IS ONE OF THE FEW INSTITUTIONS IN THE CARIBBEAN THAT IS NON POLITICAL, THAT IS RESPONSIBLE AND A GUARDIAN OF THE RULE OF LAW. I want to personally congratulate all the Judges for their Professionalism, their knowledge of Law and the interpretations that set the caribbean apart from most Countries(including the USA). The Rule Of Law is paramount to any civilization and the honorable Judges just ensure the progress and elevation of Caribbean civilization!!

The consequential decisions arising from the judgements should have been rendered today, as well. I hope that the parties to the cases come to an agreement that Court and other costs be borne by the Government for wasting time, however, next week is the 24th of June, so I wouldn’t worry with that much. I apologize for prejudging the CCJ.

Dondadda posted:

Now that the  CCJ has rendered its decision that the December 21st, 2018 NCM was validly passed would the Government resign immediately? Just a question.

Dondadda, I believe the CCJ wants to make it inclusive, they want to give the PNC a chance to prove their commitment to the Rule Of Law. Justice, Fairness and goo faith Governance. The ball is now in the PNC Court!!!

Is the PNC going to act in the interest of the Guyanese people or their own selfish ways?? We will find out on the 24. Are they Patriotic to Guyana or are just a group of scavengers waiting to deplete the Treasury???

Didn’t you see Courtenay was trying to get the court to accept more evidence while Saunders was reading the summary? Saunders had to shut him down.

Dondadda posted:

Now that the  CCJ has rendered its decision that the December 21st, 2018 NCM was validly passed would the Government resign immediately? Just a question.

Based on the summary provided by Justice Saunders, the government has been illegal since December 21, 3018.

So that means the motion and appointment they did is invalid. 

CCJ tells parties to seek consensus on way forward

The Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) will next Monday hear from all parties on what should happen next; the CCJ ruled that the December 21 No Confidence motion was properly passed with 33 votes in the 65-seat National Assembly. It also ruled that the appointment of the Chairman of the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) breached the Constitution.

President of the Court, Justice Adrian Saunders, urged the parties to engage with each other. It is hope that they can come up with a consensus that the Court can then use to make its consequential orders.

According to Article 106 (6) of the Constitution, elections should be held within three months after a No Confidence motion is passed, unless the National Assembly extends the deadline.

The CCJ ruling comes almost six months after the passage of the motion.

The Guyana Elections Commission has told the President that elections are only possible in late November because of its house to house registration process.

The Opposition has argued that the list can be updated without house to house registration.

“We are hoping for a happy marriage between principle and practicality,” said Justice Jacob Wit.

Justice Saunders said the rulings are clear and the Court is hoping that the parties can agree on the consequential orders.

Ayuh deh pun a roll, pay attention to the two statements.

We are hoping for a happy marriage between principle and practicality,” said Justice Jacob Wit.

Justice Saunders said the rulings are clear and the Court is hoping that the parties can agree on the consequential orders.

Elections will be held , the big win and celebration will come after the election, the people of Guyana will decide who will govern.

Ayuh deh pun a roll, pay attention to the two statements.

We are hoping for a happy marriage between principle and practicality,” said Justice Jacob Wit.

Elections will be held , the big win and celebration will come after the election, the people of Guyana will decide who will govern.

Oh man, you expect Guyanese politicians to be so wise “ marriage and practicality “ 

i see Ramkarran say that will never happen. 

The PPP needs to insist that Patterson should go. 

Agree that the Government resign immediately. And agree on who should replace him OR name a date when the replacement will be sworn in and start working. Secondly, insist that election be held on a certain date and that an updated electoral list be produced in time for election. 

Dondadda posted:

Agree that the Government resign immediately. And agree on who should replace him OR name a date when the replacement will be sworn in and start working. Secondly, insist that election be held on a certain date and that an updated electoral list be produced in time for election. 

constitutionally the government stays in power until a new president is sworn in. The parliament is suspended.  It means they cannot do any new business on behalf of the state.

HAHAHAHAHA Sloppy will always be Sloppy

Neither of the two can govern us fairly. Neither should get an absolute majority. Hopefully, a third party will take at least 3 seats.  

A third party that will support the government when the initiative benefits the people and oppose the government when the initiative does not benefit the people.

constitutionally the government stays in power until a new president is sworn in.

The parliament is suspended. 

It means they cannot do any new business on behalf of the state.

Not necessarily so ....

According to the constitution ....

1. President and cabinet MUST resign.

2. Government remains in office ONLY to effect elections within three months.

Specific sections of Guyana Constitution ...

Guyana Constitution ... Section 106; subsections (6) and (7)

(6) The Cabinet including the President shall resign if the Government is defeated by the vote of a majority of all the elected members of the National Assembly on a vote of confidence.

(7) Notwithstanding its defeat, the Government shall remain in office and shall hold an election within three months, or such longer period as the National Assembly shall by resolution supported by not less than two-thirds of the votes of all the elected members of the National Assembly determine, and shall resign after the President takes the oath of office following the election.”

alena06 posted:

Big up to the youngsters Datadin and Kamal Ramkarran, they added a big case to their resumes.

not to subtract from what they accomplished but this was a waste of money and time from the beginning. I can't think of a time in history where anything similar was questioned.

You know Sanjeev Datadin is Vijay’s bro right?

alena06 posted:

Big up to the youngsters Datadin and Kamal Ramkarran, they added a big case to their resumes.

not to subtract from what they accomplished but this was a waste of money and time from the beginning. I can't think of a time in history where anything similar was questioned.

Bai, you can always count on the PNC to contest what was so clear after that woman stopped wailing “Charandas, noooooooooooooo. Noooooooooooooo Charrandasssssss ðŸ˜€

alena06 posted:

Dah bai Ramkarran come from good stock. Cribby doesn’t think much of Datadin but right now that doesn’t matter as Cribby is busy trying to save himself from drowning in his own tears. 😀

Datadin is a boss.

Guyana needs a third party as a power broker ....otherwise Guyanese will be in the same sinking boat.

If the PPP had gotten rid of Jagdeo and Irfaan and clean up house, they would have stood a chance....at the next election

The PPP stands a chance if for no other reason than that the PNC doesn’t stand any.

alena06 posted:

Bai, you can always count on the PNC to contest what was so clear after that woman stopped wailing “Charandas, noooooooooooooo. Noooooooooooooo Charrandasssssss ðŸ˜€

Bhai Ksazma, dee homan waz wailing ....

“Charandas, Ooooooooooooooo, Oooooooooooooo Charrandasssssss, Charrandasssssss OOOOOOOOOOOOOOO.

alena06 posted:

You know Sanjeev Datadin is Vijay’s bro right?

I actually didn't. Admirable performance by both young men. 

Dondadda posted:

constitutionally the government stays in power until a new president is sworn in. The parliament is suspended.  It means they cannot do any new business on behalf of the state.

Agreed that they should take a “ care taker” role. President stays in place until replaced, however, Granger should dissolve Parliament immediately.

I keep hearing this talk about Guyana needs a third force to solve its political problems. A third force cannot change anything if their hands are tied in a coalition government. A third force cannot bring any good if they are corrupt and power hungry as it is the case with the AFC. 

No third force. Both parties need to be cleaned out. Guyana can do a lot better on both fronts. Need younger, open-minded and progressive people.

alena06 posted:

It was expected that 33 will prevail.  I saw one of the judges said before the presentation, there is no need to divide and add that 33 is the majority of 65. Anyway, good it’s settled.

PNC expected this, that’s why Williams played the “violence” card.  They only playing for time and playing the fool.  Now they will push for house to house then create confusion in November and push to early 2020.

PNC has crookedness in the works!!

I keep hearing this talk about Guyana needs a third force to solve its political problems. A third force cannot change anything if their hands are tied in a coalition government. A third force cannot bring any good if they are corrupt and power hungry as it is the case with the AFC. 

A third force doesn’t necessarily have to be a part of a coalition.  A third force could be a critical swing voter when the party in government start to play stupidy.  Block them when it’s necessary.

Dis gal Bibi Prapa brite. I agree!!

That was the plan of the AFC under Ramjattan and Trotman.  I told them when I was with them all we need is the swing.   Power lies in the margins.  Use that power to drive the agenda you want, not what they want.  But Nagamootoo came and said he not there for #3. He was too stupid because #3 was actually #1!!   Just flip the cart over!!

Now he gone fuh channa!!

That was the plan of the AFC under Ramjattan and Trotman.  I told them when I was with them all we need is the swing.  

So what happened, them swing you out instead. 

Now let’s get this rite. You are responsible for the mess we’re in.. and them Sugar workers without bread and butter for them kids .. you know that. 

I want to believe Granger is going to defy the CCJ and continue business as usual.  The diplomatic community will have to step in and broker a solution. 

I also believe he means well for Guyanese but his hands are tied. 

From David Hinds commentary yesterday , Granger has no control over Congress Place and them chap at CP calling the shots. 

There is a reason why Burnham never appointed Jranjer head of any military branch. He may have realized that the man is not firm.  But that is the type of approach that is needed for Guyana a country that is full of racial hate. Hinds will see the country divide more when he throws the PPP leadership in jail.  Guyanese do not have the luxury as Hinds has to jump on a plane and go to America to do a first degree.

That was the plan of the AFC under Ramjattan and Trotman.  I told them when I was with them all we need is the swing.  

Now let’s get this rite. You are responsible for the mess we’re in.. and them Sugar workers without bread and butter for them kids .. you know that. 

Yes yes yes.

That’s your viewpoint.   I left in 2011 anyway.  The sugar industry issues are little more complex!

You should send some food hamper. I’m sure they will appreciate!  You are a wealthy tycoon!!

Oh, I do have relatives living in Guyana who voted Coalition.  Some are contemplating it again.  So don’t get nara over them people!

Yes yes yes.

I miss that wonderful sound late at night!!  Especially st those marathon sessions overlooking Lake Lugano!!😘

Remember your favorite phrase?

That’s your viewpoint.   I left in 2011 anyway.

Oh, I do have relatives living in Guyana who voted Coalition.  Some are contemplating it again.  So don’t get nara over them people!

I am still hay bhai.   I am aware the business community went AFC way in 2015 and the majority regret such decision ( PPP to be blamed). The businessmen are sitting on the fence, because PPP did not make changes that is convincing. 

The poor working class supporters of PPP is all pump up.

Sadly, today in GT the ugly racialism taunts and insult started by a few PNC supporters. 

That’s your viewpoint.   I left in 2011 anyway.

I am still hay bhai.   I am aware the business community went AFC way in 2015 and the majority regret such decision ( PPP to be blamed). The businessmen are sitting on the fence, because PPP did not make changes that is convincing. 

Sadly, today in GT the ugly racialism taunts and insult started by a few PNC supporters. 

Great, so who you peaved at?

You think that will cut it ?