Minister Nandlall explained that many persons to whom he spoke privately at the meeting “were aghast and absolutely shocked that the opposition is taking the position that they are taking in Guyana. No one can really fathom how such an important issue can be made to be a political issue when it is the national interest that is involved; there are many other issues which you can play politics with. The meeting itself was quite surprised that the Opposition in the Guyanese Parliament is taking the position which it has taken.

I have a strange feeling this is simply a lie.

What's with this ? What meeting was surprised?

It's all drivel

" The meeting itself was quite surprised that the Opposition in the Guyanese Parliament is taking the position which it has taken."

the ppp full of bullshit the AFC have they # i hope the APNU donot sell out guyana    have to demand change

Change comes at the ballot box and that was done in 1992.  Guyana is seeing continued progress under the current GoG, no need to revert to the old order.

the ppp full of bullshit the AFC have they # i hope the APNU donot sell out guyana    have to demand change

Change comes at the ballot box and that was done in 1992.  Guyana is seeing continued progress under the current GoG, no need to revert to the old order.

No need for "old order" with the KEY comes change. Well dats what they tell we nuh.

Its clear to see,the joint opposition is hell bent on derailing the progress of Guyana, their sinister motives are quite evident,they would have rejoiced if Guyana was blacklisted, good sense prevailed at the international forum, and the deadline was extended, the Guyanese populace are watching the every step of the joint opposition, the people should not be kept hostage by the joint opposition, to score cheap political points.

GUYANA was examined at the Caribbean Financial Action Task Force (CFATF) meeting on May 27 in Nicaragua, as was expected,and according to Attorney General
and Minister of Legal Affairs Anil Nandlall, who led Guyana’s delegation with the mandate to seek an extension to the deadline for meeting the Taskforce’s recommendations in implementing the anti-money laundering legislation, the local delegation reported the country’s position and what has to be done to effect the recommendations which have been made.

In reporting to the media yesterday on Guyana’s mission, he said, “the people who are doing this assessment…they have very little time for the little political games we are playing here. They have a very strict regime that they use, you either meet the deadline or you don’t meet the deadline. If you have not met the deadline, why haven’t you met the deadline? If they believe that you have demonstrated bona fides and commitment, they give you a second chance. If you don’t meet the deadline on the second occasion, that’s it! They are absolutely unconcerned about what is going on in Guyana’s Parliament and who believes there is a constitutional crisis and who wants a procurement commission…they couldn’t  care less about these things…they have a task to perform, they have certain criteria that have to be met and if you don’t meet them, then you face the consequences. They are very unattached to the political ramifications and nuances which are taking place in Guyana. ”
The team outlined progress made outside of the legislative changes, the minister reported. “This included the hiring of additional staff; the establishment of supervisory authorities, to supervise and monitor the activities of all money transfer agencies, financial institutions, credit unions, and all the other agencies which they had recommended.”
In addition, the CFATF, in their own report, said that 90% or more of the recommendations which they have made are of a legislative nature. Guyana in turn submitted to the Taskforce that the Anti-Money Laundering and Countering the Financing of Terrorism (AMLCFT) Bill captures these.
CFATF agreed that the bill does capture the recommendations, about 90% of them Minister Nandlall said, and added that the CFATF was also told that the bill has been laid in the National Assembly.
“We explained of course the configuration of the National Assembly and that the government does not enjoy the majority…that a motion was moved from the floor by the Opposition that the matter be sent to select committee. We explained of course that the government objected to it, explaining the exigencies of the time constraints that we are under in relation to this matter. Notwithstanding our best pleas, a vote was taken from the floor and the matter was referred to select committee. At the select committee, of course, we outlined the government’s every effort in the committee to expedite the hearing and we explained why the hearings of the select committee were not concluded before the deadline date.”
The minister said that the Guyana team also outlined the Opposition’s several requests, which were conceded to, because they involved provision of documents etc., but they wanted public hearings and they wanted submissions to come from members of the public and interested stakeholders.
“We renewed and restated the government’s absolute commitment to ensure that this legislation is passed in keeping with the recommendations, but that we are however, basically at the mercy of the Opposition because they control the National Assembly. As a result, they appreciated government’s effort thus far, and the progress made, and they said that they are giving us until the November meeting to get that done,” Minister Nandlall stated.
He emphasized, however, that in this regard, “it doesn’t mean that we have to wait until November. We have to get this thing completed for the November meeting, and a period of time has to be given for them to examine the legislation to see that it conforms to the recommendations. Of course, I am aware of an impending Parliamentary recess which is to take place in mid-August for nearly a month that will take us way into September. I hope we can complete the consideration of this Bill and have it passed by the National Assembly before Parliament goes into recess so that we have sufficient time to send it to them so that it can be assessed,” he said.
He explained that Dominica and Belize were both granted extensions until the June meeting; Dominica, because their legislation was passed late, and Belize because that country had just had national elections.
Dominica, the AG said, was not removed from consideration, because the CAFTF said very clearly that they needed time to assess the BILL to see that Dominica has conformed.
“This point demonstrates that we have to do it within sufficient time, that we don’t lay back and wait until November, that we begin to work as early as possible and have it concluded before Parliament goes into recess,” Minister Nandlall said.
Aghast
Regarding the Alliance for Change’s (AFC’s) call for a report on the Nicaragua meeting, the AG said, “I am reporting here, if the AFC wants more information, I guess they would write and ask. I don’t know what more information they would want,” the minister stated.
He added, “The Leader of the Opposition wrote to the Managua meeting, and I observed that he didn’t give a commitment. Though he says that the Opposition appreciates the importance of effecting the amendments, he didn’t say that the Opposition is committed to have it passed within the time frame. He went on to deal with a host of other issues, most of which are irrelevant to the passage of the legislation. He speaks of compromises and other areas which are wholly unconnected with it.”
Minister Nandlall explained that many persons to whom he spoke privately at the meeting “were aghast and absolutely shocked that the opposition is taking the position that they are taking in Guyana. No one can really fathom how such an important issue can be made to be a political issue when it is the national interest that is involved; there are many other issues which you can play politics with. The meeting itself was quite surprised that the Opposition in the Guyanese Parliament is taking the position which it has taken.” (GINA)

Originally Posted by Conscience:

The present administration is fully commented towards transparency, and will also endorse the anti-money laundering law

tell that to your children not to the 51% of guyanese

Deliberate sloth by Opposition on Anti Money Laundering Bill

Head of the Presidential Secretariat, Dr. Roger Luncheon.

Head of the Presidential Secretariat and Cabinet Secretary, Dr. Roger Luncheon has noted that the combined political opposition is being deliberately slothful in their approach to meeting the new deadline of the Anti Money Laundering and Countering the Financing of Terrorism Amendment Bill.

At his weekly post cabinet press briefing today, June 19, Dr. Luncheon noted that “Our avoidance of a near calamity in Nicaragua recently seemingly has wetted their appetite for the real thing.”

According to Dr. Luncheon, the Caribbean Financial Action Task Force [CFATF] needs the amended legislation to be in place by August 26 so that it can be reviewed between September and November.

Guyana missed the initial deadline for the enactment of the legislation on May 26 as a result of the lack of participation on the part of the combined opposition who are sitting on the special select committee for the Amendment Bill.

Dr. Luncheon noted that the next committee meeting is set for July 3 and according to him, this is behavior by the Opposition can be characterized and “deliberate sloth.”

According to Dr. Luncheon, the Caribbean Financial Action Task Force [CFATF] needs the amended legislation to be in place by August 26 so that it can be reviewed between September and November.

Guyana missed the initial deadline for the enactment of the legislation on May 26 as a result of the lack of participation on the part of the combined opposition who are sitting on the special select committee for the Amendment Bill.

The joint opposition should stop playing partisan politics and work with the govt in their efforts to place Guyana first

Do you have cheat sheets with various statements to use depending on the situation? I think you may have used dat one nuff nuff times by now.

The combined political opposition is being deliberately slothful in their approach to meeting the new deadline of the Anti Money Laundering and Countering the Financing of Terrorism Amendment Bill.

At his weekly post cabinet press briefing today, June 19, Dr. Luncheon noted that “Our avoidance of a near calamity in Nicaragua recently seemingly has wetted their appetite for the real thing.”

The combined political opposition is being deliberately slothful in their approach to meeting the new deadline of the Anti Money Laundering and Countering the Financing of Terrorism Amendment Bill.

Is it slothful or purposeful to remind the PPP that they are not owners of our country and things cannot occur on their say so alone.

But wait a minute? was it not you that was yammering about the PPP's independence and autonomy and they do not bend to alien directives? Is that not the reason you excused your negligence to comply with the requirements of the British in establishing the forensic lab? Is that not why Guyana refused the DOD permission to pursue criminals that Guyana cannot or was unable to reach in the country?

These requirements to comply with international money laundering provisions are one of many things the PPP need to concern itself with if it is ready to comply with its fiduciary responsibility. We still need to know who and what and where and why the Marriott is being designed as a give away to PPP cronies. We still want to know why the lottery fund is a slush fund and then there are the mining fees etc. Were not the Amerind to get their share? How is that appropriated...by the PPP alone? Get real. You cannot hide and pass the blame anymore. It is our country too.

In a worse case scenario, if the anti-money laundering bill doesn't pass, and Guyana is blacklisted, the blame will be place solely on the steps of the opposition.

OHHH PLEASEEE stop the bullshit. The ones to blame would be the PPP Govt they are the ones who got us into the mess with their corrupt practices, so stop your blasted lying.

Dr. Luncheon noted that the next committee meeting is set for July 3 and according to him, this is behavior by the Opposition can be characterized and “deliberate sloth.”

Money Laundering… Financial Intelligence Unit not enough, investigative arm required-US Ambassador

June 23, 2013 | By | Filed Under News 

Having legislation in place is the first step, but the investigative capacity is even more critical in building cases and prosecuting persons in relation to money laundering. This is according to the US Ambassador to Guyana, Brent Hardt, who in a recent interview, said that the political opposition in Guyana has raised a good point in that while there is a structure in place, there needs to be adequate investigation. According to Ambassador Hardt, the Financial Intelligence Unit of the Ministry of Finance alone would not solve the problem of money laundering in Guyana, given that all it is required to do is receive information.

US Ambassador to Guyana Brent Hardt

He said that the Financial Intelligence Unit receives the information and as such knows what is happening in Guyana, but what is required is a “strong investigative arm.” Ambassador Hardt suggests that this investigative arm to deal with money laundering would need specialized training and would have to draw on personnel from the Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP), the Guyana Police Force and the Customs Anti Narcotics Unit (CANU) among others. The Ambassador said that Guyana does have some serious challenges in relation to money laundering but having the legislative framework in place is not enough. He said that with an investigative arm in place they will be able to take the information being garnered by the Intelligence Unit, put it together and build cases. Hardt said that the US Treasury Department has been working with the Ministry of Finance to build capacity. The Financial Intelligence Unit (FIU) of Guyana is an autonomous body responsible for requesting, receiving, analyzing and disseminating of suspicious transaction reports and other information relating to money laundering, terrorist financing or the proceeds of crime. It was established and operates within the ambit of the Anti Money Laundering and Countering the Financing of Terrorism Act 2009 and its Regulations. Its mandate is to facilitate the detection, prevention and deterrence of money laundering and financing of terrorist activity in Guyana. Guyana is currently moving to amend its Anti Money Laundering and Countering the Financing of Terrorism Laws as a result of urgings by the Caribbean Financial Action Taskforce (CFATF). According to Roger Hernandez, Financial Advisor of CFATF, during a telephone interview with this publication, amendments to the legislation have to be passed in the National Assembly and enacted before August 26, so that it could be submitted and analyzed. He said that Guyana has to comply with the CFATF requirements by November 2013 – the date assigned this year for follow-up. However, the Act and other documentation must be submitted prior to November. Hernandez said that this was highlighted in a letter dated June 13, 2013, that was sent to Paul Geer, Director of the Financial Intelligence Unit of Guyana’s Ministry of Finance. According to the letter, Guyana has to submit along with a matrix outlining what the country has done since the last Plenary meeting in May 2013, copies of any legislation, regulations, or guidance notes that may have been enacted as part of action undertaken to comply with the Mutual Evaluation Report’s recommendations. The letter also requests information on the size of the financial sector as at end of June 2013 or the date nearest and any technical assistance received, requested or obtained during the first half of 2013.

All this while the PNC/AFC cut funding and refuse to vote on money laundering legislation.  Maybe these folks in the AFC/PNC are so tightly involved with criminal activities that they are afraid that to create a trap for themselves if they vote for the money laundering bill. 

i see de lice biting and de bigseed itching something fierce . . . sumbady light a feather suh we can "bully" dis bai lil mo please

drugabeer