Why should the ministry be handling these kinds of matter and not a branch of the  justice or revenue department?

Businessman refused renewal of road licence for duty free vehicle

May 10, 2015 | By | Filed Under News 

… residential status under investigation
Businessman, Mandricar Persaud, 60, of Lot 12 Friendship, East Bank Demerara, is seeking the renewal of his road licence for a Cherokee Jeep which he imported some time in 2013 from Miami, Florida.

Mandricar Persaud and his Jeep Cherokee.

Persaud said that after he decided to remigrate to Guyana, he took advantage of his rights to import a vehicle, using the duty free concession as a remigrant. Hence, he imported the Jeep. He was instructed to report every six months to the Guyana Revenue Authority (GRA), which he claims to have done.

However, now that the road licence for the vehicle is near expiry, he went to GRA to have the licence renewed but he was informed that he would be unable to do so because his remigrant status is under investigation.
The man said that he was flabbergasted, since he has followed all the necessary procedures. He reported every six months and presented his passport as was instructed to do.
He admitted being frequently in and out of Guyana. He explained that it is difficult living here in Guyana, and because of the business he operates he has to be in and out to keep the business running.

Persaud imports used car parts to sell here in Guyana. He is peeved over the fact that he was told that after the expiration of his road service licence, which will expire May 19 he will no longer be able to operate the vehicle until the investigations have been completed.
He claimed to have also been told that his documents are no longer at GRA as they were handed over to Ministry of Foreign Affairs, where the investigation is being done.

Persaud said that when he went to the Ministry to make enquiries about the investigations, he was not directed to any specific department as he was told that the investigations are being done by Minister of Foreign Affairs, Carolyn Rodrigues-Birkett.

He has since opined that such information which was given by an official who described himself to be “Superintendent and not Supervisor” of the investigation, to be unrealistic as he doubt the Minister would deal with matters herself.

Persaud is adamant that such a setback is just a form of corruption which is prevalent in Guyana.

Why should the ministry be handling these kinds of matter and not a branch of the  justice or revenue department?

Businessman refused renewal of road licence for duty free vehicle

May 10, 2015 | By | Filed Under News 

… residential status under investigation
Businessman, Mandricar Persaud, 60, of Lot 12 Friendship, East Bank Demerara, is seeking the renewal of his road licence for a Cherokee Jeep which he imported some time in 2013 from Miami, Florida.

Mandricar Persaud and his Jeep Cherokee.....He reported every six months and presented his passport as was instructed to do.

He admitted being frequently in and out of Guyana. He explained that it is difficult living here in Guyana, and because of the business he operates he has to be in and out to keep the business running.

Persaud is adamant that such a setback is just a form of corruption which is prevalent in Guyana.

Maybe so, but what is the definition of "re-migrate".  I believe he has to be physically domiciled in Guyana over 6 months/year. He is caught with his pants down.

"Corruption", the catch-phrase.  Corruption, someone would have secretly approached him requesting payment to "fix" the problem.  He never claimed this.  He seems corrupt.

Just pass lots of money to the Ministry...that's how things get done in a corrupted Govt

If that was the case, the "Ministry" would not have done it so publicly and official in their approach.

Maybe so, but what is the definition of "re-migrate".  I believe he has to be physically domiciled in Guyana over 6 months/year. He is caught with his pants down.

The laws re domicile and residence needs clarification. Many people spend more time from their homes working than living at times because of job requirements.

If the opposition wins, I am going to set up shop in Guyana. I will be there often enough and so will take a vehicle. As luck would have it we do have an old Explorer, ready for the container. I think the vehicle has a blue book value of about 2500 so even at 100% tax it is not much. I am not going to ask for concessions except for equipment.

Most of the vehicles going in are not new and the government should lower the tax on new vehicles to about 33% to make sure high efficiency vehicles are going in.

Just pass lots of money to the Ministry...that's how things get done in a corrupted Govt

I understand the going price is U$1,000. If there are 1000 so-called remigrants, then do the math. Ever experience  déjà vu?

The laws re domicile and residence needs clarification. Many people spend more time from their homes working than living at times because of job requirements.

If the opposition wins, I am going to set up shop in Guyana. I will be there often enough and so will take a vehicle. As luck would have it we do have an old Explorer, ready for the container. I think the vehicle has a blue book value of about 2500 so even at 100% tax it is not much. I am not going to ask for concessions except for equipment.

Most of the vehicles going in are not new and the government should lower the tax on new vehicles to about 33% to make sure high efficiency vehicles are going in.

Most countries follow the OECD guidelines, usually physical domicile over six months/annual to be considered "resident".  Guyana is a signatory to the OECD guidelines.  This also impacts "foreign" asset holdings, Income and Tax status.  What would be interesting, does he file his US taxes as Resident or Non-Resident.  If he file NR in the US, maybe he can use it to try to buttress his position as a re-migrant to Guyana.

I understand the going price is U$1,000. If there are 1000 so-called remigrants, then do the math. Ever experience  déjà vu?

Two unknowns?

watch some piktcha and relax dat ting between yuh ears deh base..

It's the best you have pigmy brain?

look at your children and tell me who gat pigmy genes.  dumb *****.

You low-life piece of horse shyte, what does my kids have to do with you or anything.  Fight your battle with me, I am confronting you pigmy brain.  You coward, piece if sh1t, you cannot handle baseman so you attack my kids, you sh1t.

Yeah when you want to get into the mud you have to be able to take it you piece of filth.

Now you are all hurt like a wittle baby? yes? wittle baby Baseboard is all offended???? now go suck on a lollipop and soothe your bleeding heart........awwwwwwwww cute wittle daddie...

Yeah when you want to get into the mud you have to be able to take it you piece of filth.

Now you are all hurt like a wittle baby? yes? wittle baby Baseboard is all offended???? now go suck on a lollipop and soothe your bleeding heart........awwwwwwwww cute wittle daddie...

Leave the man's children alone, you wasted sperm!!!

Shelly gyal weh yuh been I aint see yuh for a while like you been crying lately?

I have been visiting your family while you were gone. Thanks for the hospitality.

Once again pigmy brain, where does my kids come into the picture, you piece of horse shit.  Take your sh1t ranting to me, leave my kids out, they have no place in the discussion.

But as usual, your low IQ is the brightest thing that shines for you. Piece of sh1t

Once again pigmy brain, where does my kids come into the picture, you piece of horse shit.  Take your sh1t ranting to me, leave my kids out, they have no place in the discussion.

But as usual, your low IQ is the brightest thing that shines for you. Piece of sh1t

The genes my friend the genes its flowing out of you. All that racist bile makes your brain not function properly anymore.

Now you positioning yourself this marnin as Grangers advisor hehehehheee

Tek a look all around you and you will understand better who got pigmy genes in dem.

Shelly gyal weh yuh been I aint see yuh for a while like you been crying lately?

I have been visiting your family while you were gone. Thanks for the hospitality.

yuh can't visit dem we dag ketcher in de neighborhood dem woulda ketch yuh very early before you hit the gates.

The genes my friend the genes its flowing out of you. All that racist bile makes your brain not function properly anymore.

Now you positioning yourself this marnin as Grangers advisor hehehehheee

Tek a look all around you and you will understand better who got pigmy genes in dem.

Now pigmy brain, I advise you read your medical records.  You are demonstrating strong signs of an under-developed [retarded] brain, and pity on you.  As I said, you cannot handle baseman so you attacking my kids.  As usual, you are a low-life piece of horse sh1t.  No wonder you had a big cuss-out with the AFC and were booted.  Now you hanging with Granger.

I hope Pigmies don't take offense, my reference was not to the Pigmy race, who have a fully functioning brain, but actually to your condition.  It seems your brain is just way to small for your body mass.

Most countries follow the OECD guidelines, usually physical domicile over six months/annual to be considered "resident".  Guyana is a signatory to the OECD guidelines.  This also impacts "foreign" asset holdings, Income and Tax status.  What would be interesting, does he file his US taxes as Resident or Non-Resident.  If he file NR in the US, maybe he can use it to try to buttress his position as a re-migrant to Guyana.

I do not like the fact they have an on going investigation and are inconveniencing this fellow. They need to tell him of the investigation, allow him to register and pending the outcome he will have to pay the requisite taxes and fines if found at fault. Simply prohibiting him from driving is terrible.

It's not the worse can happen to people.  They did not prohibit him from driving, just driving that vehicle.  I'm sure as a businessman, he has other vehicles at his disposal.

PAGING BASEMAN & SKELDON_MAN

* Why are smart and intelligent guys like the 2 of you wasting time arguing with an ignoramus and dimwit like HM_redux ? Put that imbecile on complete ignore.

PAGING BASEMAN & SKELDON_MAN

* Why are smart and intelligent guys like the 2 of you wasting time arguing with an ignoramus and dimwit like HM_redux ? Put that imbecile on complete ignore.

You mean pigmy brain horse counce?  True bai!

If that was the case, the "Ministry" would not have done it so publicly and official in their approach.

BaseBoard, why di you not heed the call of OH Nandolalala Baba, you Uncle, to go back to Guyana and help him campaign?

You got good sense.

You know buse tail when you see one.

You stay back in New Jersey.