October 12 2018

The Police in Berbice have arrested a man who they believe may have been responsible for the abduction and rape of a Corentyne teenager after a home invasion on Sunday night.

The suspect, said to be from Whim Village, Corentyne, was identified to the police by the 18-year-old victim of the assault and the man was arrested on Tuesday evening.

The young woman has told police that both of the men who invaded her family’s home are known to her, since they would have harassed her several times in the past. “When we does pass them to go pick things… them does interfere with me,” she told Stabroek News.

On Sunday, around 11 pm, two men, armed with a gun, attacked the woman’s family at their home and relieved them of a small quantity of silver jewellery and a cell phone. The men discharged two rounds and forced the young woman to leave with them into the backlands.

Stabroek News was told that one of the men raped her. The young woman said the other man was also going to rape her as well but he and his accomplice were scared off by the police, who were responding to the report of the robbery. 

The young woman stated that a few days before the attack the men repeatedly telephoned and told her to meet them at Whim dam. “We don’t know how them get we phone number,” she noted. She said she refused their demands “and them say if me na go, them gon got to come.”

After the young woman was rescued by the police, she was taken to the New Amsterdam Public Hospital, where a medical examination confirmed that she was sexually assaulted.

According to the young woman’s mother, when the men invaded their home on Sunday evening, she immediately recognised one perpetrator from Whim, Corentyne. Her daughter said it was while the men were leading her into the backlands that the kerchief he had placed over his face fell and she immediately recognised him.

Teenage mother

Meanwhile, the young woman’s mother broke down into tears as she told this newspaper that she blamed herself for the hardships her daughter has faced so far in her young life.

The teenager is already a mother of two children, including a toddler.

The woman explained that when her daughter was 13, she left her in the care of a relative in order to go to Suriname to work, since at that time she was a single mother of two.

The woman said after returning later in the same year, she discovered that her daughter was four months pregnant. The father was the relative’s son. “He fool she up and she get pregnant,” the woman lamented.

The woman subsequently took her daughter to the police and other authorities. However, when the police arrived at the lad’s house to question him, he was discovered dead as he had consumed a poisonous substance in fright.

The woman said she took her daughter to get an abortion but she was told by a doctor that the pregnancy was already too far along. “I tell she get the baby and we gone look it after,” the woman recounted.

The teen had another baby earlier this year as a result of a relationship. Her mother said the teen did not want to leave to live with the father of the child and his family and so remained at her parents’ home. She is visited by the father of her baby.

According to the mother, the teenager also helps to take care of a disabled relative.

The woman said people have taken advantage of her family, which has led to their current circumstances. “We na get nobody to look after us,” she said. “Me brother and sister deh overseas them a help me lil bit,” she, however, added.

Since the rape, she said, her daughter has yet to undergo any counselling. The mother related that the teen is unable to sleep and has not been speaking much. She is also afraid to remain at home or to return to work. “I tell she when me husband come from sea, we gon’ move and go Suriname ’cause she frighten them come back,” she added.

October 12 2018

The Police in Berbice have arrested a man who they believe may have been responsible for the abduction and rape of a Corentyne teenager after a home invasion on Sunday night.

The suspect, said to be from Whim Village, Corentyne, was identified to the police by the 18-year-old victim of the assault and the man was arrested on Tuesday evening.

The young woman has told police that both of the men who invaded her family’s home are known to her, since they would have harassed her several times in the past. “When we does pass them to go pick things… them does interfere with me,” she told Stabroek News.

On Sunday, around 11 pm, two men, armed with a gun, attacked the woman’s family at their home and relieved them of a small quantity of silver jewellery and a cell phone. The men discharged two rounds and forced the young woman to leave with them into the backlands.

Stabroek News was told that one of the men raped her. The young woman said the other man was also going to rape her as well but he and his accomplice were scared off by the police, who were responding to the report of the robbery. 

The young woman stated that a few days before the attack the men repeatedly telephoned and told her to meet them at Whim dam. “We don’t know how them get we phone number,” she noted. She said she refused their demands “and them say if me na go, them gon got to come.”

After the young woman was rescued by the police, she was taken to the New Amsterdam Public Hospital, where a medical examination confirmed that she was sexually assaulted.

According to the young woman’s mother, when the men invaded their home on Sunday evening, she immediately recognised one perpetrator from Whim, Corentyne. Her daughter said it was while the men were leading her into the backlands that the kerchief he had placed over his face fell and she immediately recognised him.

Teenage mother

Meanwhile, the young woman’s mother broke down into tears as she told this newspaper that she blamed herself for the hardships her daughter has faced so far in her young life.

The woman explained that when her daughter was 13, she left her in the care of a relative in order to go to Suriname to work, since at that time she was a single mother of two.

The woman said after returning later in the same year, she discovered that her daughter was four months pregnant. The father was the relative’s son. “He fool she up and she get pregnant,” the woman lamented.

The woman subsequently took her daughter to the police and other authorities. However, when the police arrived at the lad’s house to question him, he was discovered dead as he had consumed a poisonous substance in fright.

The woman said she took her daughter to get an abortion but she was told by a doctor that the pregnancy was already too far along. “I tell she get the baby and we gone look it after,” the woman recounted.

The teen had another baby earlier this year as a result of a relationship. Her mother said the teen did not want to leave to live with the father of the child and his family and so remained at her parents’ home. She is visited by the father of her baby.

According to the mother, the teenager also helps to take care of a disabled relative.

The woman said people have taken advantage of her family, which has led to their current circumstances. “We na get nobody to look after us,” she said. “Me brother and sister deh overseas them a help me lil bit,” she, however, added.

Since the rape, she said, her daughter has yet to undergo any counselling. The mother related that the teen is unable to sleep and has not been speaking much. She is also afraid to remain at home or to return to work. “I tell she when me husband come from sea, we gon’ move and go Suriname ’cause she frighten them come back,” she added.

I am assuming that the family and victim are Indos. i am not sure whether I should cry or laugh after reading this..there is too much drama in this this story and I am not sure how much is true.

But if this is the kind of life Indos live in Guyana, they need a lot of social help....because this sounds like a generational problem.

This can explain why so many of them turn to alcohol, drug and suicide to deal with the problems.

Just my 2 cents...

Maybe Baseman and Skelton Man can share some light on this issue...they seem to know a lot about Indos. 

Vish, let us be clear. While this is a problem, the community as a whole is not in crisis.

America has the highest rape rate in the world.

How will you compare that small populated country to the ole USA ? that's not justifiable,morality have broken down in the communities,especially the current generation.

I am not justifying anything. It is amazing how we ignore the fact that America has the highest rape rates in the world and many dare not speak about it. We have to acknowledge a problem despite where it may exist and address it.

How is that relevant to the young lady being raped in Guyana? Your point is moot.

October 12 2018

I am assuming that the family and victim are Indos. i am not sure whether I should cry or laugh after reading this..there is too much drama in this this story and I am not sure how much is true.

But if this is the kind of life Indos live in Guyana, they need a lot of social help....because this sounds like a generational problem.

This can explain why so many of them turn to alcohol, drug and suicide to deal with the problems.

Just my 2 cents...

Maybe Baseman and Skelton Man can share some light on this issue...they seem to know a lot about Indos. 

Guyanese do not need motivation to go to the rumshop. it is what they do. Drinking rum is pervasive...almost from teen to old age. Go to any house and it is an occasion to tek out a bottle and cook some cutters. No one ever asks for a few dollars to get toys for the kids. They will always ask you to buy them a bottle.

Whim does not have any black people. This is indo on indo crime and I bet these are idle vagrants with no job and most likely hooked on alcohol and dope. Indian on Indian crime dominates every village. Do not look to scape goat others. Often these villages are populated by long standing family groups so it is family on family crime. 

Baseman and Skeldon man cannot help you there. Guyana is not the place we knew in our teens. It is an alien world  of constant petty quarrels fueled by deprivations of the worse sort; poverty, alcoholisms, domestic violence, joblessness. Guyanese seem to gloat if they have a little more than the neighbor and it often starts a war. And everywhere everyone is a war lord. I do not understand why everyone seems to have a mortal enemy. 

It is unimaginable to us who sit here and can easily carry a multi hundred dollar dinner a few times a week  when many of  these people have no way to make one dollar. Many live on less than 2 dollar a day. If you have family there; take the time to help. This is especially so for Berbicians.

Our politics is our main poison. For where berbicians are today everyone should have nothing but contempt for the corrupt PPP. They are mainly responsible for the present condition of extreme poverty.  

October 12 2018

Just my 2 cents...

Guyanese do not need motivation to go to the rumshop. it is what they do. Drinking rum is pervasive...almost from teen to old age. Go to any house and it is an occasion to tek out a bottle and cook some cutters. No one ever asks for a few dollars to get toys for the kids. They will always ask you to buy them a bottle.

Whim does not have any black people. This is indo on indo crime and I bet these are idle vagrants with no job and most likely hooked on alcohol and dope. Indian on Indian crime dominates every village. Do not look to scape goat others. Often these villages are populated by long standing family groups so it is family on family crime. 

Baseman and Skeldon man cannot help you there. Guyana is not the place we knew in our teens. It is an alien world  of constant petty quarrels fueled by deprivations of the worse sort; poverty, alcoholisms, domestic violence, joblessness. Guyanese seem to gloat if they have a little more than the neighbor and it often starts a war. And everywhere everyone is a war lord. I do not understand why everyone seems to have a mortal enemy. 

It is unimaginable to us who sit here and can easily carry a multi hundred dollar dinner a few times a week  when many of  these people have no way to make one dollar. Many live on less than 2 dollar a day. If you have family there; take the time to help. This is especially so for Berbicians.

Our politics is our main poison. For where berbicians are today everyone should have nothing but contempt for the corrupt PPP. They are mainly responsible for the present condition of extreme poverty.  

Thanks.

I was actually being flippant about Baseman and SkeldonMan. Dem too bannas seem to know everything and everyone in Guyana.

Its true that Guyana has the highest per capita suicide rate, alcohol (legal and illegal??) is widely available and its use is encouraged and drug abuse has become more widespread than ever. It is impossible for this government to address these problems effectively because they are so widespread. 

If what you said about Berbice is true, then Berbice must be an extremely depressing place to live. And contrary to what some people say here, it is a region in crisis...now compounded by unemployment, poverty, migration, etc.

My understanding is that these problems are primarily Indo issues (not that others are not plagued by suicide, alcoholism and and drug abuse). Its quite possible to make an argument that they can be traced back to the birth of the indenture period (for Indos).

And, if this is true then it is more complicated than simply laying the blame on the previous PPP government alone. Neither the PPP nor the current government seems to be willing to muster the will to tackle the problems frontally. Its a national tragedy. It will take a national effort, not individual actions to address them and prevent their expansion.

I will agree that one thing that seems more obvious is the fact that the PPP should have been more willing to address them during their tenure, particularly since it is primarily supporters of the PPP who are burdened with these problems. 

October 12 2018

Just my 2 cents...

Baseman and Skeldon man cannot help you there. Guyana is not the place we knew in our teens. It is an alien world  of constant petty quarrels fueled by deprivations of the worse sort; poverty, alcoholisms, domestic violence, joblessness.  

My involvement in various efforts in Guyana relating to poverty reduction, addressing illiteracy, suicide and DV have brought me into the current situation in Guyana!

While it seems horrid, some thing have changed and some are the same.  Much of the ills of Guyana are the same when I lived there.  However, you see it differently coming from abroad!

Bhai i will disagree,ole USA don't control no one from speaking,or bringing any social ills to the forefront.

October 12 2018

Just my 2 cents...

I was actually being flippant about Baseman and SkeldonMan. Dem too bannas seem to know everything and everyone in Guyana.

Its true that Guyana has the highest per capita suicide rate, alcohol (legal and illegal??) is widely available and its use is encouraged and drug abuse has become more widespread than ever. It is impossible for this government to address these problems effectively because they are so widespread. 

If what you said about Berbice is true, then Berbice must be an extremely depressing place to live. And contrary to what some people say here, it is a region in crisis...now compounded by unemployment, poverty, migration, etc.

My understanding is that these problems are primarily Indo issues (not that others are not plagued by suicide, alcoholism and and drug abuse). Its quite possible to make an argument that they can be traced back to the birth of the indenture period (for Indos).

And, if this is true then it is more complicated than simply laying the blame on the previous PPP government alone. Neither the PPP nor the current government seems to be willing to muster the will to tackle the problems frontally. Its a national tragedy. It will take a national effort, not individual actions to address them and prevent their expansion.

I will agree that one thing that seems more obvious is the fact that the PPP should have been more willing to address them during their tenure, particularly since it is primarily supporters of the PPP who are burdened with these problems. 

At least I know about punani and cunny; you don't. What else you want to know? Mole Punani, cross your legs.

Hey Skel, I posted something on a thread yesterday around 3:30pm but the thread is gone. Do you remember the thread title or who started it? I think Mars and KP were cussing up.  

I am not on here after 10 or 11.

Click on you avatar and your profile will come up. Click on the activity tab for recent threads you participated in and you can get a list.  Other than that use the advance search utility above and search on an exact phrase you know you wrote that you can limit to a date.

if you still fail we can use a custom   a boolean search  strategy to deploy Google on the site.  All you need is some key words to limit the search.

The authorities need to make them an example.  Give them life without parole.

They will pay the victims  or use threats, and the victims  will not testify. It seems that robbery was not the primary motive; rape was. 

October 12 2018

Teenage mother

Just my 2 cents...

Banna, this is more prevalent than many care to accept.  Our charity operates in a small territory on the east coast, and we see these teen pregnancy all the time.  We see single mothers of teen daughters “put” their daughters with men as a means of sustenance. When the girls get one or two kids, the men are gone, and the desperation continues and gets worse.  This drives depression and suicide.  You need to see the cardboard shelter conditions some are forced into.

Parts of that society need to be remade from the bottom up.  We try to work with them but it’s not easy.  You do need government intervention to augment the ground work.  

To not politicize the issue I will not comment on the government however, let’s hope a partnership between the current govt and private ngos make a difference.  

This has become a generational issue.  There are several organizations making a difference one child at a time.  It will be a long and slow slug. There are no quick fixes. 

Vish, let us be clear. While this is a problem, the community as a whole is not in crisis.

America has the highest rape rate in the world. 

Fourth estate nations would have the most transparency and reporting of these incidences and that is not the same as actual  accounting of these incidents. The casual practice of rape in some of the countries should afford you a vernacular understanding of the pervasiveness of these crimes. None of them have the societal response, the criminal accountability or the focus on rape as a special crime in the society. You are mouthing nonsense posted somewhere as usual without using your brains to analyze how the data was gathered.