Anan posted:

Gilly/ksaz, whats your take on this?

From a socialist perspective I have no difficulty agreeing with this guy Anand. And I suppose Bernie Sanders would like him too. But what he is saying has been said before, regarding the much publicized philanthropy of the robber barons of a century ago.

Although philanthropy doesn't bring about structural change in society I don't think the poor should reject the "gifts" of the rich. Cheese is free only on a rat trap. The poor have already paid for the gifts of the philanthropists.

Anan posted:

Gilly/ksaz, whats your take on this?

From a socialist perspective I have no difficulty agreeing with this guy Anand. And I suppose Bernie Sanders would like him too. But what he is saying has been said before, regarding the much publicized philanthropy of the robber barons of a century ago.

Although philanthropy doesn't bring about structural change in society I don't think the poor should reject the "gifts" of the rich. Cheese is free only on a rat trap. The poor have already paid for the gifts of the philanthropists.

How about you start with telling Amral that you changed your mind and not to delete your membership after you whined and complained about a picture that he posted ! Ha Ha !

Anyway, all you carry on with all you leftist socialist orgy.

still waiting for him to delete my membaship 

BTW...yuh ah waan delusional, bakwards, egotistical racist hypocrite 

yuh ah waan embarassment to guyana an the teachings of krsna

We live in a time of unprecedented wealth generation. We are also living in a time of enormous human population. And we are also living in a time of advanced technologies. These three conditions have basically slaughtered the middle class which has traditionally been the backbone of our economies. We can't do anything about the population and we wouldn't do without our advanced technologies because they make so much possible for us. We are therefore condemned to the few really wealthy people, a few getting by and a whole lot struggling. That is the sad reality that the world finds itself. I believe there is a line in the movie, Roti, Kapada Aur Makaan that "behind every great wealth, there is a crime". While maybe simplistic, there may be some truth to it. Personally, I don't think anyone should count on help from anyone so everyone should take every opportunity to create a path which promises to advance their livelihood even though there are no guarantees there too. While the Zuckerbergs, Bloombergs, Buffets or Gates are not without some blame, they should still be appreciated because they could have chosen to just pack their bags of money in a safe. Then you have so much money being given away in charity and yet those who receive it remain in the same sad place. That is because of the old saying, "Give a man a fish, and you feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish, and you feed him for a lifetime". In a nutshell, the world is fked up right now. I would always advise people to operate as if there no handouts. It sometimes breeds laziness and lack of ambition.