Originally posted by squingy:

On that score, it's just an observation I'm making here, and Gerhard could proffer an answer:
Since some computer components in use generate heat, what safeguards are employed to make a local assembly of such an item using wooden housing safe from becoming a possible fire hazard?

Don't worry, squingy. Gerhard will screw on a lil tray in the wooden box to accomodate ice cubes. Smile
B
Originally posted by Bookman:

On that score, it's just an observation I'm making here, and Gerhard could proffer an answer:
Since some computer components in use generate heat, what safeguards are employed to make a local assembly of such an item using wooden housing safe from becoming a possible fire hazard?

Don't worry, squingy. Gerhard will screw on a lil tray in the wooden box to accomodate ice cubes. Smile

Hahaha! I see like you have talent and the makings of a second or third career!
Originally posted by BGurd_See:
Now the flower shop man become computer expert. If the world's best mind did not use wood for the casing of computer what makes any of you think that the AFC goons have discovered that they world is round? This is the problem with the AFC boys, square pegs in round holes, they take a man from a flower shop and present him as an engineer. hahahahahhahah

BGurd_See, don't run down the flower shop man.
Do you know how many engineering designs God had to commission before he made all those beautiful flowers? And when we smell a rose and praise God we don't think of him as an engineer, eh.
Feel free to mek joke wid Gerhard as I do but don't run him down, BGurd_See.
B
Originally posted by Mr.T:
Fitting the hardware from a small PC inside a wooden enclosure is actually a very ingenious idea. Many laughed when the Wright brothers say they wanted to build a wooden structure that could fly. They aren't laughing now.

I started my business with a few products that had my competitors laughing. Now even some well known Japanese companies have started releasing products that are based on my original idea.

Condoms made from cow guts; original indeed. Big Grin

That's very innovative. Bangladesh was chosen over Guyana to offshore the manufacturing and packaging of Condoms due to the high cost of doing business in GUyana. I also noticed my camping gears are manufactured there.

I think you PPPites have missed the GR's point of job creation for Guyanese and the much needed inflow of foreign capital to uplift Guyana.

There is more dignity in being gainfully employed than depending on barrels and remittances from friends and relatives abroad.
Originally posted by baseman:
Now the flower shop man become computer expert. If the world's best mind did not use wood for the casing of computer what makes any of you think that the AFC goons have discovered that they world is round? This is the problem with the AFC boys, square pegs in round holes, they take a man from a flower shop and present him as an engineer. hahahahahhahah

Well, for a failed hukster and tax cheat, you certainly seem to have developed an expertize in about everything, including being a circus clown.

Big Grin flag
wow gerhard, who came up with that idea? its one of the best thing i've seen.

an ordinary case sells for 50 usd, with wood it would be much cheaper and more durable. even purpleheart scraps and be used to build that case,, you know i would prefer itikiboroballi or wamara Big Grin

this could be a niche product that we can export - vintage desktops.

only idiots would not know the potential you have just discovered in our amerindian brothers, the possibilities are endless!!!!!!!

flag
HEEEHEEEEHAAAAAAHAAAAAA Oh Meh Laad oh. yippie yippie partybanana partybanana

We gun get Reeech We gun get REEEEECH WE gun Get Reeech
Plywood Computa Plywood Computa. yippie yippie partybanana partybanana
Originally posted by The Blade Runner:

an ordinary case sells for 50 usd, with wood it would be much cheaper and more durable. even purpleheart scraps and be used to build that case,, you know i would prefer itikiboroballi or wamara Big Grin

only idiots would not know the potential you have just discovered in our amerindian brothers, the possibilities are endless!!!!!!!

flag
Good LUCK on your Busines venture Bro. Guyana is a full Capitalist Country and we greatly encourage Businesses.
Originally posted by Nehru:
HEEEHEEEEHAAAAAAHAAAAAA Oh Meh Laad oh. yippie yippie partybanana partybanana

We gun get Reeech We gun get REEEEECH WE gun Get Reeech
Plywood Computa Plywood Computa. yippie yippie partybanana partybanana

actually nerhu, GR and I have common business interests. we can make good money on such a project. i kid you not!
Rather than salute innovation and adaptation using local components, these OP dudes are looking for cheap publicity. Every effort should be made to stimulate local endeavours using alternatives where possible and feasible. It makes just good sense to do so. Mind you, I'm sure if the criticism from the OP boys were constructive they would be taken seriously!

I ask this question not as a means to denigrate, for I wholeheartedly support the entrpreneural concept underlying the local assembly of this product!!!
Hi squingy, you are perfectly in order. The questions need to be asked, and in asking them you are helping me hone the message.

The particular model that I have commissioned uses this motherboard: http://www.logicsupply.com/products/d525mw It is low power, hence low heat. It still has quite some power - 1.8Ghz dual core processor, and we put in a 2GB memory chip (DDR3). It is actually a desktop using laptop type parts, and therefore comparable in terms of power consumption and heat. The advantage over laptops is that these parts are readily available from different manufacturers at your local computer store. Laptop parts specific to a model, such as motherboards, screens and keyboards cannot be gotten in a store, and are often limited in supply as new laptop models are churned out every few months.

Here are some more pics of wooden cases:

If the Gov't buys desktop computers made with wooden cases, can you imagine the boost to the local woodworking industry? Not to mention the export potential, especially for our exotic woods.

But these are the things the PPP urinates on. Imagine Gail Texeira told me we don't have the capability to assemble computers here.

flag
Indeed BR, and you are seeing it further than I did bro flag This is why no one person or party should feel they have the monopoly on ideas.

BGurd_See, don't run down the flower shop man.
Do you know how many engineering designs God had to commission before he made all those beautiful flowers? And when we smell a rose and praise God we don't think of him as an engineer, eh.
Feel free to mek joke wid Gerhard as I do but don't run him down, BGurd_See.
Thank you very much Cde Bookman - much appreciated.

I actually have more than a decade experience in IT, computer assembly more than anything else - I used to write IT columns for Stabroek News too. I managed two companies NT Computeac and GuyanaNet. Both companies that underwent positive transformation under my watch - NT more so. When I joined the company in 2004, they were renting parts of a downstairs and within 18 months, they were renting a three story building. Of course, it was not all my doing, but I played a large role.

I also have over 15 years of experience as a diesel mechanic, particularly the old German engines - but I have done Caterpillar and Ford as well.

flag
unfortunately, no one cares for durability in computers since they have an active shelf life about 18 months before obsolescence is their lot. It would be nice if someone picks up all of those plastic bottles and recycle them and and reuse them in an extruding system into cases and other things.
Originally posted by D2:

flag
unfortunately, no one cares for durability in computers since they have an active shelf life about 18 months before obsolescence is their lot. It would be nice if someone picks up all of those plastic bottles and recycle them and and reuse them in an extruding system into cases and other things.
Indeed D2, but a case can be reused many times over.
Originally posted by Gerhard Ramsaroop:
Originally posted by D2:

flag
They can be but most people, here at least, junk them.
Originally posted by D2:

flag
Indeed, but it would less likely for an exotic wooden case, right?
Originally posted by D2:

flag
Indeed, but it would less likely for an exotic wooden case, right?
dont know about that. They have all sorts of exotic looking cases here and they all end up in the junk pile. I just rescued a wonderful plexiglass one with embedded neon lights which one can keep just because it looks good. I got it at a yard sale for 10. I am making a monster gaming machine with it.

1. A person has diverse skills with at lease one being prominent.

2. A person can focus on flowers yet also have expertise and experience with computers.

3. The world is filled with individuals having varied skills.

Gerhard Ramsaroop is one of those individuals and his political involvement is separate from his personal business ventures.
Originally posted by Demerara_Guy:

1. A person has diverse skills with at lease one being prominent.

2. A person can focus on flowers yet also have expertise and experience with computers.

3. The world is filled with individuals having varied skills.

Gerhard Ramsaroop is one of those individuals and his political involvement is separate from his personal business ventures.

GR is a mechanic, IT Technican and farmer...he is also a politician, you need people who can multitask to be in decision making positions in this country.
He gun have plenty time on his hands.. He dont have to go from Village to Village selling Snakeoil and embarrasing himself. yippie And after all that, dem gun kick him to the Curb like Goamattie.
Indeed BR, and you are seeing it further than I did bro flag This is why no one person or party should feel they have the monopoly on ideas.

well after elections we can discuss further
Originally posted by albert:
From horticulturist......to ply board Computer Engineer, what a mammoth step...many in the blogging world starts to think that guys is going nuts...
albert, you fully well know I have over 10 years experience in IT, having managed NT Computeac and GuyanaNet. Your dishonesty represents what the PPP has become today.
Thank you very much Cde Bookman - much appreciated.

I actually have more than a decade experience in IT, computer assembly more than anything else - I used to write IT columns for Stabroek News too. I managed two companies NT Computeac and GuyanaNet. Both companies that underwent positive transformation under my watch - NT more so. When I joined the company in 2004, they were renting parts of a downstairs and within 18 months, they were renting a three story building. Of course, it was not all my doing, but I played a large role.

I also have over 15 years of experience as a diesel mechanic, particularly the old German engines - but I have done Caterpillar and Ford as well.

Well Gerhard you should've used your time at NT Computeac and GuyanaNet to push this innovative idea of yours a bit further.
From horticulturist......to ply board Computer Engineer, what a mammoth step...many in the blogging world starts to think that guys is going nuts...
albert, you fully well know I have over 10 years experience in IT, having managed NT Computeac and GuyanaNet. Your dishonesty represents what the PPP has become today.

The PPP needs to stop with all this fart and refocus on us winning the hearts and minds of the people.

We need to stop with all this shyte and get to work. Albert and your peanut butter crew it is time to refocus and stop being cyber goons.
J

Albert lacks credibility. He was unable to answer very simple questions. He lacks creativity except when he is with the other funny fellas with his peanut butter. panman yippie
Originally posted by D2:

flag

The wood breaks down and it also looks much better than metal or plastic cabinets.
I love the old record players and tv's with wooden cabinets. The cabinets can be reused as bookshelves etc.