GDF ranks to undergo training in Brazil, China; $9 billion budget approved

August 25, 2015 6:55 am A+ / A-
[File Photo]

[www.inewsguyana.com] – The National Assembly last evening approved the budgetary allocations for the Guyana Defence Force that was set at $9.1 billion.

According to GINA, Minister of State, Joseph Harmon, having been asked to explain the $157 million allocated for training, indicated that the amount extends to training officers in Brazil and China. Further, training is still being conducted under the Trade Winds Programme.

Asked about $157 million proposed for buildings and whether this was for the construction of a floating base, the minister said, it was not. The allocation of $9.1 billion will see the following capital expenditure works being done; completion of Cadet Officers’ Dormitory at Base Camp Stephenson and the Engineers’ Office at Timehri; the construction of an ablution block at Tacama Training School and fence at Mabaruma; upgrading of facilities at Base Camp Stephenson and Ayanganna, and; electrical upgrades and perimeter lights at Base Camp Stephenson and Ayanganna.

$62 million will go for Marine Development of the GDF which includes the completion of the training school in Kingston, Georgetown. $154.4 million will be spent to procure vehicles, boats, motorcycles and All-Terrain Vehicles and $5 million for the rehabilitation of animal pens to aid the development of the Force’s Agriculture Corps.

Where is the money coming from if the PPP left the country bankrupt? Members of the PNC(GDF) will be on vacation. Payback for their support. They are going to be trained to be better crimminals.

Bhai, Guyana not just gone fuh channa but will be a pile of GARBAGE soon!!!!!!

Dat money should be spent to tackle Crime but instead it is used to create more Criminals!!!!!!!!!!!  THe PNC know exactly what they are doing BUT the TWO HOUSE SLAVE have no clue!!!!!!!

Bhai, Guyana not just gone fuh channa but will be a pile of GARBAGE soon!!!!!!

The government of Guyana has become a black hole.

Welcome back to the PNC days, the Indians that vote against PPP gon get what they want. I hope Naga and Runraj. Suffer for betraying the Indians, ,,,, the Indians should start doing poja that would cause they backside to punish M

One moment batty boy Nehru is complaining that the PNC has no clue how to defend the Indos against murders, rapes,and robberies. The next moment he complains about a junta when the government does take steps to address the crime problem. These PPP cartel milk drinkers must have caught BSE from the milk.

Originally Posted by Mr.T:

One moment batty boy Nehru is complaining that the PNC has no clue how to defend the Indos against murders, rapes,and robberies. The next moment he complains about a junta when the government does take steps to address the crime problem. These PPP cartel milk drinkers must have caught BSE from the milk.

The BIGGEST BATTY BOY that half of the British Parliament give KAAK calling me Batty Boy.  Laad Ah Mercy, since Elton John gave you the slip yuh angry like the BYTCH you ARE!!!!1 Hope you enjoy the rest of the Day.  

Originally Posted by ian:

Welcome back to the PNC days, the Indians that vote against PPP gon get what they want. I hope Naga and Runraj. Suffer for betraying the Indians, ,,,, the Indians should start doing poja that would cause they backside to punish M

Moses failed to deliver 11% Indian votes to the PNC. Is the rigging of the 2015 election get them there. As long as their families are safe and protected, the rest of the Indian can suffer.
Originally Posted by Mr.T:

The BIGGEST BATTY BOY that half of the British Parliament give KAAK calling me Batty Boy.  Laad Ah Mercy, since Elton John gave you the slip yuh angry like the BYTCH you ARE!!!!1 Hope you enjoy the rest of the Day.  

You are not addressing your hypocrisy. You wanted a better equipped police force that can deal with the crime wave introduced by the PPP, but now you wetting your pants from the idea that the PPP Phantom squad will be outgunned.

Dat money should be spent to tackle Crime but instead it is used to create more Criminals!!!!!!!!!!!  THe PNC know exactly what they are doing BUT the TWO HOUSE SLAVE have no clue!!!!!!!

You were ranting and raving about Granger not defending against the Venoes. How is he supposed to do that without an updated military. As for crime - if there are paramilitary forces at work to destabilize the government, then guess whose job it will be to root them out? And there is already another separate budget allotment for crime. Suh what yuh whining about again?