Teachers union upset at ministers' "super" salary increases; demand higher pay, de-bunching

• Wednesday, 07 October 2015 16:38
  •  Teachers marching under the banner of the Guyana Teachers' Union during May Day 2015

Disappointed that government ministers have hiked their salaries by at least 50 percent after a mere four months in office and offered a meager five percent increase in salaries; the Guyana Teachers Union (GTU) is demanding more money for thousands of teachers countrywide.
GTU General Secretary, Coretta Mc Donald said the union’s executive has decided to formally indicate to the Public Service Commission of Inquiry that it is willing to make submissions for salary increases and the adjustment of the salary bands based on years of service, experience and qualifications.
Mc Donald declined to provide details about a multi-year proposal but hoped that initially teaching aids would be awarded a 20 percent increase on their GUY$52,000 salary.  For example, a Grade B graduate nursery school teacher is about GUY$80,000 to GUY$91,000. A trained teacher could earn about GUY$69,000 to $92,000 based on the salary band.
“Our cry is not a cry that the ministers have been crying quite recently and you would know that the teachers that we represent are not teachers who would have been there for three months or four months,” she told Demerara Waves Online News in apparent reference to the coalition-led government which has been in office since May following general elections.
The GTU has already submitted proposals for salary increases for the 2015- 2020 period ahead of expected negotiations that would see the estimated 8,000 teachers earn a gradual rather static increase over the next five years.  Mc Donald declined to provide details of the proposal because the two sides have not yet met.
She took umbrage to the government justifying increasing ministers’ salaries on the grounds that they needed quality people to be paid more than an estimated GUY$560,000 per month. “We should all be because when you decide to become a minister, you would have decided that you want to be a servant of the people so it’s actually a voluntary job; it’s not a job where you get all these super-salaries so if after four months they can have that approved for them, what about the teachers,” she said. Mc Donald said teachers were not asking for the allowances, just salaries.
The GTU General Secretary said teachers felt deceived by the A Partnership for National Unity+ Alliance For Change (APNU+AFC) coalition did not keep its promise to pay the teachers higher than other government employees.  “We are quite disappointed because I remember on May 1s, teachers were told ‘not to worry, we got your back, this is what you will get’ only to recognise that come July, they got five percent.
Government awarded a five percent increase in teachers’ salaries in the 2015 National Budget, about half of what Mc Donald said teachers had expected.
Mc Donald did not rule out teachers taking industrial action if they are not paid more, regardless of which political party is in office.

President David Granger has linked job-creation to having a properly educated nation. He said the promised increase in teachers' salaries would be addressed by the Public Service Commission of Inquiry.

Quote "The GTU General Secretary said teachers felt deceived by the A Partnership for National Unity+ Alliance For Change (APNU+AFC) coalition did not keep its promise to pay the teachers higher than other government employees.  “We are quite disappointed because I remember on May 1s, teachers were told ‘not to worry, we got your back, this is what you will get’ only to recognise that come July, they got five percent."unquote

Now teachers if anyone really deserve a raise, not politicians. Why are the afc/apnu supporters who were so outspoken about teachers being low paid and how they would increase their salaries. People like d2, chief and others now sacrifice their morals to excuse this thieving lot that they supported into power. 

I was one who supported these crooks too, I have seen my mistake.

They would steal from the Pensioners and affix to their salary. These people have no shame, yet they cry that there is no money.

Originally Posted by asj:

They would steal from the Pensioners and affix to their salary. These people have no shame, yet they cry that there is no money.

u are a man without principle

a personal beef with Ramotar caused u to cuss him and the PPP for awhile

then u reverted to type . . .tribal, incoherent and ignorant

Quote "The GTU General Secretary said teachers felt deceived by the A Partnership for National Unity+ Alliance For Change (APNU+AFC) coalition did not keep its promise to pay the teachers higher than other government employees.  “We are quite disappointed because I remember on May 1s, teachers were told ‘not to worry, we got your back, this is what you will get’ only to recognise that come July, they got five percent."unquote

PNC stuck a long dagger in the Teachers back.

Welcome to Change. PNC KoKoBeah style.

ASJ, the PPP was not perfect but these PNC scums destroyed Guyana in six months. 

We cannot expect any better from a dirty PNC which cannot even run a cake shop.

Does anyone in their right mind expect the PNC to run a country ? PNC KoKOBeah will continue to spread as they destroy Guyana.

PNC was, is and will always remain a bunch of liars and destructive axis of evil.

uh huh

yesterday, the new Gov't was a Indo-cleansing regime handing everything over to blackman . . . today alyuh mek 180

yugee as cow fly looking fuh shittabatty to land

y'all need to make up y'all idiot mind

uh huh

yesterday, the new Gov't was a Indo-cleansing regime handing everything over to blackman . . . today alyuh mek 180

Regardless of how much name calling that happens, it remains that the PNC/APNU/AFC government had denied that they were condidering massive pay increases for the PM and ministers, have now announced these massive pay increase, justifying it on the quality of their ministers and paying higher wages so that they will not steal. Well, this is legalized stealing. They lied to the Guyanese people.gave teachers a small raise, pensioners only approx $300 because they got rid of the subsidies. What qualities these ministers have. Maybe, they are good liars.

Z

You are not alone, many were disenchanted with the PPP and wanted change regardless of who got into power. I felt that the PPP were the lesser of the 2 evils. But some I spoke to in Guyana were so disenchanted that they felt that Granger and company were the second coming of Obama.  I warned that Guyana was replacing one set of thieves with another. 

Originally Posted by Zed:

uh huh

Regardless of how much name calling that happens, it remains that the PNC/APNU/AFC government had denied that they were condidering massive pay increases for the PM and ministers, have now announced these massive pay increase, justifying it on the quality of their ministers and paying higher wages so that they will not steal. Well, this is legalized stealing. They lied to the Guyanese people.gave teachers a small raise, pensioners only approx $300 because they got rid of the subsidies. What qualities these ministers have. Maybe, they are good liars.

AFC/PNC gave pensioners the equivalent of one loaf of bread increase while the PNC fat pigs are getting fatter. 

It must also be another the President Dr. Jagdeo will NOT be accepting his opposition leader salary. That is quite admirable and remarkable.

Let us call on Moses who was talking about Dr.Jagan's humble lifestyle, to do the same and not accept his PM's salary of millions and millions.

AFTER 4 MONTHS THOSE LAZY, INCOMPETENT BASTARDS GIVE THEMSELVES AND 2 HOUSE SLAVES HEFTY RAISES BUT TEACHERS HAS TO REMAIN POOR!!!!!

When the PNC-AFC were in the opposition they were talking through their asses. 

AFTER 4 MONTHS THOSE LAZY, INCOMPETENT BASTARDS GIVE THEMSELVES AND 2 HOUSE SLAVES HEFTY RAISES BUT TEACHERS HAS TO REMAIN POOR!!!!!

And you know what the SHAMELESS IDIOTS on this Board are all quiet BUT I understand why. 

Some are quiet and the rest of the jackasses support them also trying to justify legalised theft.

Given that the teachers will be making 5% more than they did under the PPP, I wonder why you think that the PPP is blameless when it comes to low salaries.

How many teachers can afford to live in a lavish house like what Jagdeo has?

One thing to criticize APNU/AFC, and I had much to say when the initial rumors of this rampant increase for ministers and MPs was announced.  But please do not pretend that the PPP are innocent.

Jagdeo was a civil servant, until 2011, so where did he get the $$$ to build his mansion, that being only PART of his assets?

Originally Posted by Zed:

you are a liar