“Surprise me and support it” – Jagdeo to Govt

Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo

Motion to declare MPs’ assets

With the motion for all Members of Parliament (MPs) to make public declarations of taxable incomes and all overseas assets likely to be debated on when Parliament resumes on November 12, Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo is calling on the government to “surprise me and support it”.

During an exclusive interview, Jagdeo said it is highly likely the government parliamentarians will reject the motion since its passage could eventually put them in a compromising situation.

Nevertheless, in keeping with the interest of transparency and accountability, Jagdeo is urging government to do the honourable thing and support the motion.

On more than one occasion Jagdeo had advocated for all Parliamentarians to declare their overseas asset and to make public their annual income tax returns to the Guyana Revenue Authority (GRA).

This proposal came in light of the many accusations against him and other People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) officials about having large sums of monies hidden in private accounts.

“I said to the President (David Granger) that since there have been lots of charges about people stashing money abroad… and since we are in this transparency mode, some of the things we can work on are, first of all, why don’t we get all of our Members of Parliament to make public, not just to the Integrity Commission, but to make public, their assets…” Jagdeo had stated.

The Opposition Leader asserted that if government is truly in favour of transparency, then it should not be opposed to these measures since they enhance transparency.

However, Vice President and Public Security Minister Khemraj Ramjattan had previously declared that government MPs need not publicly disclose their assets.

According to Ramjattan, Guyanese should not be interested in the wealth of the governing APNU/AFC parliamentarians but should rather focus on the PPP/C members.

Ramjattan argued that the idea of having an across-the-board public declaration of assets is “wholly outrageous”. He contended that APNU/AFC parliamentarians are not wealthy and the public should not focus on their assets.

“So it is not about us, the public has no reason to be interested in our wealth …,” Ramjattan insisted.

Nonetheless, the former President is of the view that such a move would augur well for Guyana’s development and the PPP/C was prepared to work with anyone on transparency related matters.

I support this call.  Let us declare the assets.

Yes, 

Including ALL AFC/PNC MP's.

Yes, all Head of Department and MPs.

Not So Quick......First let Jagdeo account for the Over US$200. Million which disappear on the New Skeldon Sugar Factory.

MP's declaring their assets now will not uncover anything.

The Problem is with PPP officials who stole money under Jagdeo & Ramotar.

Yuh think them stupid fuh keep the money in them Name?

Harmond mek he self stupid....and the PPP Bhai from GPL get away with $30 Million.....and De PPP Bhai laughing at Harmond, Felix & Basil Williams now.

Kishan all Guyanese know who thief the money....Stay Focused on the thieves....Charge them and Lock them up.

Do not allow the Thieves make the Rules & Laws.

Yes, 

Yes, all Head of Department and MPs.

I have no problem with that either. AFC/PNC cannot demand this from others and refuse to declare their assets.

Originally Posted by asj:

“Surprise me and support it” – Jagdeo to Govt

Motion to declare MPs’ assets

With the motion for all Members of Parliament (MPs) to make public declarations of taxable incomes and all overseas assets likely to be debated on when Parliament resumes on November 12, Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo is calling on the government to “surprise me and support it”.

During an exclusive interview, Jagdeo said it is highly likely the government parliamentarians will reject the motion since its passage could eventually put them in a compromising situation.

Nevertheless, in keeping with the interest of transparency and accountability, Jagdeo is urging government to do the honourable thing and support the motion.

On more than one occasion Jagdeo had advocated for all Parliamentarians to declare their overseas asset and to make public their annual income tax returns to the Guyana Revenue Authority (GRA).

This proposal came in light of the many accusations against him and other People’s Progressive Party/Civic (PPP/C) officials about having large sums of monies hidden in private accounts.

“I said to the President (David Granger) that since there have been lots of charges about people stashing money abroad… and since we are in this transparency mode, some of the things we can work on are, first of all, why don’t we get all of our Members of Parliament to make public, not just to the Integrity Commission, but to make public, their assets…” Jagdeo had stated.

The Opposition Leader asserted that if government is truly in favour of transparency, then it should not be opposed to these measures since they enhance transparency.

However, Vice President and Public Security Minister Khemraj Ramjattan had previously declared that government MPs need not publicly disclose their assets.

According to Ramjattan, Guyanese should not be interested in the wealth of the governing APNU/AFC parliamentarians but should rather focus on the PPP/C members.

Ramjattan argued that the idea of having an across-the-board public declaration of assets is “wholly outrageous”. He contended that APNU/AFC parliamentarians are not wealthy and the public should not focus on their assets.

“So it is not about us, the public has no reason to be interested in our wealth …,” Ramjattan insisted.

Nonetheless, the former President is of the view that such a move would augur well for Guyana’s development and the PPP/C was prepared to work with anyone on transparency related matters.

I support this once it has legal binding such that if someone is caught lying they will be an occupant of lot 12.

empty gesture by a gross thief

he'll just lie and smile . . . and that's it!

will Jagdeo stipulate as to the credibility of Interpol/FBI/US Treasury evidence and analysis and support its admissability without fuss in a Guyana court? . . . with felony convictions for those who lie

over to u Dr5 . . . surprise me

will Jagdeo stipulate as to the credibility of Interpol/FBI/US Treasury evidence and analysis and support its admissability without fuss in a Guyana court? . . . with felony convictions for those who lie

I support the call, once it includes gov'ts ability to a forensic audit, and to obtain information from 3rd parties to verify claims.

It shouldn't be just up to Jagdeo to determine what is assets are, as we know he lies.

Not So Quick......First let Jagdeo account for the Over US$200. Million which disappear on the New Skeldon Sugar Factory.

MP's declaring their assets now will not uncover anything.

The Problem is with PPP officials who stole money under Jagdeo & Ramotar.

Yuh think them stupid fuh keep the money in them Name?

Harmond mek he self stupid....and the PPP Bhai from GPL get away with $30 Million.....and De PPP Bhai laughing at Harmond, Felix & Basil Williams now.

Kishan all Guyanese know who thief the money....Stay Focused on the thieves....Charge them and Lock them up.

Do not allow the Thieves make the Rules & Laws.

ARE YOU IN FAVOR OF TRANSPARENCY??It is the right thing to do and still investigate the PPP. so far NOTHING has turned up, maybe they will spend the next 5 years WITCH HUNTING. I bet you all ,there will be NO charges.

Well if Jags is a tief, how come he not in front of the courts.  YOU incompetent imbeciles who only flashing HOT air through your arse all day.

To make matter worst, even the lady with a whole ton of evidence against here, former Minista Jenny is walking the streets.

Basil Williams should be fired.

And so there is no way tp draw the line.....so thiefing will continue.

What does Ramjattan and AFC/PNC ministers have to hide ? What are they hiding ?

let jagdeo set the example and the rest will follow when that day come i will become a born again christian 

Yes, 

where was your mouth on this issues for the past 23 yrs if the ppp did do the right thing and make it mandatory  then guyana tax payer might have save lots of money 

Originally Posted by Brian Teekah:
O

Well if Jags is a tief, how come he not in front of the courts.  YOU incompetent imbeciles who only flashing HOT air through your arse all day.

To make matter worst, even the lady with a whole ton of evidence against here, former Minista Jenny is walking the streets.

Basil Williams should be fired.

The smartest thieves know how to cover their tracks. It takes a while for their criminal behavior to be uncovered.

What Jagdeo needs to do is to tell us how he acquired his assets, given that he was broke in 1992, and the salaries earned by ministers hasnt historically been that high.

What Ramjattan got to hide? He is the biggest thief. Jagdeo will tear their asses in parliament and clear his name once and for all.

There should be legislation for MPs and designated high-officials to declare their assets on a yearly basis.

Elected members have a responsibility and indeed a duty to fulfill this requirement.

What Ramjattan got to hide? He is the biggest thief. Jagdeo will tear their asses in parliament and clear his name once and for all.

Ramjattan was the man who represented Omai in the cyanide spill that contaminated the Essequibo.  No body brought that up at elections time.

Originally Posted by VVP:

Ramjattan was the man who represented Omai in the cyanide spill that contaminated the Essequibo.  No body brought that up at elections time.

If this is the Truth.....and if it was in the media please post it so we can see the truth.

I'll check  to see if I can find something.

D2, we discussed the Omai spill here, do you have that thread or how can I find it?

I do not know Ramjattan was playing any part with Omai or the Spill.

What I know Norman McClean was head of Omai.....

and while Jagan was alive

PPP never forgive McClean for his past sins....

But as Soon as Jagan Died......

Jagdeo partnership with McClean became obvious.

Jagdeo claimed he was Introduced to McClean

by Donald Ramotar who was receiving US$5,000/month

as a Member of Omai Board of Directors.

Next we heard McClean, Lamumba & Kwame

were occuping important positions

in the Office of the President

and over at Freedom House.

Moses & Ramjattan

objected to the Thugs being Recruited by the PPP ....

but Jagdeo & Ramotar open the door

and welcome them in Freedom House.

Moses, Ramjattan & Others

keep exposing the PPP/House Of Israel Connection.

Jagdeo & Ramotar keep telling PPP Supporters

these Black Thugs are Hindus Brothers,

and later we know

Moses, Ramjattan & Others left the PPP.

This caused the PPP to lose

(1) Parliament Majority in 2011

(2) Govt in 2015

And De Jagdeo & Ramotar Marriage Bruck-up.

Jagdeo throw Ramotar out de bedroom

and took over Leadership of the PPP.

Ramotar Sleeping on the Couch outside

Kwame hallowing Ouch in the Bedroom.

Now Ramotar fighting Back.

Two terms enough for President – Ramotar

-says he and PPP firm on this

"coup de'etat" within the PPP?  Just wondering.

Pepie Hombre 

The same thing i am thinking. Dam the Donald is hurt and hurting bad tooooo..

http://www.stabroeknews.com/20...r-president-ramotar/

Why is Ramjattann and ALL AFC/PNC MP's afraid of revealing their assets including foreign owned assets ?

AFC campaigned on transparency.

Has the AFC flushed transparency in the toilet ?

Dr. Jagdeo was saying all the time to make it law that all ministers in government must declear their assets include foreign accounts. If the honorable gentleman made such bold statement, PNC should be happy and get it over with. So who is the thief?

AFC/PNC is scared Shyte of declaring their assets including foreign owned assets.

Wonder Why ?

How Long....23 Years?????

Let us declare the assets of all active and serving politicians.

Most of them are bandits anyway.

Let us declare the assets of all active and serving politicians.

Most of them are bandits anyway.

Bhai yuh know better.....Do not mix up them from AFC & WPA with them PPP & PNC thiefman.

Why are the afc/apnu supporters not agreeing with Jagdeo on this? When they were in opposition they called for the declaration of all ministers assets, now their lips are sealed, including Jalil. 

And so there is no way tp draw the line.....so thiefing will continue.

What does Ramjattan and AFC/PNC ministers have to hide ? What are they hiding ?

let jagdeo set the example and the rest will follow when that day come i will become a born again christian 

He already did.  He declared his assets and now it's time kakamootoo  and others to declare there's.  The Government must set an example and declare their assets.  The Ministers already pocketed millions of tax payers money with the notion that it will prevent them from taking bribes.