Sun and Sand Hotel construction to begin soon

An artist's impression of the Sun and Sand Hotel

An artist’s impression of the Sun and Sand Hotel

… paper work, surveying being finalised

President Donald Ramotar on Monday confirmed that the construction of the US$54M Sun and Sand Hotel is expected to commence soon, dismissing misinformation being peddled by Opposition members that the project lacks transparency and is falling through.

Back in July, Ramotar had turned the sod along with officials from the Indian owned Sun and Sand Group of Companies for the commencement of work on the hotel.

The Hotel, when completed, will include a casino, along with a commercial block and club house.

Rooms

It will contain 163 rooms and provide jobs for several hundred Guyanese. The construction of the five-star hotel is expected to last for approximately 18 months.

In the interim, that work has been delayed somewhat due to teething issues with getting the project off the work.

But Alliance For Change (AFC) Leader, Khemraj Ramjattan is quoted in sections of the media as expressing the view that there might be more to the actual deal that the government negotiated with the Indian investors.

http://www.guyanatimesgy.com/2...ction-to-begin-soon/

SWEET, SWEET GUYANA, COME ON EVERYONE SING ALONG. ABEE GUYANA SWETT LAKA SUMUTOO, DOWN THE ROAD WE GO WINING AND DANCING TO SWEET, SWEET CALYPSO.

FIVE MORE YEARS!!!   FIVE MORE YEARS!!!

The opposition is able to make that claim only because the transactions are intransparent and reeks of a similar scheme as the specialty hospital.

Stormy, The Opposition has all the RIGHT to make such claims. THe Govt responsibility is to show that their claims are incorrect.

The opposition is able to make that claim only because the transactions are intransparent and reeks of a similar scheme as the specialty hospital.

Stormy, The Opposition has all the RIGHT to make such claims. THe Govt responsibility is to show that their claims are incorrect.

Unfortunately they do not make it well since these "investors" here has their eyes on the greater prize buried in our soil and is tying "investment" to deals here.

These types of deals are happening every day all over the World.  The Opposition Job should be to ensure GUyanese get their monies worth and not stop progress.

Ramjattan spreading rumors again. This chap never learn. 

Why does the PPP not want to be transparent with the deal? Remember Surendra deal?

How do you know it is NOT transparent?

Ramjattan spreading rumors again. This chap never learn. 

Why does the PPP not want to be transparent with the deal? Remember Surendra deal?

How do you know it is NOT transparent?

put it in the public domain 

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

Why does Guyana need one hotel per visiting family?

T, your thought is totally off beat. Why investors would spend millions to build accommodation for one family per hotel? You need to answer your own question here.

what a nerd you leave your brain under some bottom house 

HEHEHE What a nice way to tell deh banna he is an IDIOT.

a next fool that is sailing,think what the man is saying  

Mr. T is a good man. Everybody have a right to opine in Guyanese affairs. That's what make Guyana moving ahead with better understanding. 

Yeah Man.  Ride on brother. Five on the back hand side.

Nehru, don't forget we the Princess and Marriott hotels cashing in on their profits by doing business in lovey Guyana. We also have endless medium and small size hotel all around the country that offers accommodation for foreign guests and locals alike. Business are booming in Guyana.

Lots of the hotels are quite happy.  If Indian investors want to waste their money that is their right.  When taxpayers' funds are used or money laundering is involved that is another matter.

You are missing the point here Carib this ain't no hotel going up. This is a scam.

It's striking how so few seem to have grasped the essence of my question.

I guess I was being too sarcastic.   There are a few real hotels in Guyana, and these usually aren't too full.   Most of them are money laundering mills, so really don't care whether they make money or not. 

I really don't see why such a lavish hotel as proposed by the Indians is necessary.  We don't host major conferences too often.  We don't get that many overseas business people, and 75% of the visitors do not stay in hotels as most are returning Guyanese.

But its the Indians' money, and until/unless we hear that they are getting some subsidy to mitigate losses then we ought not to worry.   If they are money laundering then so are most big business people in Guyana so what's new.   That is Guyana.

First of all, Indians are not wasting money, they invest with confidence. Second, all investment moneys are private funds, besides the Marriott. So, what other problem you have? 

Quit the bull. Which investment from the berbice river bridge to the Marriott to the Stadium to the specialty hospital involved "investors" to date? They have all been slight of hand tricks to convert the states assets into private holdings most of which can only get such lucrative deals if kickbacks were not in the deal.

The Marriott is a whole different fish.  That is a 100% government funded project where the private investors will get 67% of the profits despite being responsible for under 10% of the funding.  Complete and blatant corruption, and yet another incident of the PPP funding its friends using tax payer dollars.

The Indians are funding their own project,  so if they lose money than that its their loss.  Maybe it can be converted into a hospital once it fails.

Visitor arrivals are down.  No one crossing into Lethem or the Corentyne from Brazil or Suriname will stay at these hotels.  Visitor arrivals by air declined last year, and there doesn't seem to be evidence that there was any increase this year.  The hotels are empty most of them time, so why is there a need for more rooms, especially in G/town?

But like I said if the gov't isn't subsidizing this project why will we care?  I feel confident that the Indians want other things and build this to facilitate some type of corruption.

Caribny, I wouldn't advise to be a politician. You have your priority all over the place and believe you're a master in these areas. You remind me of the PNC ideology. Confusing!

Confusing to YOU!