Rice production target for current crop already surpassed -with 25% of cultivated lands still to be reapedPDFPrintE-mail
Written by Nadine Sanchara   
Sunday, 05 May 2013 22:09

THE target for the current rice crop has already been surpassed with 25% of cultivated lands remaining to be harvested. According to Agriculture Minister Dr Leslie Ramsammy, about75 percent of the rice

cultivated in the first crop have been reaped yielding 5.2 million bags of paddy or 327,000 tonnes which is equivalent to 212,000 tonnes of rice.

alt

Agriculture Minister Dr Leslie Ramsammy

The target for this crop was 206,000 tonnes. In a recent interview with the state media, the minister noted that in excess of 81,000 hectares of land were cultivated with rice  in the first crop of 2013.  As of April 30, he advised that about 61,500 hectares, which reflects about 75 percent, was reaped. However, Dr Ramsammy pointed out that the rainy season is now officially on and this will have a negative impact on the rice yet to be harvested. He related that Region 2 (Pomeroon/Supenaam) has harvested over 90 percent of its crop, and so this region is less vulnerable to the difficulties the rainy weather will pose. Region 3 (West Demerara/Essequibo Islands), he said, had sown 8,465 hectares and  so far harvested 7,344 hectares or about 87%. The minister also indicated that Region 4 (Demerara/Mahaica) has reaped 92 percent of the land cultivated. More specifically, the Biaboo/Cane Grove area has almost completed harvesting, but the Golden Grove/Mahaica area is only 77 percent complete, hence has a higher vulnerability to the impact of the rainy weather. He further disclosed that Region 5 (Mahaica/Berbice) has the largest area under rice cultivation. However, he said that only 66 percent of the 32,000 hectares sown have been harvested. “Region 5 is vulnerable to rain. This is an area that we are watching very carefully because it means that if another 35 percent of the cultivation is still to be harvested, rain could have a major impact,” he remarked. The minister also related that Region 6 (East Berbice/Corentyne) has a harvesting rate of 72 percent. Dr. Ramsammy emphasised that while the rainy season will have a negative impact on the 25 percent of the crop still to be harvested, lands that are currently under preparation for the second crop of the year requires more water. Hence, the rainy season will be beneficial to those farmers. Meanwhile, the Government of Guyana on Friday sealed an agreement with the Government of Venezuela for the export of some 210,000 tonnes of rice to that country in 2013.  Shipments of rice to Venezuela are expected to begin shortly. However, Dr Ramsammy stated that rice has already been exported this year to Europe, Jamaica, Trinidad and other Caribbean countries. He  added that while these markets are secure, as production grows additional markets will have to be secured. “We expect to be selling rice in these markets for a very long time, but we also expect that we will have to add to that market so we have been quietly exploring markets in other countries,” he said. The minister also spoke of some other challenges faced by the industry due to the increased production, such as adequate space and facilities to dry the rice. “As we grow the industry, we have to ensure we have enough drying grounds. That is one of the areas that the Ministry of Agriculture is looking at because we can’t continue to dry rice the old way, spreading it on concrete and drying floors...we’ll have to find modern ways of using drying machines to do so,” he said. He noted that this is an investment that farmers are reluctant to make because it is a huge investment which will only be used for a few days per year. He pointed out that the ministry had built a few drying floors a few years ago which has helped the situation. He added that the ministry is now urging some of the bigger farmers to also invest in some drying floors and storage spaces of their own. Meanwhile, Ramsammy noted that some areas, particularly in Essequibo, have had problems with damaged paddy due to bug infestation and inappropriate use of pesticides. He said that the Agriculture Ministry has a technical team working in the area to figure out why some farmers were affected, noting that it is only a small number. He further stressed that a few farmers were being encouraged by what he called “rogue political elements,” who were taking advantage of the fact that some farmers genuinely have problems and were trying to transform a legitimate farmers’ problem into a political cause. “My job as Minister of Agriculture is to ensure that agricultural problems are dealt with through agricultural solutions because political solutions usually score points for politicians but at the end of it all the farmers still has his problem,” he asserted. The minister recently held a meeting at the Agriculture Ministry with rice farmers and millers to discuss some of the challenges they are facing and to come up with a way forward. He advised that the ministry will be helping the farmers, whose crops have been affected by paddy bugs to prepare for the next crop, as they are getting low prices for their paddy.

SWEETER THAN A SUMUTOO, SWEETER THAN A BUXTON SPICE. ONLY THE PPP CAN TAKE GUYANA TO THE PROMISE LAND!!!

Originally Posted by Pointblank:

So 60% going to Venezuela. Looks like Venezuela will turn back and sell GY rice.

And your point is???

We can't even feed our own people, but we can feed the neighbour.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:
Originally Posted by Pointblank:

So 60% going to Venezuela. Looks like Venezuela will turn back and sell GY rice.

And your point is???

Sorry if you only had dry coconut. Haaad Wuk never hurt anyone. Guyanese are eating well. I can get some help for you from GMRC, plenty left over everyday. Why let it waste.

The only people eating well are those fat PPP thieves.

That is what your empty head tells you. I have people coming here foe Vacation and wondering how we Americans can eat such Garbage as Frozen Food, Mc Donald and other CRAP!!!

i am one of the collie n,****** what progress you talking about guyana is hell i can paid one hundred US TO GET you kill in guyana that is how cheap guyanese live is

Is that why you run to Canada?? Time will catch up with you. I pray for the POOR you got killed for 100 dollars.

Originally Posted by Anan:

I see you missed your geography lessons or have no idea where Guyana is. The USA is not our neighbour. And we are not Mexicans. Our drugs shipments to the US are tiny in comparison to the drugs sent by Mexico.

SWEET SWEET GUYANA

How sweet is it, Nehru?

Sweet like a Sumutoo, Sweeter than a Buxton Spice and Sweeter than Honey.

You are the sweet, sweet, sweet person on GNI.