Brian Teekah posted:

The PPP shirked its responsibility on this matter and deliberately undermined the City.  The PPP failed GT.

WERE YOU ASLEEP WHEN THEY TRIED AND THE MAYOR AND PNC REFUGEES SEH MO FIAH SLO FIAH.

Excuse me, it was the PPP that got Hamilton into power, and kept him there. It was the PPP that sent in Sooba to halt all developments that would have cleaned up GT.

Excuse me, it was the PPP that got Hamilton into power

Is this the reason why the coalition decided to honor him within days of coming to power??  

Honouring a citizen for services rendered to the country is above party politics. How can you possibly suggest that the PPP should only honour PPP faithfulls? There is no reason why the fact that Hamilton belonged to a different party from the PPP, PNC, or AFC should in any way disbar him from being recognized for his long years of service to the community.

It was the responsibility of the Mayor to clean up Staebroek square not the central govt , the ppp at the time. The mayor and city council refused to do their job of enforcing the laws and allowed wanton pavement vending and lawless throughout the city. 

But maybe it is best that the PNC is in power as they are better in pushing their Black constituents around without complaints.  In PPP time such an effort would have resulted in mass riots, mo fiah slow fiah and the killing of countless Indians. 

It was the responsibility of the Mayor to clean up Staebroek square not the central govt ,

The PPP refused to host LGE, so there was no central gov't.  So the PPP gets the blame for the nasty and unhealthy state of G/T.

Now that there is local gov't, they have begun to clean G/T.  At the very least you can give the coalition gov't credit for that.

Quit your FreeDUMB House stupidity.

I hope that you notice that these "PNC" supporters aren't swallowing what they don't like, just because the City Council is coalition.  Ample complaints and protests, with threats to disrupt the area over the next couple of weeks when the Jubilee is being celebrated.

Interesting that when Jagdeo shut down LBI and Diamond, PPP supporters were too terrified to protest.

Mr.T posted:

Is this the reason why the coalition decided to honor him within days of coming to power??  

Honouring a citizen for services rendered to the country is above party politics. How can you possibly suggest that the PPP should only honour PPP faithfulls? There is no reason why the fact that Hamilton belonged to a different party from the PPP, PNC, or AFC should in any way disbar him from being recognized for his long years of service to the community.

What service (s) did Hammie render to Guyana?  He allowed garbage to pile up in the City as a way of fighting the government.  Local elections were held in 1992 and the problem persisted. Carib's attempt to blame the postponement of LGE is a lame excuse.

Mr.T posted:

What service (s) did Hammie render to Guyana?  He allowed garbage to pile up in the City as a way of fighting the government.  Local elections were held in 1992 and the problem persisted. Carib's attempt to blame the postponement of LGE is a lame excuse.

he was in that office since 1992 and kept there by the PPP so that the PNC wouldn't be able to run GT.
The city garbage that consisted primarily of the rubbish left over from the products that PPP controlled businesses had imported and sold to consumers. Those empty plastic bottles and Styrofoam packaging were all imported by the PPP businesses. Maybe you remember Sooba, the PPP clark who the PPP said was the real head of the council? She prevented the council from cleaning up GT. She had to be run out of office by the police after the PPP lost the election.

Like you PPP stooges like committing crimes and leaving Guyana in a state, then claim it was a black man who did it.

.. Carib's attempt to blame the postponement of LGE is a lame excuse.

How so? Given the state of G/T, why would they have re-elected Hammie Green?

Do you know that the PNC LOST the 1994 LGE in G/T?  They did NOT win the bulk of the city councilors. In fact they barely beat the PPP.

The mere fact that the party, which won the 1994 LGE, no longer existed would have been reason enough to hold LGE.  This to allow G/T residents to remove an incompetent mayor, who came from a party which was extinct.

Brian Teekah posted:

The PPP shirked its responsibility on this matter and deliberately undermined the City.  The PPP failed GT.

WERE YOU ASLEEP WHEN THEY TRIED AND THE MAYOR AND PNC REFUGEES SEH MO FIAH SLO FIAH.

Isn't it amazing if not amusing.  Highlight of one year presidency, clan up a city market square!!   I can only guess someone trying to manage expectations!!

ba$eman posted:
Brian Teekah posted:

Isn't it amazing if not amusing.  Highlight of one year presidency, clan up a city market square!!   I can only guess someone trying to manage expectations!!

The PPP had 23 years to get that job done, but they could not manage it. That's the difference.

The Burrowes reports revealed many shocking things about the M&CC including the following:

1) There were 500 phantom names on the payroll

2) Garbage Trucks owned by the City was parked up and contracts were given to private haulers. This allow Hammie to collect kickbacks from the contractors.

3) Monies from the Central gov't. had to be spend directly on the City roads since the City Council was inept and corrupted. 

Hammie allowed garbage to pile up everywhere GT. The central gov't. on numerous occasions was forced to spend millions of taxpayers dollars to do emergency work to move garbage. Carol Soobha tried to force the City Council do what's right for the G/town but the attacks on her by Hammie and the PNCites was thuggish and shameful. 

The Burrowes reports revealed many shocking things about the M&CC including the following:

1) There were 500 phantom names on the payroll

2) Garbage Trucks owned by the City was parked up and contracts were given to private haulers. This allow Hammie to collect kickbacks from the contractors.

3) Monies from the Central gov't. had to be spend directly on the City roads since the City Council was inept and corrupted. 

Hammie allowed garbage to pile up everywhere GT. The central gov't. on numerous occasions was forced to spend millions of taxpayers dollars to do emergency work to move garbage. Carol Soobha tried to force the City Council do what's right for the G/town but the attacks on her by Hammie and the PNCites was thuggish and shameful. 

When you can dig up similar items from the current City Hall then we can chat.

In the meantime the PPP is to blame because their failure to host LGE let local gov't collapse EVERY WHERE!

Instead of putting an UNELECTED person, Sooba, to run G/T they shouid have held LGE.

The PPP can jump scream and do as they wish but what Hammie Green did was THEIR fault, because they allowed it to happen by failing to hold LGE!

Think on this. If we didn't have LGE Hammie still would have been mayor and G/T still would be nasty!

Isn't it said Hammie was not PNC, is he only called PNC because he,s black he get lump in deh? 

What can we say.  Brown bai KKK and their screams.  What they wail about doesn't bother me, as they cannot help themselves.

What bothers me is that Indians, who will claim that they aren't racist will sooner attack me and you than they will the racists.  Their failure to condemn these bigots emboldens them with their racism.

Kari, VVP, VishMahab, and zed, the likes of baseman, cobra, yuji, seignet and the others are speaking on behalf of you as they claim to represent the views of Indians, and you guys refuse to confront them on it. 

This is how Indo Guyanese are portrayed to the THOUSANDS of people who periodically visit these sites.  GNI is HIGHLY visible. Just do a google on a variety of Guyanese political topics and see how quickly it surfaces. 

And if you doubt, Bajans several years ago used what they read here to justify attempts to remove Indo Guyanese from that island.  This was quoted in their media.

What is significant is that the pNC are able to push around the vendors with little or no resistance which is great news as long as they continue to be compliant.  The PPP in its 23 years did not learn from de Klerk who implemented successful strategies to control the Blacks in South Africa. 

The next step is the move the taxis away from cluttering the area. 

The vendors have no choice. They made the mess and have to move so that it can be rectified. They lucky they don't get fined for that mess they made. I know for a fact that the city market in Paramaribo, Suriname has to be cleaned and hosed down every evening after closing. They even got their own union to make sure the mess is cleared up every day so that market visitors come to a clean place the next morning. Stabroek market should really have a similar union of vendors to keep an eye on the place.

Mr.T posted:

The vendors have no choice. They made the mess and have to move so that it can be rectified. They lucky they don't get fined for that mess they made. I know for a fact that the city market in Paramaribo, Suriname has to be cleaned and hosed down every evening after closing. They even got their own union to make sure the mess is cleared up every day so that market visitors come to a clean place the next morning. Stabroek market should really have a similar union of vendors to keep an eye on the place.

And wouldn't that have been better for the gov;t to do, rather than sending people to start sticking up people, because this livelihood has been blocked.

Now if the gov;t did this, and the vendors didn't cooperate, then the gov't would have had to forcibly remove them.

The PPP in its 23 years did not learn from de Klerk who implemented successful strategies to control the Blacks in South Africa. 

Yes, thanks for drawing parallels between the apartheid regime and the PPP.

Look up the meaning of "Did not" DUNCE!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thank you Nehru for stating the obvious to our resident Indian hater.   For a person with no means of employment and much spare time on one's hands, you would imagine one would take time to read properly.  Thank Obama for liberal section 8 benefits to allow the downtrodden among us to live a comfortable life in a subsidized apartment while supporting  a dictatorship back in Guyana, 

Thank you Nehru for stating the obvious to our resident Indian hater.  

Druggie the operative word is your claim that De Klerk implemented successful strategies to control blacks.  Now how can policies which exclude and oppress be successful.

What is in your head, and that of the PPP, is that blacks are a savage group who need to be dominated and controlled.

So it is perfectly natural that among the options that the PPP could have considered was what you considered to be the successful strategies of apartheid.

Now you could have cited a more democratic society, where there is less of a sense of marginalization and exclusion than what was felt under the PPP.  But you didnt.