Emphasising that the AFC β€œnever promoted a position to close the sugar industry,” that party accused government of siphoning off billions of dollars from the European Union that could have been spent on to turn the industry around rather than prop up the economy β€œwhile it allowed sugar to slide into further failures.”

Time to give the sugar worker what is theirs.

Sugar earnings have traditionally gone to other sections of the populace. When you look at the hard currency earnings of sugar (rice was bartered for petroleum) over the years and bauxite having to be propped up, and you see the logees and then looked at the air-conditioned day care centers in Linden, you have to shake your head. Yes, the sugar workers were like big brothers working to support the rest of the Guyana family. Good move to give them back their rightful money.

You must be talking about the 70s. That hasn't been true for at least the last 20 years.  Sugar is a drag and Guysuco gets massive subsidies.  Skeldon is a fiasco.  If Guysuco wasnt supported it would have collapsed several years ago.  Just remember that Skeldon was financed by foreign loans.

Linden is an impoverished shambles. A Lindener would be shocked about your description of lavish living.  Many kids barely have enough to eat mu8ch less have a/c daycare. Bauxite is in the hands of the Chinese with a scant 500 Lindeners working for them.

Gold is what carries Guyana now and I am not sure what help they get from gov't.   Look at the conditions that they must endure in the interior, and yet the PPP builds an 8 jetway terminal for the 6 jets its gets PER DAY!  Some arriving half empty.

Originally Posted by politikalamity:

Gold is what carries Guyana now and I am not sure what help they get from gov't.  

good reason to privatize the sugar industry, but we know that will not happen under the PPP government since it is their voting base..

it is all politics

You mad, no Government has the authrority and right to privatise sugar.  It is an economy within the economy.  We got to fix it and professionalise it.

Karimullah, is it necessary to post these monstrous, invidious LIES to affirm the plight of Guyana's sugar workers?

ayluh racism gaan into reflex mode now . . . beyond reason or reality

Karimullah, is it necessary to post these monstrous, invidious LIES to affirm the plight of Guyana's sugar workers?

This is not a lie, I went to McKenzie and saw this - air condition on all the time.

Who paid for it, the sugar levy.

So carry you lying rass from the place.

Originally Posted by Brian Teekah:

This is not a lie, I went to McKenzie and saw this - air condition on all the time.

what exactly is "this" that you "saw" ?. . . not so fast slick

the pathetic smoke u throwing up hay brands u as a silly little punk not fit to even be on this thread

where is Karimullah?

Ow suh you sayin dat de way forward is foh pull down dem black people? Gee dem latrine and fans rather than bring up de Indo dem. Lard...lissen to de new AFC Indoist mentality.

Originally Posted by Kapadilla:

Ow suh you sayin dat de way forward is foh pull down dem black people? Gee dem latrine and fans rather than bring up de Indo dem. Lard...lissen to de new AFC Indoist mentality.

[not so] interesting . . . i see kari still 'reasoning' from his high perch in Guyana's alternate reality

Originally Posted by Kapadilla:

[not so] interesting . . . i see kari still 'reasoning' from his high perch in Guyana's alternate reality

You mad, no Government has the authrority and right to privatise sugar.  It is an economy within the economy.  We got to fix it and professionalise it.

Be honest.  Just admit that bauxite was about black people, so you didn't care that privatization it meant thousands lost their jobs.  But you fear that selling Guysuco will result in sugar workers sharing the same fate.

Well if fixing bauxite meant thousands of black people were thrown to literally starve, or have to go in the deep interior to earn a living well sugar workers should suffer the same fate.  This is especially as there are more options available to the sugar workers than to the former bauxite workers.  Linden is located in a zone where little other than bauxite can is feasible. 

In what year did you go to Linden. You went there 30 years ago, when they still benefitted from the legacy of the Canadians who provided these services.

I wonder though, did ORDINARY Lindeners benefit.  Knowing what I know of that town I doubt it.

Linden had 40,000 people. How many of these daycare centers did you see, because Linden also had a large population of young kids?

If you want to compare facilities that were available to management and professional level workers at Demba and inherited by Guymine then do the same for equivalent workers at Bookers and inherited by Guysuco

Guysuco has been a money loser for many years now and has received massive subsidies.  So what ever Burnham took from it was paid back many times since then.

That was back in the days..........

invidious lies....

That was back in the days...

Karimullah, THAT too is a monstrous LIE!! . . . there was NEVER any such thing as "air conditioned day care centers" provided either by the gov't or the bauxite company to the people of Mackenzie/Wismar [Linden].

tell yuh handlers to rent a new drawing board, u racist fraud

Karimullah, THAT too is a monstrous LIE!! . . . there was NEVER any such thing as "air conditioned day care centers" provided either by the gov't or the bauxite company to the people of Mackenzie/Wismar [Linden].

Kari saw the daycare center for the Guymine elites' kids and he is pretending as if rank and file workers had these privileges.  Linden was Little South Africa under the Canadians, and under Guymine the "lords and masters" suddenly became "sunburnt" but retained all the privileges.

So he is being dishonest when he compares conditions for Linden's elites with the POOREST people on the estates.  Poorest because he knows full well that Bookers began housing programs for sugar workers, so even if Burnham stopped it, most were already taken care of.

Kari saw the daycare center for the Guymine elites' kids and he is pretending as if rank and file workers had these privileges.  Linden was Little South Africa under the Canadians, and under Guymine the "lords and masters" suddenly became "sunburnt" but retained all the privileges.

So he is being dishonest when he compares conditions for Linden's elites with the POOREST people on the estates.  Poorest because he knows full well that Bookers began housing programs for sugar workers, so even if Burnham stopped it, most were already taken care of.

so . . . Mackenzie also had a 9-hole golf course that the Canadians built for expatriate senior management . . .

wtf does this type of stuff have to do with "logies" and laboring/living conditions of "cane cutta[s]" on Bookers/Guysuco plantations?

look, Kari knew EXACTLY what he was doing with his smelly postings . . . nothing he said was honorable!

AFC posters on GNI have vindicated the PPP of discriminating against Afro-Guyanese in Linden by stating some hard facts about gov't assistance to the community. The AFC which finds itself on a slippery slope is now fighting hard to get a grip as the PPP has aroused people working and depending on the sugar industry for a livelihood about the dangers of closing down the industry.

Kari made a great point.  Keep it up brother.  

Originally Posted by Billy Ram Balgobin:

AFC posters on GNI have vindicated the PPP of discriminating against Afro-Guyanese in Linden by stating some hard facts about gov't assistance to the community. The AFC which finds itself on a slippery slope is now fighting hard to get a grip as the PPP has aroused people working and depending on the sugar industry for a livelihood about the dangers of closing down the industry.

when the ignorant truly WANT to believe something, eh?. . . the power of a tribal 'message'

for y'all, there is NO lie about Black people or Burnham too big to fail

take [another] bow karimullah . . . mission accomplished

Kari went down to the daycare centers set up for the kids of the elite and then pretended as if every Lindeners had access to that.

Since this fact was pointed out he hasnt made further comments.

Linden went on strike against Burnham, who promptly tear gassed them and attempted to starve them out.  So quit trying to pretend that the average Lindener was so well off. 

Indeed Linden and Buxton became hot beds of activism against Burnham, who couldnt deal with the fact that not only were these AfroGuyanese not fooled by him, but were not afraid to stand up to his dictatorship.  And for that they were punished. How do you think Sam Hinds rose up, before he became an Uncle Tom for the PPP?

Linden was abandoned by the PPP who said that Guymine was a waste.  Point taken.  Apply the same standards to Guysuco and let the Chinese take it over.  What happens after that happens.  Just as how Lindeners had to find other ways to survive so should those in the Berbice sugar belt, and indeed with fertile soils they have far more options than do Lindeners who live in a sand belt, good for no form of agriculture.

Kari went down to the daycare centers set up for the kids of the elite and then pretended as if every Lindeners had access to that.

Since this fact was pointed out he hasnt made further comments.

Linden went on strike against Burnham, who promptly tear gassed them and attempted to starve them out.  So quit trying to pretend that the average Lindener was so well off. 

Indeed Linden and Buxton became hot beds of activism against Burnham, who couldnt deal with the fact that not only were these AfroGuyanese not fooled by him, but were not afraid to stand up to his dictatorship.  And for that they were punished. How do you think Sam Hinds rose up, before he became an Uncle Tom for the PPP?

Linden was abandoned by the PPP who said that Guymine was a waste.  Point taken.  Apply the same standards to Guysuco and let the Chinese take it over.  What happens after that happens.  Just as how Lindeners had to find other ways to survive so should those in the Berbice sugar belt, and indeed with fertile soils they have far more options than do Lindeners who live in a sand belt, good for no form of agriculture.

if only indian people could stand up against corruption that the ppp is committing right now the way the black people fight burham,guyana will not be in this shit today