Originally Posted by Bibi Haniffa:

Who remembers when children had to miss classes and stand in the hot sun with flags in their hands to wave to Burnham as he passes by in his Rolls Royce?  Look at this.  I wonder if the Face on the Exercise Book is coming back too.

12141039_185084998492748_8133166774324405041_o[1]

Did the students  show respect to dignitaries, when they visited your school ?

You might not know, if you are still in dunsee. What a friggin warped sense of purpose.     

How else do you propose a president for a country show himself in public, without photographs, to indicate  what he is doing ? 

Then like a typical Guyanese you might complain that Granger don't  seem to be doing anything.

Where were you when the same was done with Jagdeo, sucking duck egg ? 

Last edited by Tola

Who remembers when children had to miss classes and stand in the hot sun with flags in their hands to wave to Burnham as he passes by in his Rolls Royce?  Look at this.  I wonder if the Face on the Exercise Book is coming back too.12141039_185084998492748_8133166774324405041_o[1]

Inaccurate information. Burnham never owned a Rolls Royce. He drove in a Daimler that was owned by the state. That Daimler was passed on to Desmond Hoyte who surrendered it to the PPP government in 1992.

Who remembers when children had to miss classes and stand in the hot sun with flags in their hands to wave to Burnham as he passes by in his Rolls Royce?  Look at this.  I wonder if the Face on the Exercise Book is coming back too.

well, u seem to remember . . . exactly how old are u klown?

Well thank you sir.  I will place it on a special place on my awards shelf.  And by the way, you do know that PPP women are decent and courageous people!!!  Right?

Up to March 28, 2009, most of them were decent and courageous. I suppose most of them remained decent and courageous and wonderful after Janet Jagan died.

well, u seem to remember . . . exactly how old are u klown?

Vague recollection!!

not feeling so clever no more, eh 'Bibi'?

uh huh

Who remembers when children had to miss classes and stand in the hot sun with flags in their hands to wave to Burnham as he passes by in his Rolls Royce?  Look at this.  I wonder if the Face on the Exercise Book is coming back too.12141039_185084998492748_8133166774324405041_o[1]

Inaccurate information. Burnham never owned a Rolls Royce. He drove in a Daimler that was owned by the state. That Daimler was passed on to Desmond Hoyte who surrendered it to the PPP government in 1992.

I saw a car used by Burnham, in the Museum. Would this be the same one?

Why don't you carry you cunny, eh Alexei Rumtar?  Your sile is not a smile anymore.

What else is new !! PPP still doin dem same shit on GNI.

Its hard to break old habits.

I saw a car used by Burnham, in the Museum. Would this be the same one?

No. The one in the museum was an Austin Princess, the one Burnham used from 1965 until the Daimler arrived.

Originally Posted by alena06:

PNC lives on..Darn we will see Mass Games back soon!!

Heheheh! You gonna get a chance to do yuh fine wine. LOL!

Re: EXERCISE BOOKS

When I attended primary school my exercise books' covers had a picture of Queen Elizabeth II. There were two kinds: a cheap one with newsprint pages for 10 cents and one with smooth white pages for 12 cents. At Central High School my exercise books were custom-made, carrying the CHS logo and motto. 12 cents each in 1962-1964. Some other high schools in Georgetown had their own exercise books too.

The exercise books with Burnham's photo were distributed to students free of cost, I was told. Maybe, someone can support or dispute this.

Re: EXERCISE BOOKS

When I attended primary school my exercise books' covers had a picture of Queen Elizabeth II. There were two kinds: a cheap one with newsprint pages for 10 cents and one with smooth white pages for 12 cents. At Central High School my exercise books were custom-made, carrying the CHS logo and motto. 12 cents each in 1962-1964. Some other high schools in Georgetown had their own exercise books too.

The exercise books with Burnham's photo were distributed to students free of cost, I was told. Maybe, someone can support or dispute this.

In the 80s when I visited a teacher friend at Belvedere school, he gave me a couple copies of Burnham exercise books, that are somewhere in my collection. 

The one posted here has ' For Free Distribution' and I do know they were distributed freely by the Belvedere head teacher.

Later  Burnham exercise books had ' Not to be Sold'.

In the 2000s++ when  we worked with school drop-out, other exercise books were still available for free distribution.

But we saw many with the 'Not for Sale' indication erased and the books were sold at the Rose Hall and Port Mourant markets, including Canadian backpacks, we gave schools for free distribution to needy students.

If parents had an issue with the head teacher around 2005+, their children might find it difficult getting free copies.