Discussions aimed at creating economic prosperity, improved relations between Guyana, Suriname – President Ali

Guyana’s President, Dr Irfaan Ali last evening said that over the last two days the discussions with the President of Suriname and his delegation were geared towards achieving more opportunities for the private sector and greater prosperity for the people of both countries.

The Head of State made this affirmation during a State Dinner hosted in honour of the Official Visit of the President of the Republic of Suriname, Chandrikapersad Santokhi, First Lady of Suriname, Mellisa Santokhi-Seenacherry, and several members of his Cabinet.

β€œWe have made some very strategic decisions in the interest of Guyana and Suriname, we have decided on some joint approaches in important areas of oil and gas, environment, security, legal system…. There are many areas that we have discussed and achieved common ground. I am very happy tonight to see the large contingent of private sector personnel from Suriname; this not only demonstrates the interest in Guyana but more importantly, it demonstrates the opportunity for the private sectors to come together to achieve greater prosperity for their businesses and the people of both countries and that is what all the discussions were geared towards.”

President Ali pointed to the discussions during Tuesday’s plenary session which he said were β€œvery long and extensive” and which resulted in strategic decisions in the interest of both countries.

BENEFICIAL TIES
In his remarks, President Santokhi once again expressed appreciation for the hospitality extended to his delegation.

β€œGuyana’s warm hospitality offered to me and my delegation is beyond expectation.”

He said that as neighbouring countries, Suriname and Guyana must maintain β€œsure and mutual” beneficial ties, since, in today’s challenging world, success can only be achieved by building resilient and prosperous economies and peaceful societies. He said to achieve this, it is imperative that the countries work together within the framework of the Governments and the framework of the public/private sector cooperation.

The Surinamese Head of State assured that the political will between the two Heads of State is present and will drive the collaborations moving forward.

He too noted that the discussions between the two governments since his delegation arrived have resulted in far-reaching decisions that will elevate the collaborations to another level.

β€œAllow me to reconfirm our intention to strengthen the bilateral bond between our people and the respective governments and private sectors.”

in all the news, allyuh see anything about discussions how to fix the flooding problem? nothing, nada.  can you believe this?

On a serious note, this is something that must be addressed immediately. Two months ago when I went down there the situation was bad. I can't speak for the outer areas since I didn't go, but Georgetown took a beatings.

Someone on FB told me that the Govt.in 2015 did asked for advice from the Dutch. But I haven't heard anything if there was any follow up

Before when we had floodings it was manageable. Now, based on what I've seen, it's real bad.

I'm sure Govt could use some oil money to try and remedy the situation and should make it a priority. But in so far nothing is happening.

prashad's dream coming true   

Prash said he abandoned that dream. No more "independent sovereign nation". Said he's afraid of all the "fite up koolie people", they may beat him and throw him out the nation he founded because he's dark skinned.

He decided to spend more time in Harlem instead.

@Mitwah posted:

It would be less expensive to develop areas away from the flood plains than to build massive high walls to keep the rising ocean out of the low lying areas which will become an impassable mud shoal.

Cainsta, I agree with you that the coast land will become another Atlantis.

High walls will not work--the water will find a way around them with greater force.