-respected civic-minded Guyanese who proffered that this was an endemic situation that needs attending to, and they started out-reach to susceptible communities like in Berbice and the Courantyne.

All theories, statistics, and opinions welcomed. Keep it civil.

If this is not a troubling issue for all Guyanese in the diaspora, then what is?

A thread was shut down recently on thus very topic for spurious. I know of a lot of posters who will not visit this site if this one is shut down too.

In my last two visits to Guyana there were well-respected civic-minded Guyanese who proffered that this was an endemic situation that needs attending to, and they started out-reach to susceptible communities like in Berbice and the Courantyne.

Stop selling grammazone and rope.

Stop disrespecting PPP supporters in Berbice....

Do not tell dem Kwame is a Black-Hindu,

Do not tell dem Sugar Workers guh hang Mala pon Monkey neck,

Do not tell indian Buggerism will mix well with their Religon.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

== Only war will force the British to return Malvinas to South AMerica= Buggery

Will You-G & Councie still practice & support

Corruption, Criminals, Smuggling & Buggery 

Guyana deserves better than this.

Will the Sugar workers waste their Vote & Support

Corruption, Criminals, Smuggling & Buggery 

Originally Posted by Sheik101:

Kari want to come here an preach on us like only he knows Guyana. This is another Shiek101.

At least Kari got the balls to go to Guyana and make an observation, unlike you two sad sacks who can't even mek it to the airport. JFK I mean.

You just like Kari, full of shit. Plenty talk and no action. Talk is CHEAP!!!

By any standard of measurement, suicide is a serious and grave matter.

Everyone loves life. It's not easy to suddenly decide to end one's own life.

There are many reasons why one may want to kill oneself. Lots of studies have been done to identify the reasons generally. Those reasons could very well be applicable to cases in Guyana, with an understandably Guyanese coloring.

Likewise, there are general professional recommendations and measures to prevent suicide. All that is required is the will of some competent authority, usually but not exclusively a government agency, to act on the recommendations by taking pointed measures.

One such measure is a concerted campaign to raise awareness that suicide needs not be the final solution to personal problems.

Government agencies, schools, religious organizations, even trade unions, ought to step forward and share resources, expertise and manpower to undertake the appropriate tasks.

I lost a few relatives because of suicide over the past 45 years. Sometimes I reflect and wonder what they could have accomplished if they had stayed alive.

Kari any idea why this problem seems to be worse in Berbice than Essequibo.

1. They both have heavily Indian populations, so culturally should be similar.

2.  They are both agricultural so pesiticides are just as available.

Is it that there is something going one among sugar workers?  Thats the onloy difference I can think of between Berbice and Essequibo.

Because Essequibo doesnt seem to be the ground zero for suicides that Berbice is.

If indeed the answer is that people who live in regions where sugar is more important are undergoing unique stress, then the PPP CANNOT skip away from it, as they are trying to do.

Originally from Berbice, I can say the following about the very high rate of suicides:

Easy access to pesticides. Readily available.

Lack of resources to assist Berbicians who are suicidial.

Lack of religious leaders who will confront the issue and are willing to discuss it in Mosques and Mandirs etc.

Lack of a social network to provide assistance and support for those who are depressed or facing social problems.

Mental illness like depression are not properly treated and little resources are available to assist those suffering from these illnesses.

Can the government assist ? Yes and they must act now.

Should we lay blame ? No but we must all lend a helping hand.

Can we stop suicides ? No, but the government can play in role in reducing this problem.

Kari any idea why this problem seems to be worse in Berbice than Essequibo.

1. They both have heavily Indian populations, so culturally should be similar.

2.  They are both agricultural so pesiticides are just as available.

Is it that there is something going one among sugar workers?  Thats the onloy difference I can think of between Berbice and Essequibo.

Because Essequibo doesnt seem to be the ground zero for suicides that Berbice is.

If indeed the answer is that people who live in regions where sugar is more important are undergoing unique stress, then the PPP CANNOT skip away from it, as they are trying to do.

Sugar workers are more industrial and working conditions are more rigid. Rice farmers have other economic activities like vegetable farming, poultry rearing and in some cases fishing.

Growing up in Essequibo I find that both Indians and Blacks were more of a docile nature than Berbicians and indeed Demerarans. There was more of a tolerance for the different race/culture/religion. No wonder they call us the Cinderella county. Look at an Essequibian and he's always consensual.

How this translate to a disposition to be more suicidal I don't know. Cane cutters chop, and chop, and chop. The cutlass (sugar) I guess becomes a more natural extension than a combine (rice). You will find that rice farmers have more of a stronger family nucleus. This is not to disparage sugar workers - they have borne the brunt of the struggle for Guyana's growth. I  just see their industrial environment more rigid than the pastoral agricultural pursuits of Essequibians.

I'm open to critique of what I just said. I speak honestly, but if my perceptions are off-track I'm willing to listen. I'm no expert in this area. I've had the strong family grounding in Essequibo and the competitive environment of Demerara. I always used to see Berbice as an exotic place, and always want to go there for the experience.

Originally from Berbice, I can say the following about the very high rate of suicides:

Easy access to pesticides. Readily available.

Lack of resources to assist Berbicians who are suicidial.

Lack of religious leaders who will confront the issue and are willing to discuss it in Mosques and Mandirs etc.

Lack of a social network to provide assistance and support for those who are depressed or facing social problems.

Mental illness like depression are not properly treated and little resources are available to assist those suffering from these illnesses.

Can the government assist ? Yes and they must act now.

Should we lay blame ? No but we must all lend a helping hand.

Can we stop suicides ? No, but the government can play in role in reducing this problem.

Essequibo is also an agricultural region with a high Indian population, yet seems less impacted, so I think that there is more going on.

OK we can see why Trinidad will be lower as they are less agricultural, so pesticides are less available.  Yet ECD has the highest rural Indo population, yet doesn't seem to have this problem to the degree that Berbice does.

. The cutlass (sugar) I guess becomes a more natural extension than a combine (rice). You will find that rice farmers have more of a stronger family nucleus. This is not to disparage sugar workers - they have borne the brunt of the struggle for Guyana's growth. I  just see their industrial environment more rigid than the pastoral agricultural pursuits of Essequibians.

Actually Kari you have raised some very valid points.  While ECD and WCD have also historically been sugar areas the population has been drifting away from this recently.  So Berbice is the heartland of sugar.

Sugar estates aren't the most pleasant places because of the impersonal industrial nature of relationships, and the rigid work regimen. I can see the family structure being weaker, because unlike rice, work is based on being AWAY from the family, and not collectively working with the family.  

Even though it is agricultural it is actually more like working in a factory, and there is a built hostility between the bosses and the workers.  Its actually more like Linden than like Essequibo. 

Linden has its own share of pathologies and violence as well, just fewer suicides because Africans seem less desposed to do this.  I don't know if the Christian notion of eternal damnation (suicide is considered a sin) might be the reason.  But Linden was always a more aggressive place than G/twn, even though smaller.

. The cutlass (sugar) I guess becomes a more natural extension than a combine (rice). You will find that rice farmers have more of a stronger family nucleus. This is not to disparage sugar workers - they have borne the brunt of the struggle for Guyana's growth. I  just see their industrial environment more rigid than the pastoral agricultural pursuits of Essequibians.

Actually Kari you have raised some very valid points.  While ECD and WCD have also historically been sugar areas the population has been drifting away from this recently.  So Berbice is the heartland of sugar.

Sugar estates aren't the most pleasant places because of the impersonal industrial nature of relationships, and the rigid work regimen. I can see the family structure being weaker, because unlike rice, work is based on being AWAY from the family, and not collectively working with the family.  

Even though it is agricultural it is actually more like working in a factory, and there is a built hostility between the bosses and the workers.  Its actually more like Linden than like Essequibo. 

Linden has its own share of pathologies and violence as well, just fewer suicides because Africans seem less desposed to do this. I don't know if the Christian notion of eternal damnation (suicide is considered a sin) might be the reason.  But Linden was always a more aggressive place than G/twn, even though smaller.

Suicide is also considered the greatest sin in the Vedic religion.

Linden has its own share of pathologies and violence as well, just fewer suicides because Africans seem less desposed to do this. I don't know if the Christian notion of eternal damnation (suicide is considered a sin) might be the reason.  But Linden was always a more aggressive place than G/twn, even though smaller.

In any religion sucide is a sin.

Stop bring your religious bigotry here - YUJI.

In any religion sucide is a sin.

Stop bring your religious bigotry here - YUJI.

Bhai

Looks like you left your brain home today. Read Carbi's statement again.