[The Good Life] Refreshing White Rum

Wine & Spirits - Tara De Lis

By Tara de Lis, Columnist, Source

In recent years, it seems like an extreme heat wave sneaks up on us in September. Sure, it’s hot off and on all summer long—we do live in a desert—but we’re talking record-breaking temperatures. For a little liquid refreshment, the ultimate secret weapon is white—also known as—clear or silver, rum.

Whether you’re planning a big backyard Labor Day Weekend party or just want to have a couple close friends over for a simple get together, white rum is an excellent base for all sorts of crisp and delicious cocktails, such as Mojitos, Piña Coladas and rum punches. There’s something about a clear spirit that naturally evokes a daintiness that evades its darker cousins.

For many, the go-to white rum is still Bacardi, which had humble beginnings in Havana in the 1860s as a family business and has gone on to become a bestselling brand and household name throughout the world. But there are many others.

Caliche is a Puerto Rican rum named after a type of limestone that is indigenous to the area around the SerrallÉs Family Distillery. They’ve been producing the spirit for six generations. It’s fermented from molasses and distilled five times, with a distinct vanilla flavor profile.

Rhum J.M agricole blanc comes from Martinique and is 40 percent alcohol by volume. The taste is somewhat vegetal, as opposed to sugary, making it an ideal mixer for those who normally find rum too sweet.

El Dorado white rum is also 80 proof, and is a product of Demerara Distillers in Guyana—located in South America—directly east of Venezuela. It’s aged for three years in casks that once held bourbon and has a sweet, fruity taste.

Tara de Lis is a freelance writer based in Hollywood.

For one year now, I haven't had a sip of El Dorado or Jack Daniels.

I'm missing out, but I'll bite my lips and do without. My medication must not be messed with.

But I must affirm this: EL DORADO RUM HAS FEW EQUALS ON PLANET EARTH.

I'm missing out, but I'll bite my lips and do without. My medication must not be messed with.

nehru drink enough for everybody on this site the fool always drunk

i does play drunk till yuh go down iN the Basement THEN Walla BUTTA BING BUTTA BANG BANG BUTTA FOOKOO TIME!!!!