The issue is not about who is killing themselves but rather that Granger has aggravated the situation. There is no evidence that suicide in Guyana is more prevalent among Hindus than any other religion.

There is evidence that Hindus commit suicide at higher rates than others.  In fact Black Bush Polder is known as ground ZERO for suicides in Guyana.

So it might not even be about Hindus killing themselves at higher rates. It might be about conditions in the PPP HEARTLAND.

http://www.kaieteurnewsonline....igion-are-in-crisis/

Now go argue with your fellow Hindu.

Nonsense, this "evidence" is from that famous survey that you took years ago from the voices in your head. It appears that you are still referencing this fictitious figment of your imagination.  

What is significant is that Granger is now presiding over a burgeoning suicidal population that are pushed further to the brink by his failed policies to keep on course a robust economy inherited from the PPP. 

Always knew you only post to build up count, not for substance.

Originally Posted by Tola:

Some nice 'expert' opinions, like hot air.

Is it initiating any action to help resolve the suicide prevention problem in Guyana ?

What a  bunch of friggin' deadbeats.

Tola, baseman claims that you have ideas for suicide prevention.

70% of the suicide victims are Hindus. Granger isn't, but I suspect you are, so what are the solutions, which baseman claims that you have.

Do you expect a Christian to know the specific conditions among Hindus which leads them to have a suicide rate almost 3X the rest of the population?

These people try to politicize the issue and as such talk past it.  They talking about hopelessness, economic despair, etc yet South Korea is #2 behind Guyana.  What is needed is an objective deep-dive into the environment and triggers to suicide and not running around talking big and pointing fingers.

I had two friends who committed suicide in Guyana, one 12 and the other 19 and it had nothing to do with PNC Govt, just family squabble.  I met a woman going to Guyana for a funeral of a 21 yr old who committed suicide.  He had his own tractor and land, committed suicide because someone robbed him and he was embarrassed to tell his parents.  We just saw a young Indian couple committed suicide at the sea wall, I'm sure some family conflict.

There is a psyche in Guyana among some sectors where suicide seem to be an accepted way out of dealing with conflict.  Why, what causing that needs to be studied.  This is a deep-seated mass-psychology issue which needs to be studied, a long-term issue and will need a long-term solution.  There are no quick-fixes.

Those who jump and prance calling themselves expert and think the solution it to point to some Govt policy totally missing the boat.

Is hari kari considered suicide? 

harikari - ritual suicide by self-disembowelment on a sword; practiced by samurai in the traditional Japanese society

SOURCE: thefreedictionary.com

Maybe those in Guyana who commit suicide, choose to on a moral principle. Object to unconscionable edicts by their governments.

Nah, siggy, don't stretch it so far. Most times the newspapers report the suspected or declared causes of individual suicides. And most times the root cause is family conflict and relationship problems.

Those who jump and prance calling themselves expert and think the solution it to point to some Govt policy totally missing the boat.

Druggie is a clown whose brain has been damaged by drug abuse.

His name drugB, means drugged brain.

And yes, there is even a name that the Koreans have to describe a deeply engrained suicidal tendency.

Maybe those in Guyana who commit suicide, choose to on a moral principle. Object to unconscionable edicts by their governments.

So the folks in Black Bush Polder were anti PPP.  That is ground zero for suicides.   For a long time too.

Too many Bollywood movies...them people in the movies always committing suicide for one stupid reason or another

Like you are still using VHS tape with a VCR.

When last did you watch a Bollowood movie in Blu ray or 3D ?

You are full of nonsense here. Get with the times man.

Too many Bollywood movies...them people in the movies always committing suicide for one stupid reason or another

In the recent past years, it has become a common theme. I think their  aim is to highlight the high suicide rates in India and to show that suicide is not the answer. It's not working because it is driving more young people to suicide by creating copy cats. Have you seen 3 Idiots?

yuh sayin that they don't have suicides anymore in the movies...yuh right that I haven't seen one in years

Love, parental pressures and failures in school seem to be the most common reasons.

i guess the people read GNI and could not take it anymore so they kill them self  

I know a Guyanese woman who recently defended suicide in Indian films as an act of "ultimate sacrifice".

Do you agree with her?